Chicago Citation Guide

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will learn how to cite books and eBooks using the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style, 18th edition.

There are two ways to cite within Chicago style: author-date and notes and bibliography. The notes and bibliography style lists the title component second in a citation and uses footnotes and endnotes to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the notes and bibliography style.

Sources are formatted differently depending on whether it is going in the bibliography at the end of your paper or if it is a footnote. Bibliographies can include all sources you consulted in researching your paper, while notes are directly related to the information you are referring to within your text. In this tutorial, the bibliography example is provided first, followed by the note example.

The examples in this tutorial include a book, a chapter in an edited book, an eBook, and books with multiple authors or an edition statement.

Example 1: A Book With One Author

The first example covers the basics of citing a physical book with one author.

To locate the information you need to cite the book, turn to the title page. The first piece of information you need is the author of the book.

List the author with the name in reverse order. Type the last name, a comma, and then the first name, followed by a period. If the author's middle name or initial is given, include it after the first name.

Bibliography Example:
Kammen, Michael.

Next, identify the full title of the book, including the subtitle. Even though there is no colon on the title page, A History of Art Controversies in American Culture is in a smaller font; this shows that it is the subtitle and should be separated from the title with a colon.

Type the title of the book, in italics, after the author. Capitalize the first word of the title, the first word of the subtitle, and all important words. Type a period after the title.

Bibliography Example:
Kammen, Michael. Visual Shock: A History of Art Controversies in American Culture.

Finally, identify the publisher and the year it was published. If this information is not available on the title page, look for it on the verso, which is the back of the title page.

Type the publisher's name, followed by a comma, and then the year. End the citation with a period.

Bibliography Example:
Kammen, Michael. Visual Shock: A History of Art Controversies in American Culture. Alfred A. Knopf, 2006.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you need to include a note. Footnotes are listed at the bottom of the page, while endnotes are listed together at the end of the paper. Notes follow the same general order as a bibliography entry, but components are usually separated by commas, and the author's name is listed in normal order. Book publication information is placed in parentheses. If you are referring to a specific page within your paper, such as in this example, include that at the end.

Note Example:
Americans have increasingly shown their support of art through museum visits. As reported by Kammen, "Attendance at art museums rose from 22 million per year to well over 100 million in 2000."¹

1. Michael Kammen, Visual Shock: A History of Art Controversies in American Culture (Alfred A. Knopf, 2006), 304.

Example 2: A Chapter in an Edited Book

In this next example, the book is overseen by editors, and each chapter has a different author. If you only use information from a single chapter, cite only that chapter. You need to locate the same citation components as the first example, but also the title and author of the chapter you are citing.

First, begin with the author of the chapter you are using, followed by the title of the chapter. Enclose the title of the chapter in quotation marks. For this example, the first word of the title is italicized since it is the title of a book, but the rest of the chapter title is not italicized.

Bibliography Example:
Nelson, Claudia. "Jade and the Tomboy Tradition."

After the chapter title, type the word "In", then the italicized book title, a comma, the phrase "edited by", and the editors' names in normal order, followed by a period.

Bibliography Example:
Nelson, Claudia. "Jade and the Tomboy Tradition." In The Oxford Handbook of Children's Literature, edited by Julia L. Mickenburg and Lynne Vallone.

Complete the citation with the publisher and date of the book, as shown in the previous example.

Bibliography Example:
Nelson, Claudia. "Jade and the Tomboy Tradition." In The Oxford Handbook of Children's Literature, edited by Julia L. Mickenburg and Lynne Vallone. Oxford University Press, 2011.

For this note, the same rules of placing the authors in normal order and separating components with commas continue. The phrase edited by is abbreviated to ed. List the page the quote comes from at the end of the note.

Note Example:
Nelson notes that "preindustrial America was a comparatively permissive environment for the prepubescent [girl]."²

2. Claudia Nelson, "Jade and the Tomboy Tradition," in The Oxford Handbook of Children's Literature, ed. Julia L. Mickenburg and Lynne Vallone (Oxford University Press, 2011), 502.

