Tutorials

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find career information and prepare for standardized tests through the library database Peterson’s Test & Career Prep.

To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

Peterson's Test & Career Prep is listed in the Library's Recommended Databases. This database provides preparation and practice tests for many common standardized tests as well as information for preparing for a career. To access the database, click its title.

If prompted to log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password. You may not see this screen if you are already logged in to Office 365 elsewhere.

Peterson's Test & Career Prep contains information about discovering careers, preparing for employment, and preparing for standardized tests. To interact with content and keep track of your progress, you will need to create an account. Click the Log In / Sign Up link to create your account or log in if you already have an account.

When creating your account, you may use any email address and password. This account information is stored by the database and cannot be retrieved by library staff.

Once you are logged in, you can explore the database content. There are two places to prepare for tests. Prep for an Exam is for exams related to high school, college, grad school, and international equivalencies. Prep for Vocational Tests is for tests required for license certifications and other vocational entry requirements, such as the ASVAB, NCLEX, and teaching exams.

Choose the category of test that best matches your needs and then choose the specific test you are preparing for.

Most exams include a prep course with videos and practice tests. Click the Add to My Resources button if you would like to track your progress or click the course title to begin.

Courses have many areas for you to explore, including instructional videos and practice tests. You can keep track of your course progress and scores using the Content and Quizzes option.

The next option in this database is to Find a School or a Scholarship.

This area provides three options: a school search tool, which helps you locate schools that offer specific programs of study, a scholarship search tool, and a financial aid quiz.

The Brush up on Foundational Skills section helps you practice skills in math and science, reading and writing, and computers.

Each option provides a variety of courses and videos with tutorials and practice tests.

The Explore Career Options area includes sections for career advice, finding a career, an online resume builder, and a job search engine.

The career advice course provides guidance on job searching, cover letters, resumes, interviewing, networking, salary negotiations, transitioning from the military, and working for the government or overseas.

The Find a Career option connects you to Pathway U. This area includes a career assessment to help discover how your interests align with a potential career path.

After completing at least one assessment, you can Explore Career Matches.

These career matches are separated by subject and provide a visual display as to how strong a match they are, based on your assessment results.

If you don't want to be limited by your assessment results, click View All Careers.

Each career contains general information, an average salary, job outlook, programs of studies, knowledge, skills, and abilities.

The Tools section provides guidance for writing resumes and cover letters as well as networking and interviewing.

Back in the Peterson's interface, the Online resume builder tool takes you to VisualCV.

This tool allows you to create multiple CVs or resumes using templates with custom formatting options.

You can also create and store cover letters using the same tool.

Finally, the job search engine offers separate searches for government and non-government job listings.

The final section in this database helps you Prepare for US Citizenship.

This section brings together general information about the citizenship process, practice tests, and English-language proficiency resources.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Peterson's Test & Career Prep. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library