Skip to main content

Tutorials

Video tutorials for library research strategies and resources.

Chicago Author-Date: Citing Books

Chicago Author-Date: Citing Books from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to cite different types of books using the Chicago author-date citation style.

There are two styles within Chicago: author-date and notes and bibliography. The author-date style lists the date component second in a citation, and uses in-text citations to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the author-date style.

Author-Date:
Author. Date. Title. Location: Publisher.

Notes & Bibliography:
Author. Title. Location: Publisher, Date.

This tutorial will cover the basics for citing a book, how to cite if there is more than one author or if a book is not a first edition, and how to cite a chapter from an edited book.

Example 1: A Book With One Author

For the first example, you will learn how to cite this book: Prisoners of War: A Reference Handbook.

The first step is to identify who wrote the book. The author is Arnold Krammer.

To list an author, type the name in reverse order. Type the last name, a comma, and then the first name, followed by a period. If the author’s middle name or initial is given, include it after the first name.

Example:
Krammer, Arnold.

Next, identify when this book was written. In this case, you will need to open the book and look inside (usually on the back of the title page) to find the date, 2008.

List the date after the author, followed by a period.

Example:
Krammer, Arnold. 2008.

Next, identify the title of the book. The cover shows the title is Prisoners of War: A Reference Handbook. Even though there is no colon on the front page, A Reference Handbook is in a smaller font; this shows that it is the subtitle, and should be separated from the title with a colon.

List the title of the book after the date, in italics. Make sure to capitalize all important words, including the first word of the title and subtitle.

Example:
Krammer, Arnold. 2008. Prisoners of War: A Reference Handbook.

The last information you need is the publisher and the publication location. The book’s title page shows that the publisher is Praeger Security International, and the publication location is Westport. You only need to give the first city. If the city is not well-known, include the two letter state abbreviation.

Type the city then a comma and the state if necessary. Then type a colon, the name of the publisher, and end your citation with a period. This concludes your citation.

Example:
Krammer, Arnold. 2008. Prisoners of War: A Reference Handbook. Westport, CT: Praeger Security International.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. There are a number of ways to do this. In this example, a signal phrase is used to introduce a direct quote. Note that the author’s name is given in the text, and the publication date and page number(s) are enclosed in parentheses at the end of the sentence.

Example:
As Krammer writes, “The history of the prisoner of war is as old as the history of warfare and certainly as brutal” (2008, 1).

Example 2: Multiple Authors and Editions

In this example, there are two authors: Kenneth D. Wald and Allison Calhoun-Brown. The date, title, and publication information have been obtained from the book. Note that this book is a fifth edition. You will need to include that information in your citation as well.

When citing multiple authors, list the first author in reverse order, followed by a comma, the word and, and then the other authors, this time in normal order. The edition is placed right after the title but before the period. Type a comma and then 5th ed.

Example:
Wald, Kenneth D., and Allison Calhoun-Brown. 2007. Religion and Politics in the United States, 5th ed. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers.

Example 3: A Chapter in an Edited Book

In this example, the entire book is overseen by editors, but each chapter has a different author. If you are only using information from a single chapter, you will need to cite it a certain way.

First, find the general information for this book, as demonstrated in the previous examples. Then locate the author, title and page numbers of the chapter you are citing.

To cite, list the author of the chapter first, followed by the date and the title of the chapter, in quotation marks. Then type In, the title of the book, Edited by, the editor(s)’ name, a comma, and then the page numbers. End with the publication information.

Example:
Landes, David. 2000. “Culture Makes Almost All the Difference.” In Culture Matters: How Values Shape Human Progress, edited by Lawrence E. Harrison and Samuel P. Huntington, 2–13. New York: Basic Books.

For more examples and additional situations you may encounter when citing a book, visit the Santa Fe Library’s Chicago Citation Guide. This can be found by visiting the library’s website, clicking Guides > Citation Guides and then Chicago Citation Guide. Choose Author-Date in the left navigation menu.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing books using the Chicago author-date style. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library

Chicago Author-Date: Citing eBooks

Chicago Author-Date: Citing eBooks from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to cite eBooks using the Chicago author-date citation style.

