Tutorials

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find and access business sources using the Business Searching Interface for Business Source Complete through EBSCO.

Library databases are subscription services that provide access to articles, eBooks, and multimedia. To access library databases, click the Databases button on the library website.

The A-Z Databases list includes links to all databases that the Tyree Library subscribes to. Business Searching Interface is a new way to browse and search for featured content in Business Source Complete and is listed alphabetically or under the Business subject category. This database contains more than a thousand business and financial journals, case studies, company profiles, market reports, SWOT analyses, and more. To access this database, click its title.

If prompted to log in, type your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password. You might not see this screen if you are logged into Office 365 elsewhere.

This is the initial search screen for the Business Searching Interface of Business Source Complete. This database provides access to many different types of sources to browse, plus the ability to search for resources on a topic. First, we will explore the browsable and featured content, and then we will look at how to search for information.

The first area to browse is the Leading Publications area, which provides magazines or journals in several subject areas. In this example, we will explore the Business magazines.

Once an area is chosen, the selected titles appear. Click a title to browse the contents.

These are the results for Bloomberg Businessweek. The author and date of the article appear after the title. If an abstract or summary is available, the first few words of that appear next. Click Show more to expand the full abstract. Below the abstract is a list of Subjects that describe the main concepts of the article. These are official terms used by the database and can be used to find more articles about the same topic.

The last option is a button with links to the full text of the article. Articles are usually available in PDF or online full text. If the button is labeled Access options, then both formats are available. You can also click the title of the article for more information.

This is the PDF full text of the article. You can scroll and read it immediately. In the upper right, a series of icons provide options to share and interact with the article.

Both the bookmark and folder option for saving an article require a MyEBSCO account. If you do not have an account or are not signed in, these items will only be saved until you leave the database.

Click the MyEBSCO link in the upper right of most screens to create and sign into your MyEBSCO account.

Once you have signed into your MyEBSCO account, articles you save are available under My dashboard, in the Saved and Projects areas.

Returning to the full text of the article, click the second icon, which looks like a quotation mark, for help with citations. This tool provides generated citations in a variety of citation styles. Change the drop-down box to choose your citation style, which includes APA, MLA, and Chicago. You should double-check all citations, as there may be errors with capitalization or punctuation. You also need to remember to format your citation with a hanging indent and double spacing when you add it to your paper.

The fourth icon, which looks like an arrow swooping up and right, provides options to Share the article. Options include saving directly to Google Drive or OneDrive, copying a link to the article, or emailing the article.

The other common option to read articles is online full text. This is presented as one continuous page and may omit photographs. The same options to share and save the article are available.

Back on the main screen, the Explore featured content section provides many non-article sources to assist you in your research.

You can learn about companies by country or by industry. Company profiles include basic information, financials, SWOT analyses, and more.

Once you have chosen a company, basic information appears. The Read more link takes you to the full company profile.

The company profile includes an overview, history, a timeline of events related to the company, and additional information.

Scroll down on the company page to see other related resources, including industry reports and SWOT analyses, which are evaluations of companies' strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats.

Country Reports analyze countries on the political, economic, social, technological, legal, and environmental structures.

Industry Reports are included for country, provider, sector, and regionally from a variety of sources, and can help with market value, market segmentation, and business forecasting.

Other useful shortcuts in the featured content area include SWOT Analyses, as previously discussed, and Case Studies. A case study discusses a problem and solution in an actual business.

If you would prefer to search for a topic, use the search box. You can search for a business concept, a company, or an industry. If you would like to include two or more concepts, type the word AND between them. For example, if you are searching for information about the use of artificial intelligence in hiring, you can type artificial intelligence AND hiring in the search box. For more search options, you can use the Advanced search.

On the search results screen, the first line below the search box allows you to quickly apply common filters like Peer Reviewed, the publication date (under All time), and Source type. You can also click All filters to see more options to limit your search, such as by language. Peer reviewed means that the article has undergone a review process by other experts in a field before being published. The Full Text option should already be selected and should stay selected for most searches.

Below the filters is a way to limit your results by articles, news, reports, or video. By default, you will see all results.

By default, search results are sorted by Relevance, which means the database decides which articles match your search best. You can change this to Date newest, with the newest articles first, or Date oldest.

Peer reviewed articles have a gold check icon in the line above the article title. A text header also indicates the type of article it is. Common source types are Academic Journal, Magazines, Trade Publications, and Newspapers.

This concludes the video tutorial on using the Business Searching Interface for Business Source Complete. If you'd like to learn more or need assistance, a librarian would be happy to help.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library