Tutorials

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will learn how to cite books and eBooks using the Chicago Author-Date style.

There are two styles within Chicago: author-date and notes and bibliography. The author-date style lists the date component second in a citation and uses in-text citations to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the author-date style.

The examples in this tutorial include a basic book, a chapter in an edited book, an eBook, and what to do if you have multiple authors or if a book has an edition statement.

Example 1: A Book With One Author

For the first example, you will learn the basics of how to cite a book.

To locate the information you need to cite the book, turn to the title page. The first piece of information you need is the author of the book.

To list an author, type the name in reverse order. Type the last name, a comma, and the first name, followed by a period. If the author's middle name or initial is given, include it after the first name.

References Example:
Kammen, Michael.

Next identify the date that the book was published. This may be on the title page, or you may need to look on the back of the title page.

Type the date after the author, followed by a period.

References Example:
Kammen, Michael. 2006.

Next, identify the title of the book. Even though there is no colon on the title page, A History of Art Controversies in American Culture is in a smaller font; this shows that it is the subtitle and should be separated from the title with a colon.

List the title of the book, in italics, after the date. Capitalize first word of the title, the first word of the subtitle, which comes after the colon, and all important words. Place a period after the title.

References Example:
Kammen, Michael. 2006. Visual Shock: A History of Art Controversies in American Culture.

Finally, identify the publication location and the name of the publisher. This is usually found on the title page.

Type the city, a comma, and the state abbreviation if the city is not well known. Type a colon and then the publisher's name, followed by a period. This completes the citation.

References Example:
Kammen, Michael. 2006. Visual Shock: A History of Art Controversies in American Culture. New York, NY: Alfred A. Knopf.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. There are a number of ways to do this. In this example, a signal phrase is used to introduce a direct quote. The author's name is included within the text, and the publication date and page number(s) are enclosed in parentheses at the end of the sentence. The period is placed after the in-text citation.

In-Text Example:
Americans have increasingly shown their support of art through museum visits. As reported by Kammen, "attendance at art museums rose from 22 million per year to well over 100 million in 2000" (2006, 304).

Example 2: A Chapter in an Edited Book

In this next example, the book is overseen by editors, but each chapter has a different author. If you are only using information from a single chapter, you will cite that chapter only. You will need to locate the same citation components as the first example, but also the title, author, and page ranges of the chapter you are citing.

First, begin with the author of the chapter you are using and then the date of the book.

References Example:
Nelson, Claudia. 2011.

Next, list the title of the chapter. Enclose the title of the chapter in quotation marks. For this example, the first word of the title is italicized since it is the title of a book, but the rest of the chapter title is not italicized. Type a period at the end of the chapter title.

References Example:
Nelson, Claudia. 2011. "Jade and the Tomboy Tradition."

After the chapter title, type the word In, then the italicized book title, a comma, the phrase edited by, and the editors' name in normal order. Then type a comma and list the page numbers of the chapter, followed by a period.

References Example:
Nelson, Claudia. 2011. "Jade and the Tomboy Tradition." In The Oxford Handbook of Children's Literature, edited by Julia L. Mickenburg and Lynne Vallone, 497-517.

Complete the citation with the publication location and publisher, as shown in the previous example.

References Example:
Nelson, Claudia. 2011. "Jade and the Tomboy Tradition." In The Oxford Handbook of Children's Literature, edited by Julia L. Mickenburg and Lynne Vallone, 497-517. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press.

Be sure to use the author of the chapter within your in-text citation, not the editor of the book. If you do not introduce the author's name in the narrative, it is the first component in the parenthetical citation.

In-Text Example:
Furthermore, "preindustrial America was a comparatively permissive environment for the prepubescent [girl]" (Nelson 2011, 502).

Example 3: An eBook with Multiple Authors and Editions

In the last example, there are a few new characteristics. This is an eBook located through a library database. The eBook has two authors, and it is a second edition. You will need to include this information in your citation.

Once you have found and opened an eBook, scroll to the title page to locate the citation components.

For books with two authors, list the first author's name in reverse order, followed by a comma and the word and. Then list the next author in normal order. For books with three or more authors, separate the authors' names with commas and place the and before the last author's name.

References Example:
Metcalfe, Barbara D., and Thomas R. Metcalfe.

List the date, a period, and then the title, in italics, followed by a period.

References Example:
Metcalfe, Barbara D., and Thomas R. Metcalfe. 2006. A Concise History of Modern India.

Type the edition number, followed by ed., which stands for edition.

References Example:
Metcalfe, Barbara D., and Thomas R. Metcalfe. 2006. A Concise History of Modern India. 2nd ed.