There are two styles within Chicago: author-date and notes and bibliography. The author-date style lists the date component second in a citation, and uses in-text citations to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the author-date style.

Author-Date:
Author. Date. Title. Location: Publisher.

Notes & Bibliography:
Author. Title. Location: Publisher, Date.

This tutorial will cover how to cite an eBook from a library database and how to cite a downloaded eBook such as a Kindle eBook.

Example 1: An eBook from a Database

For the first example, you will learn how to cite an eBook from a database. The eBook Flappers: A Guide to an American Subculture is from the database eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

To open this eBook, click PDF Full Text on the left side of the detailed record. Navigate to the title page by either clicking on the title page hyperlink in the table of contents, or by using the arrows to click through to the title page.

The first piece of information you need is the author of the book. The author of this book is Kelly Boyer Sagert.

To list an author, type the name in reverse order. Type the last name, a comma, and then the first name, followed by a period. If the author’s middle name or initial is given, include it after the first name.

Example:
Sagert, Kelly Boyer.

Next, identify when this book was written. In this case, you will need to navigate to the page after the title page to find the date, 2010.

List the date after the author’s name, followed by a period.

Example:
Sagert, Kelly Boyer. 2010.

Next, identify the title of the book. The title page shows the title is Flappers: A Guide to an American Subculture. Even though there is no colon on the title page, A Guide to an American Subculture is smaller and italicized. This shows that it is the subtitle and should be separated from the title with a colon.

List the title of the book, in italics, after the author. Capitalize all important words in the title, including the first words of the title and subtitle, and end with a period.

Example:
Sagert, Kelly Boyer. 2010. Flappers: A Guide to an American Subculture.

Next, identify the publication information. This is the city where the book was published and the name of the publisher. This information is usually given on the title page.

If this information is not available on the title page, look for it on the next page. This book was published in Santa Barbara by Greenwood Press. If more than one city is given, choose the first one listed.

List the publication city, a colon, and then the publisher, followed by a period. If the city is not well known, you can provide the two letter state code.

Example:
Sagert, Kelly Boyer. 2010. Flappers: A Guide to an American Subculture. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press.

When citing an eBook from a database, include the database. In this case it is eBook Collection. The name of this database is listed at the top of the screen when viewing the detailed record. Ebook Central is another eBook vendor you may see from the library catalog.

To complete the citation, add the name of the eBook database, followed by a period.

Example:
Sagert, Kelly Boyer. 2010. Flappers: A Guide to an American Subculture. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press. eBook Collection.

Example 2: A Downloaded eBook

To cite a downloaded eBook, begin your citation as if you were citing a print book. For this example, we will cite the Kindle eBook version of The Great Gatsby.

Navigate to the title page to find the author, title, and publication information. Add Kindle to the end. Other editions types include Nook or PDF.

Example:
Fitzgerald, F. Scott. 2003. The Great Gatsby. New York: Scribner. Kindle.

If you refer to an eBook in your paper, by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. If the eBook is divided into numbered sections like chapters, or uses page numbers like in a PDF, then you can include these in your citation, along with the author and date.

Example:
Nick states “I wasn't actually in love, but I felt a sort of tender curiosity” (Fitzgerald 2003, chap. 3).

For more examples and additional situations you may encounter when citing an eBook, visit the Santa Fe Library’s Chicago Citation Guide. This can be found by visiting the library’s website, clicking Guides > Citation Guides and then Chicago Citation Guide. Choose Author-Date in the left navigation menu.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing eBooks using Chicago author-date. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library

Chicago Author-Date: Citing Journal Articles

Chicago Author-Date: Citing Journal Articles from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to cite journal articles using the Chicago author-date citation style.

There are two styles within Chicago: author-date and notes and bibliography. The author-date style lists the date component second in a citation, and uses in-text citations to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the author-date style.

Author-Date:
Author. Date. Title. Location: Publisher.

Notes & Bibliography:
Author. Title. Location: Publisher, Date.

This tutorial will show the basics for citing a print journal and how to cite online journal articles.