Example 3: An eBook with Multiple Authors and an Edition Statement

In the last example, there are a few new characteristics. This is an eBook located through a library database. The eBook has two authors, and it is a second edition. You need to include this information in your citation.

Once you have found and opened an eBook, scroll to the title page to locate the citation components.

For books with two authors, type the first author's name in reverse order, followed by a comma and the word and. Then type the next author in normal order. For books with three or more authors, separate the authors' names with commas, and type the word and before the final author's name.

Bibliography Example:
Metcalfe, Barbara D., and Thomas R. Metcalfe.

Type the title next, in italics, and then a period. The edition is listed after the title. Type the edition number, followed by ed., which stands for edition.

Bibliography Example:
Metcalfe, Barbara D., and Thomas R. Metcalfe. A Concise History of Modern India. 2nd ed.

Type the publisher and date as before, ending with a period.

Bibliography Example:
Metcalfe, Barbara D., and Thomas R. Metcalfe. A Concise History of Modern India. 2nd ed. Cambridge University Press, 2006.

When citing an eBook from a database, include that name. The name of this database, Ebook Central, is shown at the top of the screen.

Type the name of the database at the end of the citation in a normal font, ending with a period. This completes the citation.

Bibliography Example:
Metcalfe, Barbara D., and Thomas R. Metcalfe. A Concise History of Modern India. 2nd ed. Cambridge University Press, 2006. Ebook Central.

This note includes the edition statement after the title, separated by a comma, and the database name at the end of the note, following the page number.

Note Example:
Metcalfe and Metcalfe discuss how Hastings "took care to accommodate caste and religious sensibilities in the army."³

3. Barbara D. Metcalfe and Thomas R. Metcalfe, A Concise History of Modern India, 2nd ed. (Cambridge University Press, 2006), 61, Ebook Central.

Alphabetize bibliography entries by the first word, skipping initial articles such as A, An, or The. The bibliography should be single spaced. Format each citation with a hanging indent and include a blank line between each citation.

If you cite the same source multiple times in your paper, you may use shortened notes. After the first full note in your paper, you may use the author's last name, a shortened version of the title, and the page number you are referring to.

For more examples and additional guidance for citing books and other resource types, visit the Tyree Library's Chicago Citation Guide. This can be found by visiting the Library's website, clicking Guides, How-To Guides, and then Chicago Citation Guide. Be sure to choose the Notes & Bibliography section.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing books using the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style. If you’d like to learn more or need assistance, a librarian would be happy to help.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will learn how to cite journal articles using the Chicago Notes and Bibliography style, 18th edition.

There are two ways to cite within Chicago style: author-date and notes and bibliography. The notes and bibliography style lists the title component second in a citation and uses footnotes or endnotes to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the notes and bibliography style.

Sources are formatted differently depending on whether it is going in the bibliography at the end of your paper or if it is a footnote. Bibliographies can include all sources you consulted in researching your paper, while notes are directly related to the information you are referring to within your text. In this tutorial, the bibliography example is provided first, and followed by the note example.

The examples in this tutorial include journal articles with and without a DOI and open access journal articles.

Example 1: A Journal Article with a DOI

The first example covers the basics of citing journal articles. Many journal articles are located using library databases. This article was found online using the database Academic Search Complete.

The first step to create a citation is to identify the author of the article. You can find this on the first page of the article or in the database record. Many journal articles have multiple authors.

List the first author with the name in reverse order. Type the last name, a comma, and the first name, followed by a period. If the author's middle name or initial is given, include it after the first name.

Bibliography Example:
Nesbit, Jeffrey S.

Next, identify the full title of the article, including the subtitle.

Type the title of the article, enclosed in quotation marks, after the author. Capitalize the first word of the title, the first word of the subtitle, which comes after a colon, and all major words. Place a period after the title, within the quotation marks.