List the publication location and publisher as before, ending with a period.

References Example:
Metcalfe, Barbara D., and Thomas R. Metcalfe. 2006. A Concise History of Modern India. 2nd ed. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2006.

When citing an eBook from a database, include the name of the database. The name of this database, Ebook Central, is listed at the top of the screen.

List the name of the database at the end of the citation in a normal font, ending with a period. This concludes the citation.

References Example:
Metcalfe, Barbara D., and Thomas R. Metcalfe. 2006. A Concise History of Modern India. 2nd ed. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press. Ebook Central.

List both author's names in the in-text citation, separated by the word and.

In-Text Example:
Metcalfe and Metcalfe discuss how Hastings "took care to accommodate caste and religious sensibilities in the army" (2006, 61).

For more examples and additional situations you may encounter when citing books and other types of sources, visit the Tyree Library's Chicago Citation guide. This can be found by visiting the Library's website, clicking Guides, How-To Guides, and then Chicago Citation Guide. Be sure to choose the Author-Date section.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing books and eBooks using the Chicago Author-Date style. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will learn how to cite journal articles using the Chicago Author-Date style.

There are two styles within Chicago: author-date and notes and bibliography. The author-date style lists the date component second in a citation and uses in-text citations to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the author-date style.

The examples in this tutorial include journal articles with and without a DOI and open access journal articles.

Example 1: A Journal Article with a DOI

As you research, you will often find journal articles online using the library's databases. This article was found online using the database Academic Search Complete.

The first step is to identify the author of the article. You can find this on the first page of the article or in the database record.

To list an author, type the name in reverse order. Type the last name, a comma, and the first name, followed by a period. If the author's middle name or initial is given, include it after the first name.

References Example:
Nesbit, Jeffrey S.

Next, locate the date the article was published. For journal articles, you only need to include the year.

List the year after the author, followed by a period.

References Example:
Nesbit, Jeffrey S. 2020.

Next, identify the title of the article. The title will usually be at the top of the article, in a font that is larger than the text.

Type the title of the article, enclosed in quotation marks, after the date. Capitalize the first word of the title, the first word of the subtitle, which comes after a colon, and all important words. Place a period after the title, but within the quotation marks.

References Example:
Nesbitt, Jeffrey S. 2020. "The American Spaceport and the Power of Cultural Imaginaries."

Next, identify the publication information. This includes the title of the journal, the volume, issue, and page numbers. The issue may be referred to as the number. This information can be located most easily on the database record. In this example, all the publication information is located in the Source line.

Type the journal title, in italics, capitalizing all major words, the volume, the number or issue in parentheses, a colon, and then the page range of the article. End with a period.

References Example:
Nesbitt, Jeffrey S. 2020. "The American Spaceport and the Power of Cultural Imaginaries." European Journal of American Culture 39 (3): 317–337.

The final component can be a DOI, permalink, or the name of the database the article was found in. If the article has a DOI, that should always be the final component. DOI stands for digital object identifier and can be found on the first page of an article or in the database record.

Format the DOI as a URL, with the prefix https://doi.org/ and then the actual DOI, which begins with a 10. End the citation with a period. This concludes the citation.

References Example:
Nesbitt, Jeffrey S. 2020. "The American Spaceport and the Power of Cultural Imaginaries." European Journal of American Culture 39 (3): 317–337. https://doi.org/10.1386/ejac_00033_1.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. There are a number of ways to do this. In this example, a signal phrase is used to introduce a direct quote. The author's name is included within the text, and the publication date and page number(s) are enclosed in parentheses at the end of the sentence. The period is placed after the in-text citation.

In-Text Example:
Nesbitt discusses how many of the locations chosen for the American space program, such as Cape Canaveral, were part of the "remote and invisible wilderness" (2020, 322).

Example 2: A Journal Article without a DOI

Not all journal articles have a DOI. In this case, you may provide either a permalink or the name of the database that the article was found in. Begin by identifying the article components as before, including the article title, authors, journal title, volume, issue, year, and page numbers. A careful examination of this article does not reveal a DOI.

This article has four authors. List the first author's name in reverse order, type a comma, type the second and third authors in normal order, type the word and, and then type the last author's name.

References Example:
Miller, Gerald J., Samuel J. Yeager, W. Bartley Hildreth, and Jack Rabin.

Add the remainder of the citation components as covered in the first example: date, article title, journal title, volume, issue, and page numbers.

References Example:
Miller, Gerald J., Samuel J. Yeager, W. Bartley Hildreth, and Jack Rabin. 2005. "How Financial Managers Deal with Ethical Stress." Public Administration Review 65 (3): 301–312

Because there is no DOI, in this example we will use the database name, JSTOR.

