Hello! In this video tutorial, we will explore how to use the library catalog to find items in the collection of the Lawrence W. Tyree Library.
Located on the Northwest Campus, the Lawrence W. Tyree Library at Santa Fe College has many books, videos, and audio material available for you to borrow for free. You will use the library catalog to look for physical items held in the library, as well as online resources like eBooks and streaming videos.
First, select the Library link on the Santa Fe College website to access the library website.
On the library website, click the Catalog button.
In the library catalog, you can search for a title, author, or topic. The default is a Keyword search, which looks for your terms anywhere in the library catalog. The keyword search returns the most results, but the results might not exactly match what you're looking for.
Click the Keyword option to change how you search. You can limit your search terms to the Title or Author of an item. If you know the Library of Congress subject heading for your topic, choose Subject. Subjects are like hashtags for an item and lead to more relevant results, but you do need to know the correct terms.
Let's search for a topic. If you are looking for items related to a topic, but don't know the subject heading, use the default keyword search. This search is for zombies.
All results matching your search appear. You can limit your results using the options under Filter your results. For instance, you may wish to limit to a specific type of format, like a print book, or only show results that are available on the shelf.
All search results have a header indicating the format of the item. Items that can be read or watched online have an Available Online link. Physical items include information about the collection and call number. Click the title of an item to learn more.
This is the full record of an item, in this case, a book. The record gives you more information about the book, as well as how to find it.
You can scroll down to the Details section to learn more about the item. Some records include a summary or a table of contents, which can help you decide if the item is what you are looking for.
You should also look at the Subjects. These are terms you can use to find more items that match what you are looking for.
Once you identify possible subjects, you can use those terms in a subject search within the library catalog. Subject searches will have fewer results than a keyword search but should more closely match what you are looking for.
The Availability section of the record includes information about how to find the item. The green Available text means it is on the shelf. This book is in the Circulating Collection, where you will find most of the books in the Tyree Library.
All items in the Library are arranged by call number. A call number is an address for the item and helps you find it in the Library. Most collections in the Tyree Library use the Library of Congress Classification system and are a combination of letters and numbers. Copy the full call number, including the year.
Finally, click the Locate button to see a map of where you will find the item in the Library. This identifies which of the Library's three floors you should go to, as well as the general area within the floor. This book is on the third floor.
Each aisle includes a range of call numbers to help you locate your item. Use the call number ranges on each shelf to find the correct aisle.
Then, use the call number to locate the item on the shelf. Call numbers are organized first by the initial letters, then the numbers, and then the next letters. Letters are ordered alphabetically. Numbers are ordered from smallest to largest.
Bring the item to the first floor Circulation Desk to borrow (or "check out"). You will need your Santa Fe College ID card or another form of photo ID.
There are other collections and other types of materials in the library, such as the Media Collection on the second floor and the Vinyl Collection on the first floor. Use the Locate button and call numbers, just like with books, to find these items.
Items in the Reference Collection are not available to borrow and do not leave the Library, but you may use them in the building.
Online resources in the library catalog, such as streaming videos and eBooks, have an Available Online link. Click that link and log in, if prompted, to view the full text or watch the video.
You may see the items you have borrowed by clicking Sign in in the upper right corner of the library catalog.
Choose the Office 365 option and then sign in with your Office 365 account.
Click your name, and then and choose My Loans.
On this screen, you can see which items you have borrowed and when they are due back to the Library. If you need the items for a longer period of time, you may request to renew the items on your account.
Use the Ask Us! button in the library catalog to ask for help from a librarian through online chat. Please ask us if you have any questions!
This concludes the video tutorial on using the library catalog. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:
Building Y, NW Campus
Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity
Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
SACSCOC Accreditation Statement
Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.