Bibliography Example:
Nesbitt, Jeffrey S. "The American Spaceport and the Power of Cultural Imaginaries."

The retrieval information needed to cite a journal article includes the title of the journal; the volume, issue, and page numbers; and the year of publication. The issue is sometimes referred to as the number. This information can be located most easily on the database record. In this example, all the retrieval information is located in the Source area.

Type the journal title, in italics, capitalizing all major words, the volume number, a comma, the issue number after the abbreviation no., the date in parentheses, a colon, and then the page range of the article. End with a period.

Bibliography Example:
Nesbitt, Jeffrey S. "The American Spaceport and the Power of Cultural Imaginaries." European Journal of American Culture 39, no. 3 (2020): 317–337.

The final component of the citation can be a DOI, the name of the database the article was found in, or a URL. If the article has a DOI, that should always be the final component. DOI stands for digital object identifier and can be found on the first page of an article or in the database record. DOIs always begin with 10. and you may see it formatted alone or as a URL.

Format the DOI as a URL, with the prefix https://doi.org/ and then the actual DOI, beginning with the 10. End the citation with a period.

Bibliography Example:
Nesbitt, Jeffrey S. "The American Spaceport and the Power of Cultural Imaginaries." European Journal of American Culture 39, no. 3 (2020): 317–337. https://doi.org/10.1386/ejac_00033_1.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you need to include a note. Footnotes are listed at the bottom of the page, while endnotes are listed together at the end of the paper. Notes follow the same general order as a bibliography entry, but components are usually separated by commas, and the author's name is listed in normal order. Do not include the page range for the article. Instead, provide the page number or numbers for the information you are directly referring to prior to the DOI.

Note Example:
Nesbitt discusses how many of the locations chosen for the American space program, such as Cape Canaveral, were part of the "remote and invisible wilderness."¹

1. Jeffrey S. Nesbitt, "The American Spaceport and the Power of Cultural Imaginaries," European Journal of American Culture 39, no. 3 (2020): 322, https://doi.org/10.1386/ejac_00033_1.

Example 2: A Journal Article without a DOI

Not all journal articles have a DOI. Check both the article PDF and the database record for a DOI. If no DOI is available, you can include either the name of the database where you found the article or a URL. Begin by identifying the article components as before.

This article has four authors. List up to six authors in a citation. Type the first author's name in reverse order, a comma, then type all remaining authors in normal order, separated by commas. Type the word and before the final author. Add the remainder of the citation components as described in the first example.

Bibliography Example:
Miller, Gerald J., Samuel J. Yeager, W. Bartley Hildreth, and Jack Rabin. "How Financial Managers Deal with Ethical Stress." Public Administration Review 65, no. 3 (2005): 301–312

Because there is no DOI, you should list the database name, JSTOR.

Type a comma after the page range and then type the database name in a normal font. End the citation with a period.

Bibliography Example:
Miller, Gerald J., Samuel J. Yeager, W. Bartley Hildreth, and Jack Rabin. "How Financial Managers Deal with Ethical Stress." Public Administration Review 65, no. 3 (2005): 301–312, JSTOR.

For any work with more than three authors, notes only include the first author's name and then the abbreviation et al., which means "and all the rest."

Note Example:
The three types of external factors that most contribute to ethical stress are "fiscal stress, budgetary process involvement, and political influence."²

2. Gerald J. Miller et al., "How Financial Managers Deal with Ethical Stress," Public Administration Review 65, no. 3 (2005): 302, JSTOR.

Example 3: An Open Access Journal Article

While searching online through search engines, you may find freely available, full-text journal articles. This article is from the online-only journal Public Humanities.

Online-only journals may lack citation components such as issues or page numbers, and some journals may use article numbers. In this example, the journal does not have issues, and the e8 refers to an article number. There is no page range.

Cite the journal article as before. Animal Crossing: New Horizons is italicized because it is the name of a video game. Omit the issue component. Replace the page range with the article number.