Example 1: A Print Journal Article

For the first example, you will learn how to cite a journal article that you found in print.

The first step is to identify the authors of this article. There are two authors listed: Alex J. Bowers and Ryan Sprott.

To list an author, write the last name, a comma, and the first name. If the author has a middle name or middle initial, include that as well. A second author will follow after a comma and the word and, in normal order. List a period at the end of the last author’s name.

Example:
Bowers, Alex J., and Ryan Sprott.

Next, identify the date this article was published. For journal articles, you only need the year. In this case, this article was published in 2012. You can typically find the date at the top of the article, or on the cover of the journal.

List the date after the authors followed by a period.

Example:
Bowers, Alex J., and Ryan Sprott. 2012.

Next, identify the title of the article. The title will usually be at the very top of the article, in a larger size font. Include the subtitle, which comes after a colon.

The title of the article comes after the date, in quotation marks. Capitalize all important words, including the first words of the title and subtitle. End the title with a period, before the closing quotation mark.

Example:
Bowers, Alex J., and Ryan Sprott. 2012. “Examining the Multiple Trajectories Associated with Dropping Out of High School: A Growth Mixture Model Analysis.”

The last information you need is the journal information. In this case, you need the title of the journal, along with the volume, issue (sometimes called number), and page range for the article. Usually this information can be found on the cover of the journal, on the table of contents, or at the top of the article. For the page range, you should look at the first and last pages of the article.

Type the journal title, in italics, capitalizing all major words, the volume, the number or issue in parentheses, a colon, and then the page range of the article. This concludes the citation.

Example:
Bowers, Alex J., and Ryan Sprott. 2012. “Examining the Multiple Trajectories Associated with Dropping Out of High School: A Growth Mixture Model Analysis.” The Journal of Educational Research 105 (3): 176–195.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. There are a number of ways to do this. In this example, a signal phrase is used to introduce a direct quote. Note that the author(s) name is given in the text, and the publication date and page number(s) are enclosed in parentheses at the end of the sentence.

Example:
Bowers and Sprott claim that “students’ dropping out of high schools in the United States is a well known and pervasive problem” (2012, 176).

Example 2: A Journal Article Found Online with a DOI

Often, you will find journal articles online using the library’s databases or other online resources. This article was found online using the database Academic Search Complete.

Most of the information you need to cite an article can be found in the database’s record. In this database, the title is at the top and the date and journal information are in the line that says Source.

Because this article is found online, you need one more element. You need the DOI, which stands for Digital Object Identifier. A DOI can be found in the article’s record, or sometimes on the first page of the article.

All the elements of the journal article will be cited like the first example. The DOI will be included at the end, after the prefix https://doi.org/. Place a period after the DOI.

Example:
Confino, Alon. 2012. “Miracles and Snow in Palestine and Israel: Tantura, a History of 1948.” Israel Studies 17 (2): 25–61. https://doi.org/10.2979/israelstudies.17.2.25.

Example 3: A Journal Article Found Online without a DOI

Not all journal articles will have a DOI. If you have looked through the article and database record carefully and cannot find one, you will need to give a stable URL.

Some databases, like JSTOR, will list a stable URL in the record.

In other databases, you may need to click a permalink icon to generate one. Do not use the URL in the browser bar, as this URL will change each time the article is accessed.

Cite the article as normal, but add the stable URL at the end, followed by a period.

Example:
Byrne, Edmund F. 2002. “Business Ethics: A Helpful Hybrid in Search of Integrity.” Journal of Business Ethics 37 (2): 121–133. http://www.jstor.org/stable/25074740.

For any work with more than four authors, in-text citations only need to include the first author’s last name and then the abbreviation et al. which means “and all the rest.”

Example:
Penprase, Barbara, Lisa Mileto, Andrea Bittinger, Anne Marie Hranchook, Jana A. Atchley, Sarah Bergakker, Treavor Eimers, and Holly Franson. 2012. "The Use of High-Fidelity Simulation in the Admissions Process: One Nurse Anesthesia Program's Experience." AANA Journal 80 (1): 43–48. http://db25.linccweb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=73463888&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
For example, “stimulation has been successfully used in healthcare for skills attainment” (Penprase et al. 2012, 43).

