PubMed from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.
Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access articles from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library using PubMed.
PubMed is a public medical database provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. This database is a great choice for locating health science articles. To see library holdings in PubMed, you must use a special PubMed link found in the Library's A-Z Databases list. To access this database, click the gray Databases button on the library website.
PubMed is listed alphabetically on the A-Z Databases page, or under the Health & Medicine and Nursing & Allied Health subject categories. To access this database, click its title.
To perform a basic search, enter your keywords into the search box. If you are not sure which keywords to use, consider using the MeSH Database to search for the best terminology. For this example, the keyword phrase is peanut hypersensitivity.
In the results, some articles will be noted as Free Article or Free PMC Article. These articles are freely available online. Other articles may be available through the Library's subscriptions. To see full text options, click the title of an article.
Look for the Full Text Links section on the right side of the screen. Click the Find it @ SF link to determine if an article is available in full text from the Library.
After clicking the Find it @ SF link, you will be prompted to log in. To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.
If full text is available, you should be taken directly to the article.
If full text is not available, you will be taken to the article's record in the library catalog. If you would like to request the article from another library, click Sign in.
If prompted to sign in, choose the Office 365 option.
Once you are signed in, you will see a link for Interlibrary Loan Request. Interlibrary loan is a free service that allows you to request articles we do not own from other libraries. Requests are usually completed within 1-2 weeks. To access the request form, click the Interlibrary Loan Request link.
When the request form opens, the article information section is pre-populated, but you will need to enter your contact information. Complete the form and click Submit. This places the interlibrary loan request. If we can get the article from another library, it will be emailed to your college email address.
This concludes the video tutorial on accessing articles through PubMed. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:
352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library
Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity
Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.
SACSCOC Accreditation Statement
Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.