When using a database name, type a comma after the page range and then type the database name in a normal font. End the citation with a period.

References Example:
Miller, Gerald J., Samuel J. Yeager, W. Bartley Hildreth, and Jack Rabin. 2005. "How Financial Managers Deal with Ethical Stress." Public Administration Review 65 (3): 301–312, JSTOR.

If you do not introduce the author's name in the narrative, it is the first component in the parenthetical citation. For any work with more than four authors, in-text citations only need to include the first author's last name and then the abbreviation et al., which means "and all the rest."

In-Text Example:
The three types of external factors that most contribute to ethical stress are "fiscal stress, budgetary process involvement, and political influence" (Miller et al. 2005, 302).

Example 3: An Open Access Journal Article

You may encounter open access full-text journal articles while searching online via search engines or other websites. This article is from the online-only journal Australian Humanities Review.

Look for the information needed to cite the article at the top of the page or on the journal's table of contents page. In this example, the journal does not have volumes. Instead, there are only issues. Also, since the articles are presented as HTML files, there are no page numbers.

Cite the journal article as before. Since this journal does not have volume numbers, list the issue number after a comma and the abbreviation no. There are no page numbers, so that element is skipped.

References Example:
Robinson, Alice, and Dan Tout. 2012. "Only Planet: Unsettling Travel, Culture and Climate Change in Settler Australia." Australian Humanities Review, no. 52.

Because there is no DOI for this article, and it was not found through a database, you will include the URL from the address bar as the final component.

Copy and paste the URL. Type a period after the URL to complete the citation.

References Example:
Robinson, Alice, and Dan Tout. 2012. "Only Planet: Unsettling Travel, Culture and Climate Change in Settler Australia." Australian Humanities Review, no. 52. https://australianhumanitiesreview.org/2012/05/01/only-planet-unsettling-travel-culture-and-climate-change-in-settler-australia/.

For the in-text citation, list both authors in normal order, separated by the word and. If there are no page numbers, you may use other methods to describe where the information is located, such as a chapter or paragraph number.

Note Example:
Robinson and Tout discuss how integral movement and travel are to Australians (2012, para. 17).

For more examples and additional situations you may encounter when citing articles and other types of sources, visit the Tyree Library's Chicago Citation guide. This can be found by visiting the Library's website, clicking Guides, How-To Guides, and then Chicago Citation Guide. Be sure to choose the Author-Date section.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing journal articles using the Chicago Author-Date style. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will learn how to cite videos using the Chicago Author-Date style.

There are two styles within Chicago: author-date and notes and bibliography. The author-date style lists the date component second in a citation and uses in-text citations to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the author-date style.

The examples in this tutorial include a DVD, a streaming video, and an online video, such as YouTube videos.

Example 1: A DVD

For the first example, you will learn how to cite a physical DVD. You may also use the same concepts to cite a VHS or Blu-Ray video.

The first step is to identify the director of the film. You can find the director on the DVD case, in the library catalog record, or by looking on IMDb.com.

List the director's name in reverse order, followed by a comma, and then the abbreviation dir., which stands for director.

References Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir.

Next, identify the date the film was first released. Use the theatrical release date, not the DVD release date.

List the year after the title, followed by a period.

References Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir. 2016.

Next, identify the title of the film.

List the title in italics, followed by a period. Capitalize all important words, including the first words of the title and subtitle.

References Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir. 2016. O.J.: Made in America.

Now, identify the publication information. Look for the publisher, location, and release date of the DVD. This can be found on the disc case or in the library catalog.

List the location followed by a colon, the publisher, a comma, and then the DVD release date. End with a period.

References Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir. 2016. O.J.: Made in America. Owensboro, KY: Team Marketing, 2016.

If the film release date and DVD release date are the same, omit the second date.

References Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir. 2016. O.J.: Made in America. Owensboro, KY: Team Marketing, 2016.

Finally, end with the format of the video. This could be VHS, DVD, Blu-Ray disc, or another format. End the citation with a period. This concludes the citation.

References Example:
Edelman, Ezra, dir. 2016. O.J.: Made in America. Owensboro, KY: Team Marketing. DVD.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. There are a number of ways to do this. In this example, the director's name and publication date are enclosed in parentheses at the end of the sentence. The period is placed after the in-text citation.

In-Text Example:
David Gascon is quoted as saying, "that wasn’t a police chase, that's an accompaniment" (Edelman 2016).

Example 2: A Streaming Video

Streaming videos may be found through the Library's Films on Demand database, or through another streaming service, such as Netflix or Hulu. These are subscription videos that you watch entirely online.

