Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Guide

Videos (VHS/DVD/Blu-Ray)

Bibliography Template

Director, dir. Title of Film. Film release date; Location: Publisher, Video release date. Format.

Bibliography Example

Jenkins, Barry, dir. Moonlight. 2016; Santa Monica, CA: Lionsgate, 2017. Blu-ray Disc.


Note Template

1 Director, dir., Title of Film (Film release date; Location: Publisher, Video release date), Format.

Note Example

1 Barry Jenkins, dir., Moonlight (2016; Santa Monica, CA: Lionsgate, 2017), Blu-ray Disc.

Online Videos (e.g., YouTube, TED)

Bibliography Template

Creator. "Title of Video." Date. Format, Length. URL.

Bibliography Examples

Khan Academy. "Ancient China." January 25, 2017. YouTube video, 7:27. https://youtu.be/g9SGpnheXek.

Pariser, Eli. "Beware 'Online Filter Bubbles.'" Filmed March 2011. TED video, 9:04. https://www.ted.com/talks/eli_pariser_beware_online_filter_bubbles.


Note Template

1 Creator, "Title of Video," Date, Format, Length, URL.

Note Examples

1 Khan Academy, "Ancient China," January 25, 2017, YouTube video, 7:27, https://youtu.be/g9SGpnheXek.

2 Eli Pariser, "Beware 'Online Filter Bubbles,'" filmed March 2011, TED video, 9:04,  https://www.ted.com/talks/eli_pariser_beware_online_filter_bubbles.

Streaming Videos (e.g., Netflix, Films on Demand)

Bibliography Template

Creator. Title of Video. Date. Format. URL (if possible).

Bibliography Examples

PBS. Bird Genius. 2014. Films on Demand video. http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=99198&xtid=131254.

Foster, Jodie, dir. Black Mirror. Season 4, episode 2, "Arkangel." Aired December 29, 2017, on Netflix.


Note Template

1 Creator, Title of Video, Date, Format, URL.

Note Examples

1 PBS, Bird Genius, 2014, Films on Demand video, http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=99198&xtid=131254.

2 Jodie Foster, dir., Black Mirror, season 4, episode 2, "Arkangel," aired December 29, 2017, on Netflix.

Television Episodes

Bibliography Template

Director. Title of Show. Season, Episode, "Episode Title." Aired Date, on Network. URL (if possible).

Bibliography Examples

Foster, Jodie, dir. Black Mirror. Season 4, episode 2, "Arkangel." Aired December 29, 2017, on Netflix.

Weiner, Matthew, dir. Mad Men. Season 7, episode 14, "Person to Person." Aired May 17, 2015, on AMC.


Note Template

1 Creator, Title of Video, Date, Format, URL.

Note Examples

1 Jodie Foster, dir., Black Mirror, season 4, episode 2, "Arkangel," aired December 29, 2017, on Netflix.

2 Matthew Weiner, dir., Mad Men, season 7, episode 14, "Person to Person," aired May 17, 2015, on AMC.

Interviews

Bibliography Template

Use for retrievable interviews only. Personal interviews should be cited in notes only.

Interviewee. Interview by Interviewer. Title of Show, Date. URL.

Bibliography Example

Yousafzai, Malala. Interview by Diane Sawyer. ABC World News, October 7, 2013. http://abcnews.go.com/WNT/video/diane-sawyer-sits-inspirational-malala-yousafzai-20499735.


Note Template

1 Interviewee, interview by Interviewer, Title of Show, Date, URL.

Note Examples

1 Malala Yousafzai, interview by Diane Sawyer, ABC World News, October 7, 2013, http://abcnews.go.com/WNT/video/diane-sawyer-sits-inspirational-malala-yousafzai-20499735.

2 John Smith (principal of Jones High School), in discussion with the author, September 2017.

Music Recordings

Bibliography Template

Vocalist/Artist. Title of Album. Label, Date, Format.

Vocalist/Artist. "Title of Song." By Writers (if different). Track on Album. Label, Date, Format.

Bibliography Examples

Adele. 21. XL/Columbia, 2011, compact disc.

Adele, vocalist. "Set Fire to the Rain." By Adele and Fraser T. Smith. Track 5 on 21. XL/Columbia, 2011, MP3 audio.

U2. "With or Without You." Spotify. Track 3 on The Joshua Tree. Island, 1987.


Note Template

1 Vocalist/Artist, Title of Album, Label, Date, Format.

2 Vocalist/Artist, "Title of Song," by Writers (if different), Track on Album, Label, Date, Format.

Note Examples

1 Adele, 21, XL/Columbia, 2011, compact disc.

2 Adele, vocalist, "Set Fire to the Rain," by Adele and Fraser T. Smith, track 5 on 21, XL/Columbia, 2011, compact disc.

3 U2, "With or Without You," Spotify, track 3 on The Joshua Tree, Island, 1987.

Podcasts

Bibliography Template

Host. "Title of Episode." Title of Show, Date. Podcast, Format, Length. URL.

Bibliography Example

McElroy, Sydnee and Justin McElroy. "The Presidential Fitness Test." Sawbones, September 17, 2017. Podcast, MP3 audio, 36:03. http://www.maximumfun.org/sawbones/sawbones-presidential-physical-fitness-test.


Note Template

1 Host, "Title of Episode," Date in Title of Show, podcast, Format, Length, URL.

Note Example

1 Sydnee McElroy and Justin McElroy, "The Presidential Fitness Test," September 17, 2017 in Sawbones, podcast, MP3 audio, 36:03, http://www.maximumfun.org/sawbones/sawbones-presidential-physical-fitness-test.

Artwork

Bibliography Template

Artist. Title of Work. Date. Medium information. Location. URL.

Bibliography Examples

Frelinghuysen, Suzy. Cubist Still Life. 1943. 9 × 13.” Harn Museum of Art, Gainesville, FL.

Turner, Joseph Mallord William. The Lake of Zug. 1843. Watercolor over graphite, 11 3/4 x 18 3/8” (29.8 x 46.6 cm). The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/337499.


Note Template

1 Artist, Title of Work, Date, Medium information, Location, URL.

Note Examples

1 Suzy Frelinghuysen, Cubist Still Life, 1943, 9 × 13”, Harn Museum of Art.

2 Joseph Mallord William Turner, The Lake of Zug, 1843, watercolor over graphite, 11 3/4 x 18 3/8” (29.8 x 46.6 cm), The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/337499.