Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Guide

Journal Articles

Bibliography Template

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Date): Page range. DOI, permalink, or database.

Bibliography Examples

Cuman, Giulia, and Chris Gastmans. "Minors and Euthanasia: A Systematic Review of Argument-Based Ethics Literature." European Journal of Pediatrics 176, no. 7 (2017): 837–847. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00431-017-2934-8.

Carroll, Maureen, and David Godden. "The Sanctuary of Apollo at Pompeii: Reconsidering Chronologies and Excavation History." American Journal of Archaeology 04, no. 4 (2000): 743–754. http://www.jstor.org/stable/507155.

When including a database name, note that there is a comma after the page numbers:

Lindtner, Chr. "The Central Philosophy of Ancient India." Asian Philosophy 3, no. 2 (1993): 89–93, Humanities Source.


Note Template

1 Author, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Date): Cited page, DOI, permalink, or database.

Note Examples

Only include pages that are directly being referenced in notes, not the entire page range of the article.

1 Giulia Cuman and Chris Gastmans, "Minors and Euthanasia: A Systematic Review of Argument-Based Ethics Literature," European Journal of Pediatrics 176, no. 7 (2017): 840, https://doi.org/10.1007/s00431-017-2934-8.

2 Maureen Carroll and David Godden, "The Sanctuary of Apollo at Pompeii: Reconsidering Chronologies and Excavation History," American Journal of Archaeology 104, no. 4 (2000): 743, http://www.jstor.org/stable/507155.

3 Chr Lindtner, "The Central Philosophy of Ancient India," Asian Philosophy 3, no. 2 (1993): 89–90, Humanities Source.

Newspapers

Bibliography Template

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Date. Permalink or database.

Bibliography Examples

Reed, Stanley. "Fighting Climate Change, One Laundry Load at a Time." New York Times, January 1, 2018. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/01/business/energy-environment/climate-change-enzymes-laundry.html.

In the bibliography only, if there is no attributed author, use the name of the newspaper as the author (see 14.199 in the CMOS).

Daytona Beach News. "Cars, Cars, Where to Put the Cars." October 2011, US Newsstream.

If local newspapers do not include the city in the name, add it in parentheses. Well-known newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal do not need an addition:

Lambarena, Melissa. "This New Year, Resolve to Slim Down Your Credit Cards." News Herald (Panama City, FL), January 1, 2018, NewsBank.


Note Template

1 Author, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper, Date, Permalink or database.

Note Examples

1 Stanley Reed, "Fighting Climate Change, One Laundry Load at a Time," New York Times, January 1, 2018, https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/01/business/energy-environment/climate-change-enzymes-laundry.html.

2 "Cars, Cars, Where to Put the Cars," Daytona Beach News, October 2011, US Newsstream.

3 Melissa Lambarena, "This New Year, Resolve to Slim Down Your Credit Cards," News Herald (Panama City, FL), January 1, 2018, NewsBank.

Magazines

Bibliography Template

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Date. Permalink or database.

Bibliography Examples

Walker, Matthew. "Sleep the Good Sleep." New Scientist, October 14, 2017.

If the magazine name begins with The, omit it:

Adler, Sarah Elizabeth. "The Power of Negative Thinking." Atlantic, January/February 2018. https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2018/01/the-power-of-negativity/546560/.


Note Template

1 Author, "Title of Article," Title of Magazine, Date, Permalink or database.

Note Example

1 Matthew Walker, "Sleep the Good Sleep," New Scientist, October 14, 2017, 30.

2 Sarah Elizabeth Adler, "The Power of Negative Thinking," Atlantic, January/February 2018, https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2018/01/the-power-of-negativity/546560/.

Book Reviews

Bibliography Template

Review Author. Review of Item by Creators. Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Volume, no. Issue (Date): Page range. DOI, permalink, or database.

Bibliography Examples

Perry, Sally E. Review of Beyond Rosie: A Documentary History of Women and World War Two, edited by Julia Brock, Jennifer W. Dickey, Richard J. W. Harker, and Catherine M. Lewis. The Journal of American Culture 40, no. 1 (2017): 77–78. https://doi.org/10.1111/jacc.12681.

Maslin, Janet. "A Troubled Mother Against the Bureaucracy," review of Ladybird, Ladybird, directed by Ken Loach. New York Times, October 7, 1994. http://www.nytimes.com/movie/review?res=9501EFDE103DF934A35753C1A962958260.


Note Template

1 Review Author, review of Item by Creators, Journal/Magazine/Newspaper, Volume, no. Issue (Date), DOI, permalink, or database.

Note Examples

1 Sally E. Perry, review of Beyond Rosie: A Documentary History of Women and World War Two, ed. Julia Brock, Jennifer W. Dickey, Richard J. W. Harker, and Catherine M. Lewis, The Journal of American Culture 40, no. 1 (2017), https://doi.org/10.1111/jacc.12681.

2 Janet Maslin, "A Troubled Mother Against the Bureaucracy," review of Ladybird, Ladybird, directed by Ken Loach, New York Times, October 7, 1994, http://www.nytimes.com/movie/review?res=9501EFDE103DF934A35753C1A962958260.

Cochrane Library

For Cochrane Reviews, the year serves as the volume, and the full database name serves as the journal title. To locate the issue and pages, you will need to view the PDF (click PDF and then Full PDF on the left).

Bibliography Template

Author. "Title of Article." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Date, no. Issue (Date): Page range. DOI.

Bibliography Example

Hall, Sue, Anna Kolliakou, Hristina Petkova, Katherine Froggatt, and Irene J. Higginson. "Interventions for Improving Palliative Care for Older People Living in Nursing Care Homes." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2011, no. 3 (2011): 1–31. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD007132.pub2.


Note Template

1 Author, "Title of Article," Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Date, no. Issue (Date), DOI.

Note Example

1 Sue Hall, Anna Kolliakou, Hristina Petkova, Katherine Froggatt, and Irene J. Higginson, "Interventions for Improving Palliative Care for Older People Living in Nursing Care Homes," Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2011, no. 3 (2011), https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD007132.pub2.

Advance Online Publications

Bibliography Template

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal (forthcoming). DOI, permalink, or library database.

Bibliography Example

Kannan, Lakshmi, and Nissa Blocher. "Cultural Impact on Medication Instructions: The Case of the Turkish Teaspoon." Journal of Patient Safety (forthcoming), Ovid.


Note Template

1 Author, "Title of Article," Title of Journal (forthcoming), DOI, permalink, or library database.

Note Example

1 Lakshmi Kannan and Nissa Blocher, "Cultural Impact on Medication Instructions: The Case of the Turkish Teaspoon," Journal of Patient Safety (forthcoming), Ovid.