Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Guide

Books

Bibliography Template

Author. Title of Book. Location: Publisher, Date.

Bibliography Example

George, Mary W. The Elements of Library Research: What Every Student Needs to Know. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2008.


Note Template

1 Author, Title of Book (Location: Publisher, Date).

Note Example

1 Mary W. George, The Elements of Library Research: What Every Student Needs to Know (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2008).

eBooks

Bibliography Template

Author. Title of Book. Location: Publisher, Date. Database.

Bibliography Example

Teays, Wanda. Business Ethics through Movies: A Case Study Approach. Chichester, England: Wiley Blackwell, 2015. Ebook Central.


Note Template

1 Author, Title of Book (Location: Publisher, Date), Database.

Note Example

1 Wanda Teays, Business Ethics through Movies: A Case Study Approach (Chichester, England: Wiley Blackwell, 2015), Ebook Central.

Kindle Books

Bibliography Template

Author. Title of Book. Location: Publisher, Date. Kindle.

Bibliography Example

Otto, Mary. Teeth: The Story of Beauty, Inequality, and the Struggle for Oral Health in America. New York: New Press, 2017. Kindle.


Note Template

1 Author, Title of Book (Location: Publisher, Date), Kindle.

Note Example

1 Mary Otto, Teeth: The Story of of Beauty, Inequality, and the Struggle for Oral Health in America​ (New York: New Press, 2017), Kindle.

Edited Books

Bibliography Template

Editor, ed. Title of Book. Location: Publisher, Date.

Bibliography Example

Rosenblum, Joseph, ed. The Definitive Shakespeare Companion: Overviews, Documents, and Analyses. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2017.


Note Template

1 Editor, ed., Title of Book (Location: Publisher, Date).

Note Example

1 Joseph Rosenblum, ed., The Definitive Shakespeare Companion: Overviews, Documents, and Analysis​ (Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2017).

Editions

Bibliography Template

Author. Title of Book. Edition. Location: Publisher, Date.

Bibliography Example

Cooper, William J., Jr., Thomas E. Terrill, and Christopher Childers. The American South: A History. 5th ed. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2017.


Note Template

1 Author, Title of Book, edition (Location: Publisher, Date).

Note Example

1 William J. Cooper, Jr., Thomas E. Terrill, and Christopher Childers, The American South: A History, 5th ed. (Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2017).

Chapters

Bibliography Template

Chapter Author. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Editors, Page range. Location: Publisher, Date.

Bibliography Example

Carbone, Teresa A. "Busted Seams and Bad Behavior: Bodies for the 1930s." In America after the Fall: Painting in the 1930s, edited by Judith A. Barter, 146–173. Chicago: The Art Institute of Chicago, 2016.


Note Template

1 Chapter Author, "Title of Chapter," in Title of Book, ed. Editors (Location: Publisher, Date).

Note Example

1 Teresa A. Carbone, "Busted Seams and Bad Behavior: Bodies for the 1930s," in America after the Fall: Painting in the 1930s, ed. Judith A. Barter (Chicago: The Art Institute of Chicago, 2016).

Anthologies

Bibliography Template

Work Author. "Title of Work." In Title of Book, edited by Editors, Page range. Location: Publisher, Date.

Bibliography Examples

Spiotta, Dana. "Jelly and Jack." In The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2016, edited by Rachel Kushner, 39–56. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2016.

Poe, Edgar Allan. "The Pit and the Pendulum." In The Complete Tales & Poems of Edgar Allan Poe, 237–246. Edison, NJ: Castle Books, 2002.


Note Template

1 Work Author, "Title of Work," in Title of Book, ed. Editors (Location: Publisher, Date).

Note Examples

1 Dana Spiotta, "Jelly and Jack," in The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2016, ed. Rachel Kushner (Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2016).

2 Edgar Allan Poe, "The Pit and the Pendulum," in The Complete Tales & Poems of Edgar Allan Poe (Edison, NJ: Castle Books, 2002).

Reference Books

Bibliography Template

Entry Author. "Title of Entry." In Title of Book, edited by Editors, Volume:Page range. Location: Publisher, Date.

Bibliography Example

Orme, Nicholas. "Christianity, Cornwall." In The Celts: History, Life and Culture, edited by John T. Koch and Antone Minard, 1:192–193. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2012.


Note Template

1 Entry Author, "Title of Entry," in Title of Book, ed. Editors (Location: Publisher, Date).

Note Example

Include volume and page consulted at the end of the note, following a comma:

1 Nicholas Orme, "Christianity, Cornwall," in The Celts: History, Life and Culture, ed. John T. Koch and Antone Minard (Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2012), 1:192.

Online Reference Books

Bibliography Template

Entry Author. "Title of Entry." In Title of Book, edited by Editors, Volume:Page range. Location: Publisher, Date. Database.

Bibliography Example

In this example, there is no separate entry author so the editor takes the author place. Due to the formatting, it is impossible to determine the volume or pages for the entry.

Rogers, Shannon L., ed. "Allusions, Biblical." In All Things Chaucer: An Encyclopedia of Chaucer's World. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007. Credo Reference.


Note Template

1 Entry Author, "Title of Entry," in Title of Book, ed. Editors (Location: Publisher, Date), Database.

Note Example

1 Shannon L. Rogers, ed., "Allusions, Biblical," in All Things Chaucer: An Encyclopedia of Chaucer's World (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007), Credo Reference.

Sacred Text

Bibliography Template

No bibliography entry needed. Simply use a note.


Note Template

1 Book Chapter:Verse (Version)

Note Examples

1 Luke 6:31 (Authorized King James Version)

2 Luke 6:31 (AKJV)