Skip to Main Content

Database Citing Tools

Information on how to use the built-in citation tools in many of the library databases to generate citations, along with examples of correct citations.

Using Database Citing Tools

This guide will show you how to use the built-in citation tools in the library databases. Choose a database name or database company in the navigation menu for instructions on how to find and use the citation generators.

A note about citing tools: Be careful when using citations generated by the library databases. Carefully review capitalization and punctuation. It is important that you know the basics of what your citation format requires so that you can correct any issues with the generated citations. Consult the resources listed in Research 101: Organizing & Citing Sources to familiarize yourself with your citation format. You will also typically need to double space and format your citation with a hanging indent in your bibliography or works cited list.

Need Help?

Are you stuck in your research? Can't find the right sources? Found an article but there's no full text? Or perhaps you're having issues with citations. Ask a librarian! A librarian is available to help whenever the Library is open:

In Person:

  • NW Campus: Tyree Library, 2nd Floor Reference Desk (Y Building)
  • Blount Center: Blount Hall, Library & Learning Commons, DB-213C (Downtown Gainesville)

By Phone: 352-395-5409

By Text: 352-533-5545

By Appointment: schedule an in-person, phone, or Zoom appointment

By E-mail: reference@sfcollege.edu

By Chat:  

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.