Mango Languages from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.
This video tutorial will demonstrate how to learn foreign languages, including English as a second language, through the library database Mango Languages.
To access library databases and read articles, click the gray Databases button on the library website.
Mango Languages is listed on the Library's Recommended Databases. This database offers structured foreign language learning, with more than 70 available languages, including English as a second language. To access this database, click its title.
To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.
It is highly recommended that you create a Mango account in order to track your progress and make it easier to continue lessons. You may Use Mango As a Guest if you would just like to explore.
Mango offers more than 70 languages to learn. The front screen will list the top 6 languages, but you may click See All for the full list of languages or search for a language.
All languages will offer a number of main units, which are the main lessons for the language. Some languages will offer specialty units, which are shorter units that cover specific topics.
Lessons cover a variety of topics, and each includes interactive conversations, sample sentences, and audio, so speakers are recommended. You may also use a microphone to practice words and compare your accent.
Click Tools at the top of the screen to use Mango's translation tool.
Some languages will also include an Explore option with more features.
Mango Premiere, found under Explore, includes full-length feature films, which will display concurrent subtitles in English and the original language.
Mango Languages also has a mobile app for Android and iOS to allow you to take your language learning anywhere, as well as download lessons offline. Log in or create a Mango account.
To connect your Mango app to Santa Fe College, click the Get button, and then search for and select Santa Fe College.
If you are on-campus and using Santa Fe College’s wifi, you only need to link your profile. Otherwise, you will need to authenticate by using your Office 365 account. After linking your profile, you will have full access to the app.
Once you have selected a language to learn within the app, you will be able to download lessons for offline use by clicking the download icon or choosing Download All. The gear icon will provide settings options. The play icon provides settings for Auto Play.
This concludes the video tutorial on using Mango Languages. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:
352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library
Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity
Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.
SACSCOC Accreditation Statement
Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.