Skip to main content

Tutorials

Video tutorials for library research strategies and resources.

A to Z the World Video Tutorial

A to Z the World from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find and access country information through the library database A to Z the World.

To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

A to Z the World is the first database listed in the Library's Recommended Databases. This database provides useful information on the world's nations. To access this database, click its title.

To log in, your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number without the hyphen. Your PIN is the last 4 digits of your 8-digit SF ID number.

A to Z the World includes many topics and information about countries. This database creates its own information; it does not bring in articles from outside journals or magazines. The front page allows you to select a country from the Country Guides or by using the world map.

Once you choose a country, the default page is the country snapshot, which is an overview of the nation.

Under the country's name are specific topics that you can click to learn more. Many topics include subtopics. In this example, I clicked the Business topic and chose the subtopic The Business Experience.

Below the list of topics is the option to Cite this Document. Clicking this button will open a new window with generated citations in Chicago, MLA, and APA formats. Please note that all generated database citations should be carefully reviewed for accuracy. The generated APA citations in particular require editing.

This concludes the video tutorial on using A to Z the World. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library