Bibliography Example:
King, Emily Grace. 'Designing the Virtual Museum with Animal Crossing: New Horizons." Public Humanities 1 (2025): e8. https://doi.org/10.1017/pub.2024.2.

For the note, replace the article number with the specific page you are referring to. While there is no specific journal page range, you can use the page number on the PDF of the article.

Note Example:
The design of the museum in Animal Crossing: New Horizons highlights essential strategies for creating engaging virtual museums while also providing "social motivation" in the design process³

3. Emily Grace King, "Designing the Virtual Museum with Animal Crossing: New Horizons," Public Humanities 1 (2025): 3, https://doi.org/10.1017/pub.2024.2.

Alphabetize bibliography entries by the first word, skipping initial articles such as A, An, or The. The bibliography should be single-spaced. Format each citation with a hanging indent and include a blank line between each citation.

If you cite the same source multiple times in your paper, you may use shortened notes. After the first full note in your paper, you may use the author’s last name, a shortened version of the title in quotation marks, and the page number you are referring to.

For more examples and additional guidance for citing articles and other resource types, visit the Tyree Library's Chicago Citation Guide. This can be found by visiting the Library's website, clicking Guides, How-To Guides, and then Chicago Citation Guide. Be sure to choose the Notes & Bibliography section.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing journal articles using the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style. If you'd like to learn more or need assistance, a librarian would be happy to help.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will learn how to cite videos using the Chicago Notes and Bibliography style, 18th edition.

There are two ways to cite within Chicago style: author-date and notes and bibliography. The notes and bibliography style lists the title component second in a citation and uses footnotes or endnotes to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the notes and bibliography style.

Sources are formatted differently depending on whether it is going in the bibliography at the end of your paper or if it is a footnote. Bibliographies can include all sources you consulted in researching your paper, while notes are directly related to the information you are referring to within your text. In this tutorial, the bibliography example is provided first, followed by the note example.

The examples in this tutorial include a film, videos from Films on Demand, and an online video, such as YouTube videos.

Example 1: A Film

The first example covers the basics of citing a film, which applies to films watched online or with physical media, such as a DVD.

You need to locate specific pieces of information about the film, which can usually be found on a physical DVD case, in the library catalog record, or on IMDb.com.

The first step is to identify the director of the film.

List the director's name in reverse order, followed by a comma, and then the abbreviation dir., which stands for director.

Bibliography Example:
Neville, Morgan, dir.

Identify the title of the film next.

List the title in italics, followed by a period. Capitalize all important words, including the first words of the title and subtitle. Because this title ends with a question mark, you do not need to include a period.

Bibliography Example:
Neville, Morgan, dir. Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Next, identify the date the film was first released. Use the theatrical release date, not the DVD release date.

List the year after the title, followed by a semicolon.

Bibliography Example:
Neville, Morgan, dir. Won’t You Be My Neighbor? 2016;

Now, identify the production companies. There may be several companies listed. In IMDb.com, scroll down to the Details section to find this information.

List all production companies, separating multiple companies with a forward slash.

Bibliography Example:
Neville, Morgan, dir. Won’t You Be My Neighbor? 2016; Impact Partners / Independent Lens / PBS

If you are citing a DVD or other physical media and that release date is different from the film release date, include it after a comma. End with period.

Bibliography Example:
Neville, Morgan, dir. Won’t You Be My Neighbor? 2016; Impact Partners / Independent Lens / PBS, 2016.

If the film release date and physical media release date are the same, omit the first date and the semicolon.

Bibliography Example:
Neville, Morgan, dir. Won’t You Be My Neighbor? 2016; Impact Partners / Independent Lens / PBS, 2016.

Finally, end with the format of the film as you watched it. This could be a physical format, such as DVD or Blu-Ray, or it could be the streaming service. End the citation with a period.

