Tutorials

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find and read articles through the library database Healthcare Administration Database.

To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

The A-Z Databases page lists all subscribed databases alphabetically. Scroll to the H section to find Healthcare Administration Database. This database contains full-text articles to support research in the business side of healthcare. To access this database, click its title.

To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password. You may not see this screen if you are already logged in to Office 365 elsewhere.

This is the main search screen for Healthcare Administration Database. Use the search boxes at the top of the screen to look for articles about your topic. When searching in a database, use as few words as possible, and put different concepts in different boxes. For example, if you were researching cybersecurity concerns in electronic health records, you would put cybersecurity in the first search box and electronic health records in the second search box.

The main search screen also provides a few ways to limit your search. The default is to limit your search to only full text. This means limiting only to articles that can be read immediately. The Full text box should already be checked and should stay checked for most searches. To limit your search to peer-reviewed articles, check the Peer reviewed box.

If you need to limit your results to more recent articles, you can use the Publication date limit on the search page. For instance, you may need to limit to articles that were published within the last five years. Once you have set up your search, click the Search button.

The number of search results is listed below the search box. The results list contains basic information about each article. The title of the article is in blue.

Icons next to each result indicate the type of source it is from. Scholarly Journal, Trade Journal, and Magazine are usually the most common source types. Scholarly journal means that the article is from a scholarly journal. Magazine indicates that the article is from a more popular publication. A trade journal is a publication intended for those working in a field or industry.

To quickly see a summary of the article, click the Show Abstract link.

An abstract can help you determine if the article is relevant to your research before viewing the full text. You may also wish to review the listed Subjects, which can provide a more targeted way to search for your topic.

Click the title to see the full text of the article. This may be an embedded PDF or a typed-out version.

Above the article are a variety of icons. You can print, email, cite, or download the article using these icons.

For help citing the article, click the Cite icon. This provides generated citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, and other citation styles. You will need to double-check all citations, as there are frequently errors with capitalization and punctuation.

You will usually find better search results by using the subjects you find in the database. If you need help finding subjects, click the Look up Subject headings (all) link on the main search screen.

Enter a search term and click Find.

Find the best match and check the box. You can directly add this term to your search with the Add to search box.

The database will automatically populate the Subject heading (all) field with the subject heading or headings that you chose.

Subject heading searches are more precise, as they limit results to articles that specifically focus on those concepts. You will typically find more relevant results when you use subject headings.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Healthcare Administration Database. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library