Films on Demand from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.
This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find and watch streaming videos through the library database Films on Demand.
To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.
Films on Demand is listed alphabetically on the A-Z Databases page. You can scroll down or choose the F from the linked letters located above the list of databases. This database contains thousands of streaming videos that can be watched online. To access this database, click its title.
To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.
The main Films on Demand page has areas to browse for popular films, recently added titles, and featured titles. There is also a search box at the top of the screen to search for topics, titles, producers, and more. If you’d like to limit your search even further than the basic search, you can use the Advanced Search. You can access this by clicking Advanced Search next to the search box.
The advanced search allows you to be more precise in your search, as well as limit by subjects, language, the presence of closed captions, and more.
Once you have completed your search, the results page will list matching videos. Sometimes these results will be shorter segments of a larger video or will be a series of multiple videos. You can use the All Subjects drop-down menu to limit your results by subject. For other limits, you can use the More Filters drop-down menu.
When you click a video title, you will be taken to a screen where you can watch it. There are also options to share, which includes an embed option, cite, or create a custom segment. Turn on closed captions on the video bar, and view the transcript on the right.
If you would prefer to browse videos in a certain area, you can click the three-line horizontal icon and choose View All. Subjects and subject subsets will be listed for you to click and browse.
You will also see individual video titles if you search for a topic within the library catalog. Streaming videos will have an icon to identify them in the search results. View the library catalog tutorial to learn more about accessing and searching the library catalog. To access the video, click the Click here to view this eVideo link and log in.
This concludes the video tutorial on using Films on Demand. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:
352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library
Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity
Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.
SACSCOC Accreditation Statement
Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.