Bibliography Example:
Neville, Morgan, dir. Won’t You Be My Neighbor? Impact Partners / Independent Lens / PBS, 2016. DVD.
Neville, Morgan, dir. Won’t You Be My Neighbor? Impact Partners / Independent Lens / PBS, 2016. Netflix.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include a note. Footnotes are listed at the bottom of the page, while endnotes are listed together at the end of the paper. Notes follow the same general order as a bibliography entry, but components are usually separated by commas, and the director's name is listed in normal order. Film date and production companies are placed in parentheses, and the format is listed last.

Note Example:
Margaret Whitmore explained the contradictions of the show: "Low production values, simple set, an unlikely star. Yet, it worked."¹

1. Morgan Neville, dir., Won’t You Be My Neighbor? (Impact Partners / Independent Lens / PBS, 2016), DVD.

Example 2: Films on Demand

Many streaming videos may be found through the Tyree Library's Films on Demand database. These include a variety of types of videos, including documentaries and instructional videos.

Films on Demand videos often have limited information available. If there is no director listed, look for a producer. The title is listed above the embedded video.

List the producer of the video in normal order, capitalizing each word, and ending with a period. Then list the title of the video, in italics, capitalizing each major word.

Bibliography Example:
Discovery Education. Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophical Tradition and Method.

For the date, use the copyright date. Do not use the 'date added.'

Type the copyright date, followed by a period. Next, include the format of the video. In this case, type Films on Demand. End the citation with a period.

Bibliography Example:
Discovery Education. Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophical Tradition and Method. 2012. Films on Demand.

A note for this video includes commas between the citation elements.

Note Example:
Philosophy rose from unhappiness with the mythologies that purportedly explained the world.²

2. Discovery Education, Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophical Tradition and Method, 2012, Films on Demand video.

Example 3: A YouTube Video

This example will show you how to cite an online video, such as a YouTube video or TED talk.

Identify the title of the video and the creator. Use the username or channel name for the creator.

List the username or channel, followed by a period. Place the title of the video in quotation marks and place a period after the title but inside the closing quotation marks. You may need to adjust the capitalization of the title to only capitalize each of the major words.

Bibliography Example:
Smithsonian Channel. "How and Why the Great Wall of China Was Really Built."

Next, locate the date that the video was uploaded and the length of the video.

Type the full date in Month Day, Year format, followed by a period, and then YouTube. Type a comma, and then the length of the video, using the abbreviations min. for minutes and sec. for seconds.

Bibliography Example:
Smithsonian Channel. "How and Why the Great Wall of China Was Really Built." August 28, 2015. YouTube video, 4 min., 52 sec.

Copy and paste the URL for the video and end the citation with a period.

Bibliography Example:
Smithsonian Channel. "How and Why the Great Wall of China Was Really Built." August 28, 2015. YouTube video, 4 min., 52 sec. https://youtu.be/m68zyXyeYG0.

A note for this video includes commas between the citation elements.

Note Example:
The Great Wall of China is so long that there is a difference of 1 minute and 20 seconds between seeing the sun rise on the eastern end and western end.³

3. Smithsonian Channel, "How and Why the Great Wall of China Was Really Built," August 28, 2015, YouTube video, 4 min., 52 sec., https://youtu.be/m68zyXyeYG0.

Alphabetize bibliography entries by the first word, skipping initial articles such as A, An, or The. The bibliography should be single spaced. Format each citation with a hanging indent and include a blank line between each citation.

If you cite the same source multiple times in your paper, you may use shortened notes. After the first full note, you may use the director’s last name and a shortened version of the title, with the same formatting as the original note.

For more examples and additional guidance for citing videos and other resource types, visit the Tyree Library's Chicago Citation Guide. This can be found by visiting the Library's website, clicking Guides, How-To Guides, and then Chicago Citation Guide. Be sure to choose the Notes & Bibliography section.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing videos using Chicago Notes & Bibliography style. If you'd like to learn more or need assistance, a librarian would be happy to help.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Hello! In this video tutorial, we will learn how to cite internet resources using the Chicago Notes and Bibliography style, 18th edition.

