Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA Citation Guide

Journal Articles

Template

Author. "Title of Article." Journal Title, vol. X, no. X, Date, pp. X-X. Database, https://doi.org/XXXXXXX OR URL.

Works Cited List Entries

Shook, Anthony, et al. "Musical Experience Influences Statistical Learning of a Novel Language." The American Journal of Psychology, vol. 126, no. 1, 2013, pp. 95-104. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.5406/amerjpsyc.126.1.0095.

Kobbé, Gustav. "The Smile of the 'Mona Lisa.'" The Lotus Magazine, vol. 8, no. 2, 1916, pp. 67-74. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20543781.

For forthcoming articles (online prepublications), omit the volume/issue/pages.

Duraccio, Kara M., et al. "Does iPhone Night Shift Mitigate Negative Effects of Smartphone Use on Sleep Outcomes in Emerging Adults?" Sleep Health, 2021. ScienceDirect, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.sleh.2021.03.005.

For articles that have article numbers, leave off the article number and page range.

Derry, Ken. "Myth and Monstrosity: Teaching Indigenous Films." Journal of Religion & Film, vol. 22, no. 3, 2018. Digital Commons@UNO, digitalcommons.unomaha.edu/jrf/vol22/iss3/7/.

In-Text Citations

(Shook et al. 97)

(Kobbé 70)

(Duraccio et al.)

(Derry)

See pages 319 and 341 in the MLA Handbook.

Newspapers

Print Newspaper Template

Author. "Title of Article." Newspaper Title [City, if needed], Full Date, pp. X-X.

Online Newspaper Template

Author. "Title of Article." Newspaper Title [City, if needed], Full Date. Database OR Website, URL.

Works Cited List Entries

Larrabee, Brandon. "Budget Deal to Limit Scholarship Amount Bright Futures Award Would Stay Flat Despite Yearly Hikes in Tuition." Florida Times Union [Jacksonville], 5 May 2009. Business Insights: Essentials, bi.gale.com/essentials/article/GALE%7CA199144587/ec16c1c4328e70cfe2871cd56c6419f1?u=lincclin_sfcc.

Tinker, Cleveland. "Partnership to Bring about More Low-Income Housing." The Gainesville Sun, 18 June 2017, www.gainesville.com/news/20170618/partnership-to-bring-about-more-low-income-housing.

In-Text Citations

(Larrabee)

(Tinker)

See pages 321-322 in the MLA Handbook.

Magazines

Print Magazine Template

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Full Date, pp. X-X.

Online Magazine Template

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Full Date, URL.

Online Magazine in a Database Template

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Full Date. Database Name, URL.

Works Cited List Entry

This title is different based on whether the article is read in print or on the Atlantic website.

Read in Print:

Tizon, Alex. "Lola's Story." The Atlantic, June 2007, pp. 64-76.

Read Online:

Tizon, Alex. "My Family's Slave." The Atlantic, June 2007, www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2017/06/lolas-story/524490/.

Read in a Database:

Tizon, Alex. "Lola's Story." The Atlantic, June 2007, pp. 64-76. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=122836683&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

In-Text Citation

(Tizon 73)

See page 323 in the MLA Handbook.

Book Reviews

Template

Author of Review. Review of Title of Book, by Authors. Journal Title, vol. X, no. X, Date, pp. X-X. Database, https://doi.org/XXXXXXX OR URL.

Works Cited List Entry

Perry, Sally E. Review of Beyond Rosie: A Documentary History of Women and World War Two, edited by Julia Brock, et al. The Journal of American Culture, vol. 40, no. 1, 2017, pp. 77-78. Wiley Online Library, https://doi.org/10.1111/jacc.12681.

In-Text Citation

(Perry 77)

See page 323 in the MLA Handbook.

Cochrane Library

Template

Author. "Title of Article." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, no. X, Year, pp. X-X. https://doi.org/XXXXXXX.

Works Cited List Entry

McNeill, Ann, et al. "Tobacco Packaging Design for Reducing Tobacco Use." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, no. 4, 2017, pp. 1-346. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD011244.pub2.

In-Text Citation

(McNeill et al. 229)

Created using elements from the MLA Handbook.

Other Database Content

Some information from library databases is not from periodical articles. Examples include information from AtoZ the World, Peterson's Career Prep, Ferguson's Career Guidance Center, and DemographicsNow. For database content that is from books, use the guidance in the Online Reference Books section.

Template

Author. "Title of Source." Database Name, Publisher, Date.

Works Cited List Entry

Brown, Stephen. "Brazil: Music." AtoZ the World, World Trade Press. Accessed 20 June 2017.

The publishers of limited content databases are:

  • AtoZ the World: World Trade Press
  • Peterson's Career Prep: Gale
  • DemographicsNow: Gale