Skip to Main Content

Database Citing Tools

Information on how to use the built-in citation tools in many of the library databases to generate citations, along with examples of correct citations.

Sage Skills

Included Databases

Sage Business Skills; Sage Skills: Student Success

Citation Formats Supported

  • APA
  • Chicago Notes & Bibliography
  • MLA

Instructions

  1. Click the Cite icon in the upper right of the page you wish to cite.
  2. A window will pop up with the citation information. The default is APA, but you can change the citation style in the drop-down box.
    Sage Skills generated citations
  3. Carefully review punctuation and capitalization of the generated citation. Please note that Sage Skills may provide the current date within the generated citation, not the date that the content was created. The year in the APA citation parentheses should be the correct year.

Sample Citations

Poole, A. (2022). Study strategies and assignments: Reading with purpose. SAGE Skills: Student Success. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071896747

Smith, S. (2023). Professionalism: Planning, organizing, and prioritizing. SAGE Skills: Business. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071911402

More Information: APA: Other Database Content

Poole, Alex. "Study Strategies and Assignments: Reading With Purpose." SAGE Skills: Student Success, 2022. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071896747.

Smith, Stephanie. "Professionalism: Planning, Organizing, and Prioritizing." SAGE Skills: Business, 2023. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071911402.

More Information: MLA: Other Database Content

Poole, Alex. 2022. "Study Strategies and Assignments: Reading With Purpose." SAGE Skills: Student Success. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071896747.

Smith, Stephanie. 2023. "Professionalism: Planning, Organizing, and Prioritizing." SAGE Skills: Business. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071911402.

More Information: Chicago Author-Date: Journal Articles

Bibliography

Poole, Alex. "Study Strategies and Assignments: Reading With Purpose." SAGE Skills: Student Success, 2022. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071896747.

Smith, Stephanie. "Professionalism: Planning, Organizing, and Prioritizing." SAGE Skills: Business, 2023. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071911402.

Note

Alex Poole, "Study Strategies and Assignments: Reading With Purpose.," SAGE Skills: Student Success, 2022, https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071896747.

Stephanie Smith, "Professionalism: Planning, Organizing, and Prioritizing," SAGE Skills: Business, 2023, https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071911402.

More Information: Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Journal Articles

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.