Opposing Viewpoints from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.
This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access information on current events and topics from the library database Opposing Viewpoints
To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.
Opposing Viewpoints is listed on the Library's Recommended Databases listings, and also in the full list of databases. Opposing Viewpoints contains various types of information on many hot topics, including articles, viewpoints, and news. To access this database, click its title.
To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.
Opposing Viewpoints covers popular and controversial topics, and provides many different types of sources for each. If you already have a topic, use the search box at the top to locate information. If you would like to view possible topics, click the Browse Issues link.
Issues are constantly updated, and new issues are added regularly. If any topic interests you, click it.
Whether you searched for a topic or used the browse option, you will see search results, divided by type. The On This Page section allows you to see the different types of sources available for the topic. You are also able to search within your results.
Viewpoints and Featured Viewpoints are opinion essays. These can help you determine the arguments for and against certain aspects of your topic. However, viewpoints will take a certain stance, and there may be some bias.
Reference book results will provide background information about a topic. These results come from print reference books.
News and Magazines will provide recent developments within the topic, from a more popular and general perspective.
Academic Journals will provide a more scholarly perspective, reflecting the research performed by scholars or experts in the field. These resources tend to be the most credible and reliable of all the sources but are at a higher reading level.
Regardless of which type of source you choose, when you click the title of the result, you will be taken to the full text. Options in the right toolbar will allow you to email the full text and generate a citation. Always review citations carefully as they may not be 100% correct.
This concludes the video tutorial on Opposing Viewpoints. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:
352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library
Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity
Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.
SACSCOC Accreditation Statement
Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.