Skip to main content

Tutorials

Video tutorials for library research strategies and resources.

Business Insights: Essentials Video Tutorial

Business Insights: Essentials from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find and access business information through the library database Business Insights: Essentials.

To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.

Business Insights: Essentials is listed alphabetically on the A-Z Databases page, or under the Business subject category. This database contains well-organized and easy to access information on companies and industries. To access this database, click its title.

To log in, your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number without the hyphen. Your PIN is the last 4 digits of your 8-digit SF ID number.

To find in-depth information on larger companies, enter the name of the company or a stock ticker symbol in the search box.

From the search results, choose the correct company. This database includes companies worldwide, so there may be several companies with a similar name. Check the location and sales to verify you have found the correct company. Click the company name to learn more about it.

An overview of the company, including sales, competitors, industries, and more will appear. The industries this company is part of, along with their NAICS codes, are listed under Industries. Click any of the links to learn more.

The Company Information sidebar will allow you to browse specific types of resources. The company information listed in this sidebar depends on the available information for each company. Some of the more popular and useful options include company histories, financials, rankings, and SWOT reports.

If you choose academic journals, magazines, news, or trade journals, you will see what has been published about the company in those formats.

This example shows recent magazine articles about the Walt Disney Company. You may limit these results by using options on the left under the Search Within Results search box.

The Company Histories link provides comprehensive entries from the International Directory of Company Histories.

SWOT Reports help analyze how well-placed companies are within their industries. SWOT stands for strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats.

In any article or report, you will see several purple icons in the upper right corner. You may use these icons to save, print, download, cite, or share this information.

This database also allows you to research entire industries. Click the Industries option in the navigation bar to see industry-related categories. In this example, I chose All Industries.

Industries are listed alphabetically. You may search by name or NAICS code in the search box on the left. NAICS codes are standard codes used to classify industries.

You may also search for industries from the front page of the database using the search bar. Change the default drop-down to Industry and search with keywords or a NAICS code.

Choose an industry name to see an industry analysis, with financials, top companies, essays, and more.

If you would like to compare two companies or industries, use the Comparison Charts option from the main navigation.

Use the Add/Remove button to choose companies or industries, and then change the drop-down to select what metric to compare. In this example, I am comparing the revenues of The Walt Disney Company and Twenty-First Century Fox.

This concludes the video tutorial on using Business Insights: Essentials. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library