Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Guide

Journal Articles

Template

Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume (Issue): Page range. DOI, permalink, or library database.

Examples

Cuman, Giulia, and Chris Gastmans. 2017. "Minors and Euthanasia: A Systematic Review of Argument-Based Ethics Literature." European Journal of Pediatrics 176 (7): 837–847. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00431-017-2934-8.

(Cuman and Gastmans 2017, 839-840)

Carroll, Maureen, and David Godden. 2000. "The Sanctuary of Apollo at Pompeii: Reconsidering Chronologies and Excavation History." American Journal of Archaeology 104 (4): 743–754. http://www.jstor.org/stable/507155.

(Caroll and Godden 2000)

When including a database name, note that there is a comma after the page numbers:

Lindtner, Chr. 1993. "The Central Philosophy of Ancient India." Asian Philosophy 3 (2): 89–93, Humanities Source.

(Lindtner 1993)

Newspapers

Template

Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Full date. URL or library database.

Examples

Reed, Stanley. 2018. "Fighting Climate Change, One Laundry Load at a Time." New York Times, January 1, 2018. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/01/business/energy-environment/climate-change-enzymes-laundry.html.

(Reed 2018)

If there is no attributed author, use the name of the newspaper as the author (see 15.49 in the CMOS):

Daytona Beach News. 2011. "Cars, Cars, Where to Put the Cars." October 2011, US Newsstream.

(Daytona Beach News 2011)

Magazines

Template

Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Full date. URL or library database.

Examples

Walker, Matthew. 2017. "Sleep the Good Sleep." New Scientist, October 14, 2017.

(Walker 2017, 31)

Adler, Sarah Elizabeth. 2018. "The Power of Negative Thinking." Atlantic, January/February 2018. https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2018/01/the-power-of-negativity/546560/.

(Adler 2018)

Reviews

Template

Review Author. Year. Review of Item by Creators. Journal/Magazine Volume (Issue): Page range. DOI, permalink, or library database.

Examples

Perry, Sally E. 2017. Review of Beyond Rosie: A Documentary History of Women and World War Two, edited by Julia Brock, Jennifer W. Dickey, Richard J. W. Harker, and Catherine M. Lewis. The Journal of American Culture 40 (1): 77–78. https://doi.org/10.1111/jacc.12681.

(Perry 2017, 77)

Maslin, Janet. 1994. "A Troubled Mother Against the Bureaucracy," review of Ladybird, Ladybird, directed by Ken Loach. New York Times, October 7, 1994. http://www.nytimes.com/movie/review?res=9501EFDE103DF934A35753C1A962958260.

(Maslin 1994)

Cochrane Library

For Cochrane Reviews, the year is the volume, and the full database name serves as the journal title. To locate the issue and pages, you will need to view the PDF (click PDF and then Full PDF on the left).

Template

Author. Year. "Title of Article." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Year (Issue): Page range. DOI.

Example

Hall, Sue, Anna Kolliakou, Hristina Petkova, Katherine Froggatt, and Irene J. Higginson. 2011. "Interventions for Improving Palliative Care for Older People Living in Nursing Care Homes." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2011 (3): 1–31. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD007132.pub2.

(Hall et al. 2011, 9)

Advance Online Publications

This refers to online articles that have not yet been published in print, and thus may not have volume, issue, or page numbers.

Template

Author. Forthcoming. "Title of Article." Title of Journal. DOI, permalink, or library database.

Example

Kannan, Lakshmi, and Nissa Blocher. Forthcoming. "Cultural Impact on Medication Instructions: The Case of the Turkish Teaspoon." Journal of Patient Safety, Ovid.

(Kanna and Blocher, forthcoming)