Skip to main content

Tutorials

Video tutorials for library research strategies and resources.

Health and Wellness Video Tutorial

Health and Wellness from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial demonstrates how to locate health information and articles from the library database Health and Wellness

To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

Health and Wellness Resource Center is listed in the Library's Recommended Databases. This is a general health sciences database that is accessible to non-majors. It provides access to a broad range of information sources, from reference book entries to scholarly journal articles. To access this database, click its title.

To log in, your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number without the hyphen. Your PIN is the last 4 digits of your 8-digit SF ID number.

Health and Wellness allows you to search or browse for information. If you have a topic, type it in the search box. If you would like to browse, use the general Browse Topics link at the top.

You may also scroll down on the homepage to use the specialized browsing categories: Diseases and Conditions, Drugs, Diagnostics and Tests, and Therapies, Treatments and Surgeries.

When browsing, click a topic for relevant search results.

When searching, the default search only provides one box to enter your terms. To combine concepts and access additional search options, click Advanced Search.

In Advanced Search, you can use Boolean operators to combine terms and apply limits to your results, including date of publication and peer reviewed journals.

Browse and search results are segmented by content type. This search for ketogenic diet AND epilepsy has a mixture of reference book entries, magazines, videos, images, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles. Click a title in the results list to view the full text.

A Tools area is available above the article, which provides options to cite or email the article.

The Email or Send to option allows you to send a copy of the article to yourself.

The Cite option provides generated citations in APA, MLA, and Chicago format. You should always carefully review automatic citations, as they may not be correct.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Health and Wellness. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library