CQ Researcher from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.
Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access reports on current issues from the library database CQ Researcher.
Library databases are collections of subscription content, available for you to use for free while you are at Santa Fe College. To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.
CQ Researcher is listed alphabetically. CQ Researcher contains weekly reports on hot topics and controversial issues in the news. To access this database, click its title.
If prompted to log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password. You may not see this screen if you are already logged in to Office 365 elsewhere.
CQ Researcher publishes one report weekly. This database contains an archive of reports back to 1923.
Recent reports are listed in the Featured Reports area.
If you do not yet have a topic, you may use the Topics tab to browse topics within a particular area, such as Education or Social Movements.
Click the Hot Topics tab to see popular and timely issues.
Click the Upcoming tab to see reports that will be published in the next few weeks.
You may also use the search box to look for a specific topic.
There are several types of results. Reports are more in-depth but are published less frequently, with one report published weekly. Hot Topic results are shorter but written more frequently.
You should pay close attention to the dates. Since this database contains archival reports, you want to be sure you use the most recent information available. Keep in mind, however, that historical reports may provide useful information about the evolution of a topic. You can also use the Publication Date filter on the left to limit to more recent reports. To access a result, click its title.
The full text is available on this page. You may read it immediately or navigate to different areas using the On this page links.
In addition to the On this page links, there are tabs in Reports to quickly jump to the Current Situation, Pro/Con, and Outlook.
There is a toolbar that provides you with options to Cite, Share, and Download PDF, among other options.
The Cite option provides generated citations in APA, Chicago, and MLA formats. Always review citations carefully as they may not be 100% correct.
CQ Researcher reports typically contain charts, graphs, and images that can be used to supplement a paper or presentation.
Text also contains linked footnotes so that you can locate the original sources. Please ask a librarian if you need assistance locating sources.
At the bottom of the report, you will find other suggested reports, which may be related to the current topic. Some reports may be older, which could provide a look at how the topic has changed over time.
This concludes the video tutorial on CQ Researcher. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.
352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library
Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity
Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.
SACSCOC Accreditation Statement
Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.