Films on Demand often has limited information available about its videos. Look for a producer to serve as the author or creator.

List the producer of the video in normal order, capitalizing each word, and ending with a period.

References Example:
Discovery Education.

For the date, use the copyright date listed in the Details section.

List the copyright date after the title, followed by a period.

References Example:
Discovery Education. 2012.

Look for the title above the embedded video.

List the title of the video, in italics, capitalizing all important words, followed by a period.

References Example:
Discovery Education. 2012. Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophical Tradition and Method.

Next, include the format of the video. In this case, type Films on Demand video, although this will differ based on where you are accessing the streaming video. Type a period.

References Example:
Discovery Education. 2012. Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophical Tradition and Method. Films on Demand video.

Finally, locate the permalink for the video. In this database, you can click the Share link option and copy the Record URL.

Copy and paste the permalink and end the citation with a period. This completes the citation.

References Example:
Discovery Education. 2012. Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophical Tradition and Method. Films on Demand video. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/sfcollege.edu?url=https%3a%2f%2ffod.infobase.com%2fPortalPlaylists.aspx%3fwID%3d99198%26xtid%3d117898.

If there is no personal creator, use the organization or producer within the in-text citation.

In-Text Example:
Philosophy rose from unhappiness with the mythologies that purportedly explained the world (Discovery Education 2012).

Example 3: A YouTube Video

This example will show you how to cite an online video, such as a YouTube video or TED talk.

Begin with the creator and date of the video. Use the username as the creator.

List the username, in this case, in normal order, followed by a period. List the year only as the next component, also followed by a period.

References Example:
Smithsonian Channel. 2015.

Next, locate the title of the video.

Place the title of the video in quotation marks and place a period after the title, but inside the closing quotation mark. Now, list the full date the video was uploaded in Month Day, Year format, followed by a period. Do not abbreviate months.

References Example:
Smithsonian Channel. 2015. "How and Why the Great Wall of China Was Really Built." August 28, 2015.

Now, identify the length of the video.

Type the format, which is YouTube video, a comma, and then the length of the video. End with a period.

References Example:
Smithsonian Channel. 2015. "How and Why the Great Wall of China Was Really Built." August 28, 2015. YouTube video, 4:52.

Copy and paste the URL for the video and end the citation with a period. This concludes the citation.

References Example:
Smithsonian Channel. 2015. "How and Why the Great Wall of China Was Really Built." August 28, 2015. YouTube video, 4:52. https://youtu.be/m68zyXyeYG0.

Use only the year for the in-text citation.

In-Text Example:
The Great Wall of China is so long that there is a difference of 1 minute and 20 seconds between seeing the sun rise on the eastern end and western end (Smithsonian Channel 2015).

For more examples and additional situations you may encounter when citing videos and other types of resources, visit the Tyree Library's Chicago Citation guide. This can be found by visiting the Library's website, clicking Guides, How-To Guides, and then Chicago Citation Guide. Be sure to choose the Author-Date section.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing videos using the Chicago Author-Date style. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will learn how to cite web resources in Chicago Author-Date style.

There are two styles within Chicago: author-date and notes and bibliography. The author-date style lists the date component second in a citation and uses in-text citations to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the author-date style.

The examples in this tutorial include webpages, webpages without dates, blog posts, and reports.

Example 1: A Webpage

For the first example, you will learn how to cite a webpage. A webpage is a single document within a website. The first step is to identify the author of the webpage. While resources are often written by specific people, sometimes an entire organization is the author. In this case, since the author is listed as Mayo Clinic Staff, and not a specific person, Mayo Clinic is the author.

To list an author, type the name in reverse order. Type the last name, a comma, and the first name, followed by a period. If the author's middle name or initial is given, include it after the first name. For organizational authors, simply list the name of the organization, capitalizing all important words.

References Example:
Mayo Clinic.

Next, look for a date at the top or bottom of the webpage. The next example will show what to do if you are unable to locate a date.

List only the year, followed by a period.

References Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2019.

Next, determine the title of the webpage. The title of the webpage is usually found above the main content in the body of the page.

Type the title of the webpage, enclosed in quotation marks, after the date. Capitalize the first word of the title, the first word of the subtitle, when a subtitle is given, and all important words. Place a period before the last quotation mark.

References Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2019. "Stem Cells: What They Are and What They Do."

Next, determine the title of the website. The website is the overall container for the page or document you are using. The title of the website is usually found in a prominent place on the page or at the top of the browser screen.

Type the title of the website, in normal font, after the title of the webpage. Capitalize all important words. End with a period.

References Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2019. "Stem Cells: What They Are and What They Do." Mayo Clinic.

In this example, the title of the website is identical to the author, so this will be omitted.

References Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2019. "Stem Cells: What They Are and What They Do." Mayo Clinic.

If you have a more complete date beyond the year, include that next. If you only have a year, skip this component.

List the date in Month Day, Year format, followed by a period. List as much of the date as you have. Do not abbreviate months.

References Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2019. "Stem Cells: What They Are and What They Do." June 8, 2019.

Finally, locate the URL of the webpage. The URL is found in the address bar of the browser.

Copy and paste the URL. End with a period. This concludes the citation.

References Example:
Mayo Clinic. 2019. "Stem Cells: What They Are and What They Do." June 8, 2019. https://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/bone-marrow-transplant/in-depth/stem-cells/art-20048117?p=1.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include an in-text parenthetical citation. There are a number of ways to do this. In this example, a signal phrase is used to introduce a direct quote. The author's name is included within the text, and the publication date and paragraph number(s) are enclosed in parentheses at the end of the sentence. The period is placed after the in-text citation.

In-Text Example:
The Mayo Clinic states that "stem cells may have the potential to be grown to become new tissue for use in transplant and regenerative medicine" (2019, para. 6).

Example 2: No Date

Not all resources include a specific date. In this example from the Louvre website, there is no date listed.

Cite the resource as before, with the author, webpage title, website title, and URL. For the first date component, type n.d., which stands for no date. In the second date component, type Accessed and then include the date you accessed the resource.

References Example:
Marie-Bénédicte, Astier. n.d. "The Winged Victory of Samothrace." Louvre. Accessed July 3, 2021. https://www.louvre.fr/en/oeuvre-notices/winged-victory-samothrace.

For in-text citations with no dates, use the n.d. abbreviation as the date.

In-Text Example:
Marie-Bénédicte (n.d.) discusses the disparity between the sculptural detail on the left and right sides.

Example 3: A Blog Post

Blog posts are cited similarly to webpages. You will need to identify the author of the post, the title of the post, the blog name, date, and URL. Look at the top and bottom of the entry to find most of these components. If you are not sure what the title of the blog is, look for a Home button or linked logo. In this example, clicking the linked author's name, Howard, will provide the full name, Howard Kaplan.

Assemble your citation components in the same order. The only difference in the formatting is that blog titles are italicized. If you would like to clarify that this resource is a blog, you can place the word blog in parentheses after its title. There is also a sponsor for this blog, so that is added after the blog title.

References Example:
Kaplan, Howard. 2017. "Lumia: The Art of Light." Eye Level (blog). Smithsonian American Art Museum, October 4, 2017. https://americanart.si.edu/blog/eye-level/2017/04/56195/lumia-art-light.

In this in-text citation, both the author's last name and date are enclosed in parentheses at the end of the sentence.

In-Text Example:
Thomas Wilfred is considered a pioneer due to his "fusing modern art and pre-digital technologies" (Kaplan 2017).

Example 4: Reports

You may find reports from various organizations in your research online. Reports will follow the same basic template as previous examples. Locate the authors, report title, website, date, and URL as before.

For reports with two authors, list the first author's name in reverse order, followed by a comma and the word and. Then list the next author in normal order.

References Example:
Adams, Brian, and Randal Verbrugge.

Next, include the year and title. Report titles are italicized.

References Example:
Adams, Brian, and Randal Verbrugge. 2020. Location, Location, Structure Type: Rent Divergence within Neighborhoods.

For reports, check if there is a report series. Not all reports will include a series, but some will.

If a report has a series, include that after the title, concluding with a period. Continue the citation as before, with the website title, date, and URL. This concludes the citation.

References Example:
Adams, Brian, and Randal Verbrugge. 2020. Location, Location, Structure Type: Rent Divergence within Neighborhoods. Working Paper 533. United States Department of Labor. December 9, 2020. https://www.bls.gov/osmr/research-papers/2020/pdf/ec200150.pdf.

Reports may include a suggested citation. Be aware that this may not be in the appropriate style you need. This example is not in Chicago style.

For an in-text citation with two authors, include both authors' last names in normal order, separated by the word and.

In-Text Example:
Adams and Verbrugge (2020) found a segmented housing market in their review of rent inflations.

For more examples and additional situations you may encounter when citing web and other types of resources, visit the Tyree Library's Chicago Citation guide. This can be found by visiting the Library's website, clicking Guides, How-To Guides, and then Chicago Citation Guide. Be sure to choose the Author-Date section.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing web resources using the Chicago Author-Date style. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
sfcollege.edu/library