Credo Reference from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.
This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access online reference books through the library database Credo Reference.
To access library databases, click the gray Databases button on the library website.
Credo Reference is listed in the Library's Recommended Databases list. This database allows you to search through hundreds of online reference books in order to learn the basics about a topic. To access this database, click its title.
If prompted to log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password. You may not see this screen if you are already logged in to Office 365 elsewhere.
The Credo Reference search screen allows you to search for a topic. For best results, keep your search terms simple. Credo Reference only includes reference books and some media. It does not include journal articles.
In this example, the search term is Monroe Doctrine. The default search results are entries from reference books, referred to as Articles, but you can also switch to Images. You can limit your search by using the drop-down boxes under Filter Options. Relevant filters include subject, date, and length. A mind map appears for many searches to help you explore related concepts.
Titles of entries are in blue. The name of the book an entry is from is under the entry title. There will also be a text snippet from the entry, a word count, and a list of key concepts. Click the title of an entry to view the full text.
The full text of the entry will appear, along with any associated images. To explore more from this book, click the book title. You may also wish to explore related articles. There are options to share and cite the entry in the toolbar below the title.
Click Cite to see generated citations in APA, Chicago, and MLA styles. Keep in mind that generated citations are not necessarily correct, and you should always double-check them.
If you do not yet have a topic, then you may find it helpful to browse topics or use the mind maps. To browse a listing of topic pages, on the front page, click the three-line icon, and then choose Topics from the drop-down menu.
You can scroll through the alphabetical list, filter the topics by subject, or search within the topics.
You can also use the mind map tool for a more visual exploration.
Mind maps can help you find related topics and explore each of those topics further.
This concludes the video tutorial on using Credo Reference. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.
352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library
Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity
Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.
SACSCOC Accreditation Statement
Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.