Skip to Main Content

Database Citing Tools

Information on how to use the built-in citation tools in many of the library databases to generate citations, along with examples of correct citations.

Gale Databases

Included Databases

Academic OneFile; Biography (Gale in Context); Business: Insights; Computer Science; Educator's Reference Complete; Entrepreneurship; Gale Literature; Health and Medicine; Health and Wellness; Military and Intelligence; Opposing Viewpoints; Sources in U.S. History: Civil War

Citation Formats Supported

  • APA
  • Chicago Notes & Bibliography
  • MLA

Note: Gale databases usually do not provide page numbers, so you should leave that component off your citation.

Instructions

  1. In the upper right, click the Cite link.
    Cite icon
  2. Select the tab for your citation style.
    Gale citation style options
  3. Carefully review punctuation and capitalization of the generated citation.

Sample Citations

Burk, J. (2001, Summer). The military obligation of citizens since Vietnam. Parameters, 31(2), 48.

Ideno, Y., Hayashi, K., Abe, Y., Ueda, K., Iso, H., Noda, M., Lee, J.-S., & Suzuki, S. (2017). Blood pressure-lowering effect of Shinrin-yoku (Forest bathing): A systematic review and meta-analysis. BMC Complementary and Alternative Medicine, 17(1). https://doi.org/10.1186/s12906-017-1912-z

Mooney, C. (2011). The popularity of junk food. In Junk Food Junkies (pp. 9–23). Lucent Books.

Steele, V. (Ed.). (2005). Encyclopedia of clothing and fashion. Charles Scribner's Sons.

Virus briefing. (2020, December 16). The New York Times.

More Information: APA: Magazine Articles; APA: Journal Articles; APA: Books & eBooks; APA: Entries in a Reference Book

Burk, James. "The Military Obligation of Citizens Since Vietnam." Parameters, vol. 31, no. 2, Summer 2001, p. 48. Academic OneFile, link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A76496208/AONE?u=lincclin_sfcc&sid=AONE&xid=6c38016d.

Ideno, Yuki, et al. "Blood Pressure-Lowering Effect of Shinrin-yoku (Forest Bathing): A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis." BMC Complementary and Alternative Medicine, vol. 17, no. 1, 2017. Academic OneFile, https://doi.org/10.1186/s12906-017-1912-z.

Mooney, Carla. "The Popularity of Junk Food." Junk Food Junkies, Lucent Books, 2011, pp. 9-23. Gale Health and Wellness, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1772700007/HWRC?u=lincclin_sfcc&sid=bookmark-HWRC&xid=2ac054cf.

Steele, Valerie, editor. Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion. Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/pub/0QPQ/GVRL?u=lincclin_sfcc&sid=bookmark-GVRL.

"Virus Briefing." The New York Times, 16 Dec. 2020. Academic OneFile, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A645170286/AONE?u=lincclin_sfcc&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=8eba7826.

More Information: MLA: Magazines; MLA: Journal Articles; MLA: eBooks; MLA: Chapters

Burk, James. 2001. "The Military Obligation of Citizens Since Vietnam." Parameters 31 (2): 48. Academic OneFile.

Ideno, Yuki, Kunihiko Hayashi, Yukina Abe, Kayo Ueda, Hiroyasu Iso, and Mitsuhiko Noda. 2017. "Blood Pressure-Lowering Effect of Shinrin-yoku (Forest Bathing): A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis." BMC Complementary and Alternative Medicine 17 (1). https://doi.org/10.1186/s12906-017-1912-z.

Mooney, Carla. 2011. "The Popularity of Junk Food." In Junk Food Junkies, 9–23. Lucent Books. Gale Health and Wellness.

Steele, Valerie, ed. 2005. Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion. Charles Scribner's Sons. Gale eBooks.

The New York Times. 2020. "Virus Briefing." December 16, 2020. Academic OneFile.

More Information: Chicago Author-Date: Magazines; Chicago Author-Date: Journal Articles; Chicago Author-Date: eBooks; Chicago Author-Date: Reference Books

Bibliography

Burk, James. "The Military Obligation of Citizens Since Vietnam." Parameters 31, no. 2 (Summer 2001): 48. Academic OneFile.

Ideno, Yuki, Kunihiko Hayashi, Yukina Abe, Kayo Ueda, Hiroyasu Iso, and Mitsuhiko Noda. "Blood Pressure-Lowering Effect of Shinrin-yoku (Forest Bathing): A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis." BMC Complementary and Alternative Medicine 17, no. 1 (2017). https://doi.org/10.1186/s12906-017-1912-z.

Mooney, Carla. "The Popularity of Junk Food." In Junk Food Junkies, 9–23. Lucent Books, 2011. Gale Health and Wellness.

Steele, Valerie, ed. Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion. Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005. Gale eBooks.

The New York Times. "Virus Briefing." December 16, 2020. Academic OneFile.

Note

James Burk, "The Military Obligation of Citizens Since Vietnam," Parameters 31, no. 2 (Summer 2001): 48, Academic OneFile.

Yuki Ideno, Kunihiko Hayashi, Yukina Abe, Kayo Ueda, Hiroyasu Iso, and Mitsuhiko Noda, "Blood Pressure-Lowering Effect of Shinrin-yoku (Forest Bathing): A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis," BMC Complementary and Alternative Medicine 17, no. 1 (2017).,https://doi.org/10.1186/s12906-017-1912-z.

Carla Mooney, "The Popularity of Junk Food," In Junk Food Junkies, 9–23 (Lucent Books, 2011), Gale Health and Wellness.

Valerie Steele, ed., Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005), Gale eBooks.

"Virus Briefing," The New York Times, December 16, 2020, Academic OneFile.

*Only include the pages that are directly being referenced, not the entire page range.

More Information: Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Magazines; Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Journal Articles; Chicago Notes & Bibliography: eBooks; Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Reference Books

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.