There are two ways to cite within Chicago style: author-date and notes and bibliography. The notes and bibliography style lists the title component second in a citation and uses footnotes or endnotes to refer to ideas within a paper. This tutorial will cover the basics of the notes and bibliography style.

Sources are formatted differently depending on whether it is going in the bibliography at the end of your paper or if it is in a footnote. Bibliographies can include all sources you consulted in researching your paper, while notes are directly related to the information you are referring to within your text. In this tutorial, the bibliography example is provided first, followed by the note example.

The examples in this tutorial include webpages, webpages without dates, blog posts, and reports.

Example 1: A Webpage

A webpage is a single document within a larger website. The first step when citing a webpage is to identify the author. While resources are often written by specific people, sometimes an entire organization is the author. In this case, since the author is listed as Mayo Clinic Staff, and not a specific person, Mayo Clinic is the author.

To list an author, type the name in reverse order. Type the last name, a comma, and the first name, followed by a period. If the author's middle name or initial is given, include it after the first name. For organizational authors, simply list the name of the organization, capitalizing all major words.

Bibliography Example:
Mayo Clinic.

Next, determine the title of the webpage. The title is usually found above the main content in the body of the page. Use the title on the page itself, not the title that may be present in the tab or browser.

Type the title of the webpage, enclosed in quotation marks. Capitalize the first word of the title, the first word of the subtitle (when a subtitle is given), and all major words. Type a period at the end, inside the closing quotation mark.

Bibliography Example:
Mayo Clinic. "Stem Cells: What They Are and What They Do."

Now, determine the title of the website. The website is the overall container for the page or document you are using. The title of the website is usually found in a prominent place on the page or at the top of the browser screen. In this case, the website is Mayo Clinic.

Type the title of the website, in normal font, followed by a period. Capitalize all major words.

Bibliography Example:
Mayo Clinic. "Stem Cells: What They Are and What They Do." Mayo Clinic.

In this example, the title of the website is identical to the author, so the second instance can be deleted.

Bibliography Example:
Mayo Clinic. "Stem Cells: What They Are and What They Do." Mayo Clinic.

Look for a date, usually located at the top or bottom of the webpage. The next example will explain what to do if you are unable to locate a date, which is common in webpages.

List the date in Month Day, Year format, followed by a period. List as much of the date as you have. Do not abbreviate months.

Bibliography Example:
Mayo Clinic. "Stem Cells: What They Are and What They Do." March 23, 2024.

Finally, copy the URL of the webpage from the address bar of the browser.

Paste the URL and end with a period. This concludes the citation.

Bibliography Example:
Mayo Clinic. "Stem Cells: What They Are and What They Do." March 23, 2024. https://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/bone-marrow-transplant/in-depth/stem-cells/art-20048117?p=1.

If you refer to a work in your paper, either by directly quoting, paraphrasing, or by referring to main ideas, you will need to include a note. Footnotes are listed at the bottom of the page, while endnotes are listed together at the end of the paper. Notes follow the same general order as a bibliography entry, but components are usually separated by commas, and the author's name is listed in normal order. If the author and website are the same, begin the note with the title, and include the website after the webpage title.

Note Example:
The Mayo Clinic states that "stem cells may have the potential to be grown to become new tissue for use in transplant and regenerative medicine."¹

1. "Stem Cell Transplant," Mayo Clinic, March 23, 2024, http://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/stem-cell-transplant/in-depth/stem-cells/ART-20048117?p=1.

Example 2: No Date

It is common for webpages to not include a date, such as in this example.

Cite the webpage as before, with the author, webpage title, website title, and URL. Since there is no date, include an accessed date in the date location. Type the word Accessed and provide the date you consulted the source.

Bibliography Example:
Marie-Bénédicte, Astier. "The Winged Victory of Samothrace." Louvre. Accessed May 3, 2025. https://www.louvre.fr/en/oeuvre-notices/winged-victory-samothrace.

The note follows the same formatting as before, with commas and the author's name in normal order. Lowercase the word accessed.