For more examples and additional situations you may encounter when citing journal articles, visit the Santa Fe Library’s Chicago Citation Guide. This can be found by visiting the library’s website, clicking Guides > Citation Guides and then Chicago Citation Guide. Choose Author-Date in the left navigation menu.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing journal articles using Chicago author-date. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library

Chicago Author-Date: Citing Videos

Chicago Author-Date: Citing Videos from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to cite videos using the Chicago author-date citation style.

There are two styles within Chicago: author-date and notes and bibliography. The author-date style lists the date component second in a citation, and uses in-text citations to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the author-date style.

Author-Date:
Author. Date. Title. Location: Publisher.

Notes & Bibliography:
Author. Title. Location: Publisher, Date.

This tutorial will show the basics for citing a DVD, a streaming video, and an online video such as a YouTube video.

Example 1: A DVD

For the first example, you will learn how to cite a DVD or another physical video such as a Blu-Ray or VHS.

The first step is to identify the director of the film. You can find the director on the DVD case, in the library catalog record, or by looking on IMDB.com.

List the director’s name in reverse order, followed by a comma, and then the abbreviation dir., which stands for director.

Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir.

Next, identify the date the film was first released. Use the theatrical release date, not the DVD release date.

List the year after the director, followed by a period.

Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir. 2016.

Next, identify the title of the film. This title is O.J.: Made in America.

List the title of the DVD after the date, in italics, followed by a period. Capitalize all important words.

Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir. 2016. O.J.: Made in America.

Now, identify the DVD or Blu-Ray disc information. Look for the publisher, location, and release date of the DVD. This can be found on the disc case or in the library catalog.

List the location followed by a colon, the publisher, a comma, and then the DVD release date. End with a period.

Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir. 2016. O.J.: Made in America. Owensboro, KY: Team Marketing, 2016.

Finally, end with the format of the video. This could be VHS, DVD, Blu-Ray disc, or another format. End the citation with a period.

Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir. 2016. O.J.: Made in America. Owensboro, KY: Team Marketing, 2016. DVD.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. Note that the director’s name and the publication date are enclosed in parentheses at the end of this sentence.

Example:
David Gascon is quoted as saying “That wasn’t a police chase, that’s an accompaniment” (Edelman 2016).

Example 2: Streaming Videos

Streaming videos may be found through the library’s Films on Demand database, or through another streaming service, such as Netflix. These are videos that you watch entirely online.

Films on Demand videos will have limited information. Look for a producer to serve as the author or creator. The title will be listed underneath the embedded video.

To locate the date, click the Citation link and find the date listed in the MLA citation.

For a permalink, click the Embed/Link option and copy the Record URL.

To assemble the citation, provide the producer, date, and video title (in italics), with periods separating each component. End with the date you accessed the video, a period, the words Films on Demand video, a period, and then the permalink for the video.

Example:
INTELICOM. 2011. Virtue Ethics. Accessed July 2, 2018. Films on Demand video. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=99198&xtid=70861.

Example 3: YouTube Video

This example will show you how to cite an online video, such as a YouTube video or TED talk.

Look at the YouTube page to locate the creator, date, title, length, and URL of the video. The Share button will provide a shortened URL.

A YouTube video citation is similar to the past examples. Use the YouTube user name for the author. List the year after the user name, and then the video title, in quotation marks. Provide the full date, a period, and then the words YouTube video. Next, after a comma, provide the length of the video, a period, and then the URL.

Example:
Smithsonian Channel. 2015. “How and Why the Great Wall of China Was Really Built.” August 28, 2015. YouTube video, 4:52. https://youtu.be/m68zyXyeYG0.

For more examples and additional situations you may encounter when citing videos, visit the Santa Fe Library’s Chicago Citation Guide. This can be found by visiting the library’s website, clicking Guides > Citation Guides and then Chicago Citation Guide. Choose Author-Date in the left navigation menu.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing videos using the Chicago author-date style. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library

Chicago Author-Date: Citing Web Resources

Chicago Author-Date: Citing Web Resources from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to cite Web resources using the Chicago author-date citation style.

