Skip to Main Content

Database Citing Tools

Information on how to use the built-in citation tools in many of the library databases to generate citations, along with examples of correct citations.

Oxford English Dictionary

Citation Formats Supported

  • Chicago Notes & Bibliography
  • MLA

For APA citations, see the Sample Citations area for a template and examples.

Instructions

  1. Click the Cite link below the entry.
  2. Carefully review punctuation and capitalization of the generated citation.

Sample Citations

Use the following template to create APA references to entries in the online Oxford English Dictionary.

Oxford University Press. (Date). Entry. In Oxford English dictionary. Retrieved Date.

Oxford University Press. (2022, September). Success. In Oxford English dictionary. Retrieved June 6, 2023.

Oxford University Press. (2023, March). Heart, i. (b). In Oxford English dictionary. Retrieved June 6, 2023.

More Information: APA: Entries in a Reference Book

"Heart, N., Int., and Adv. i. (b)." Oxford English Dictionary, June 2013, www.oed.com/view/Entry/85068#eid271209335.

"Success, N." Oxford English Dictionary, Sept. 2022, www.oed.com/view/Entry/193306.

More Information: MLA: Online Reference Books

OED (Oxford English Dictionary). n.d. "Heart, n., int., and adv., i. (b)." Accessed June 6, 2023. https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/85068#eid271209335.

OED (Oxford English Dictionary). n.d. "Success, n." Accessed June 6, 2023. https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/193306.

More Information: Chicago Author-Date: eBooks; Chicago Author-Date: Reference Books

Bibliography

Because the OED is a well-known reference work, it only needs to be cited within a note, not the bibliography, per 14.232 in The Chicago Manual of Style.

Note

OED Online, s.v. "heart, n., int., and adv., i. (b)," accessed June 6, 2023, https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/85068#eid271209335.

OED Online, s.v. "success, n.," accessed June 6, 2023, https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/193306.

*The term s.v. stands for "under the word."

More Information: Chicago Notes & Bibliography: eBooks; Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Reference Books; more guidance from the Chicago Style Q&A ("How do I footnote a reference to an online dictionary definition (Oxford English) in a PowerPoint presentation please?")

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.