Note Example:
Marie-Bénédicte discusses the disparity between the sculptural detail on the left and right sides.²

2. Astier Marie-Bénédicte, "The Winged Victory of Samothrace," Louvre, accessed May 3, 2025, https://www.louvre.fr/en/oeuvre-notices/winged-victory-samothrace.

Example 3: A Blog Post

Blog posts are cited similarly to webpages. You need to identify the author of the post, the title of the post, the blog name, date, and URL. Look at the top and bottom of the entry to find most of the components. If you are not sure what the title of the blog is, look for a Home button or linked logo. In this example, clicking the linked author's name, Howard, provides the full name, Howard Kaplan.

Assemble your citation components in the same order. The only difference in the formatting is that blog titles are italicized. If the word 'blog' is not included, place the word blog in parentheses after the blog title. There is also a sponsor for this blog, so that is added after the blog title.

Bibliography Example:
Kaplan, Howard. "Lumia: The Art of Light." Eye Level (blog). Smithsonian American Art Museum, October 4, 2017. https://americanart.si.edu/blog/eye-level/2017/04/56195/lumia-art-light.

Separate each component in the note with commas.

Note Example:
Thomas Wilfred is considered a pioneer due to his "fusing modern art and pre-digital technologies."³

3. Howard Kaplan, "Lumia: The Art of Light," Eye Level (blog), Smithsonian American Art Museum, October 4, 2017, https://americanart.si.edu/blog/eye-level/2017/04/56195/lumia-art-light.

Example 4: Reports

You may find reports from various organizations in your research. Reports follow the same basic template as previous examples. Locate the authors, report title, website or organization, date, and URL as before.

For sources with two authors, list the first author's name in reverse order, followed by a comma and the word and. Then list the last author in normal order. List up to six authors in a bibliography, separated by commas, with the word and before the final author.

Bibliography Example:
Adams, Brian, and Randal Verbrugge.

Report titles are italicized.

Bibliography Example:
Adams, Brian, and Randal Verbrugge. Location, Location, Structure Type: Rent Divergence within Neighborhoods.

Check if this report is part of a series.

If a report is part of a series, include that after the title, concluding with a period. Continue the citation as before, with the website or organization, date, and URL.

Bibliography Example:
Adams, Brian, and Randal Verbrugge. Location, Location, Structure Type: Rent Divergence within Neighborhoods. Working Paper 533. United States Department of Labor. December 9, 2020. https://www.bls.gov/osmr/research-papers/2020/pdf/ec200150.pdf.

Reports may include a suggested citation. Be aware that this may not be in the appropriate style you need. This example is not in Chicago style.

In the note, list both authors' names in normal order, separated by the word and. If there are three or more authors, list the first author's name in normal order, followed by the abbreviation et al. Separate each citation component with a comma.

Note Example:
Adams and Verbrugge found a segmented housing market in their review of rent inflations.⁴

4. Brian Adams and Randal Verbrugge, Location, Location, Structure Type: Rent Divergence within Neighborhoods, Working Paper 533, United States Department of Labor, December 9, 2020, https://www.bls.gov/osmr/research-papers/2020/pdf/ec200150.pdf.

Alphabetize bibliography entries by the first word, skipping initial articles such as A, An, or The. The bibliography should be single spaced. Format each citation with a hanging indent and include a blank line between each citation.

If you cite the same source multiple times in your paper, you may use shortened notes. After the first full note in your paper, you may use the author’s last name, a shortened version of the title, and the page number you are referring to. Many webpages do not have page numbers, so you do not need to include those. If the note does not have an author, begin just with the webpage.

For more examples and additional guidance for citing internet resources, including books, videos, and articles found online, visit the Tyree Library's Chicago Citation guide. This can be found by visiting the Library's website, clicking Guides, How-To Guides, and then Chicago Citation Guide. Be sure to choose the Notes & Bibliography section.

This concludes the video tutorial on citing internet resources using Chicago Notes & Bibliography style. If you'd like to learn more or need assistance, a librarian would be happy to help.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library