There are two styles within Chicago: author-date and notes and bibliography. The author-date style lists the date component second in a citation, and uses in-text citations to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the author-date style.

Author-Date:
Author. Date. Title. Location: Publisher.

Notes & Bibliography:
Author. Title. Location: Publisher, Date.

This tutorial will show the basics for citing a web page, a blog post, and if you are missing a date.

Example 1: A Web Page

For the first example, you will learn how to cite a Web page.

The first step is to identify the author of the Web page. While resources are often written by specific people, sometimes an entire organization is the author. In this case, since the author is listed as Mayo Clinic Staff, and not a specific person, Mayo Clinic is the author.

To list a specific author, write the last name, a comma, and the first and/or middle names, followed by a period. For organizational authors, however, simply list the name of the organization, capitalizing all important words.

Example:
Mayo Clinic.

Next, identify when this Web page was published. Dates are usually found near the top or the bottom of the page. Do not use a copyright date. In this case, the date is 2013.

List the year after the author, followed by a period.

Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2013.

Next, identify the title of the Web page. The title will usually be above the text, in a larger size font. In this case, the title is Stem Cell Transplant.

The title of the page is listed after the date, in quotation marks, followed by a period.

Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2013. “Stem Cell Transplant.”

Next, identify the title of the website that this page is a part of. In this case, the website is Mayo Clinic. If you are having trouble locating the name of the website, try looking at the URL.

The title of the website is listed after the Web page title, with a period at the end. In this case, the title of the website is identical to the author, so this will be omitted.

Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2013. “Stem Cell Transplant.” Mayo Clinic.

If you have a more complete date beyond the year, such as in this example, you will include that next. If you only have a year, skip this component.

Type the date with the month, day, a comma, and then the year. End with a period.

Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2013. “Stem Cell Transplant.” March 23, 2013.

The last information you need is the URL or Web address. You can find this in the address bar at the top of the browser.

Type or paste the URL after the full date or website title. End with a period. This completes your citation.

Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2013. “Stem Cell Transplant.” March 23, 2013. http://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/stem-cell-transplant/in-depth/stem-cells/ART-20048117?p=1.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. There are several ways to do this. In this example, a signal phrase is used to introduce a direct quote. Note that the author’s name is given in the text, and the publication date is enclosed in parentheses at the end of the sentence. Unless there are specific page numbers or numbered paragraphs, you should not include them in an in-text citation.

Example:
The Mayo Clinic states that “stem cells may have the potential to be grown to become new tissue for use in transplant and regenerative medicine” (2013).

Example 2: Blog Posts

Blog posts are cited similarly to Web pages. You will want to identify the author of the post, the title of the post, the blog name, date, and URL.

Assemble your citation components in the same order. The only difference in the formatting is that blog titles are italicized. If you would like to clarify that this resource is a blog, you can place the word blog in parentheses after its title. There is also a sponsor for this blog, so that is added after the blog title.

Example:
Howard. 2017. “Lumia: The Art of Light.” Eye Level (blog), Smithsonian American Art Museum. October 4, 2017. https://americanart.si.edu/blog/eye-level/2017/04/56195/lumia-art-light.

Example 3: No Date

Sometimes a Web page may not provide all of the information you need for a citation. This resource does not include a date.

Cite the Web page as in the first example. For the first date component, type n.d., which stands for no date. In the second date component, type Accessed and then include the date you accessed the resource.

Example:
Marie-Bénédicte, Astier. n.d. “The Winged Victory of Samothrace.” Louvre. Accessed July 3, 2018. https://www.louvre.fr/en/oeuvre-notices/winged-victory-samothrace.

For in-text citations with no date, use the abbreviation n.d.

Example:
Marie-Bénédicte (n.d.) discusses the disparity between the sculptural detail on the left and right sides.

For more examples and additional situations you may encounter when citing Web resources, visit the Santa Fe Library’s Chicago Citation Guide. This can be found by visiting the library’s website, clicking Guides > Citation Guides and then Chicago Citation Guide. Choose Author-Date in the left navigation menu.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing Web resources using Chicago author-date. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library