Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Guide

Webpages / Web Documents

Bibliography Template

Author. "Webpage Title." Website. Date. URL.

Bibliography Examples

Mark, Joshua J. "Socrates." Ancient History Encyclopedia. September 2, 2009. https://www.ancient.eu/socrates/.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. "Ethical Principles in the Allocation of Human Organs." Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network. June 2015. https://optn.transplant.hrsa.gov/resources/ethics/ethical-principles-in-the-allocation-of-human-organs/.

If there is no date, include an accessed date:

Micallef, Joseph V. "Origins of the July Crisis: Lighting the Fuse." Military.com. Accessed January 4, 2018. https://www.military.com/history/world-war-i-july-crisis.html.


Note Template

1 Author, "Webpage Title," Website, Date, URL.

Note Examples

1 Joshua J. Mark, "Socrates," Ancient History Encyclopedia, published September 2, 2009, https://www.ancient.eu/socrates/.

2 U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, "Ethical Principles in the Allocation of Human Organs," Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network, updated June 2015, https://optn.transplant.hrsa.gov/resources/ethics/ethical-principles-in-the-allocation-of-human-organs/.

3 Joseph V. Micallef, "Origins of the July Crisis: Lighting the Fuse," Military.com, accessed January 4, 2018, https://www.military.com/history/world-war-i-july-crisis.html.

Blog Posts

Bibliography Template

Author. "Title of Blog Post." Blog Title (blog). Sponsor, Date. URL.

Bibliography Example

Wade, Lisa. "Race-Based Activism is Changing College Campuses." Sociological Images (blog). The Society Pages, April 19, 2016. http://thesocietypages.org/socimages/2016/04/19/college-presidents-say-that-race-based-activism-is-changing-their-campuses/.


Note Template

1 Author, "Title of Blog Post," Blog Title (blog), Sponsor, Date, URL.

Note Example

1 Lisa Wade, "Race-Based Activism is Changing College Campuses," Sociological Images (blog), The Society Pages, April 19, 2016, http://thesocietypages.org/socimages/2016/04/19/college-presidents-say-that-race-based-activism-is-changing-their-campuses/.

Government Reports

Bibliography Template

Author. Title of Report. Report number. Website. Date. URL.

Bibliography Example

Cahill, Kevin E., Michael D. Giandrea, and Joseph F. Quinn. How Does Occupational Status Impact Bridge Job Prevalence? BLS Working Paper 447. Bureau of Labor Statistics. July 2011. https://www.bls.gov/osmr/pdf/ec110050.pdf.


Note Template

1 Author, Title of Report, Report number, Website, Date, URL.

Note Example

1 Kevin E. Cahill, Michael D. Giandrea, and Joseph F. Quinn, How Does Occupational Status Impact Bridge Job Prevalence?, BLS Working Paper 447, Bureau of Labor Statistics, July 2011, https://www.bls.gov/osmr/pdf/ec110050.pdf.

Email

Bibliography Template

No bibliography entry needed. Simply use a note.

Note Example

1 John Smith, email message to author, September 17, 2017.

Social Media

Bibliography Template

Author (username). "Text of post." Website, Date. URL.

Bibliography Examples

Santa Fe College. “Students are now eligible to receive federal Pell grant funds for the summer term. Find out how.” Facebook, September 4, 2017. https://www.facebook.com/santafecollege/posts/10155020259358224.

Pope Francis (@Pontifex). “I encourage world leaders to set aside partisan and ideological interests and seek together the common good of all humanity.” Twitter, September 12, 2017, 4:30 a.m. https://twitter.com/Pontifex/status/907566964431835136.


Note Template

1 Author (username), "Text of post," Website, Date, URL.

Note Examples

1 Santa Fe College, “Students are now eligible to receive federal Pell grant funds for the summer term. Find out how,” Facebook, September 4, 2017, https://www.facebook.com/santafecollege/posts/10155020259358224.

2 Pope Francis (@Pontifex), “I encourage world leaders to set aside partisan and ideological interests and seek together the common good of all humanity,” Twitter, September 12, 2017, 4:30 a.m., https://twitter.com/Pontifex/status/907566964431835136.