Skip to Main Content

Faculty Services

Online Resources

Synchronous/Asynchronous Library Instruction

Librarians can provide a synchronous webinar instruction session via Zoom, or can develop a specialized Canvas module that aligns with your course research assignments. You may request a session using the instruction form.

Online Library Materials

The Library offers more than 80,000 eBooks and 37,000 streaming videos, located in the library catalog, and access to articles and other subscription content via the library databases. Please reach out to your library liaison to inquire about obtaining access to eBooks or streaming videos not currently in the collection.

Tutorials and Guides

There are a wide variety of guides and video tutorials available online which can be linked within Canvas. Please reach out to your library liaison if you would like to request a tutorial or guide.

Research Help

Librarians are available to answer research and resource questions, as well as consult on integrating library resources or instruction in your course. Remote options include phone, text, email, chat, and Zoom. View the Research Help page in order to contact a librarian, or contact your library liaison directly.

Resources for the SF Centers

In addition to the variety of online resources and services, there are also specific library services available to students, faculty, and staff at the Centers.

Library Instruction

Librarians are available to travel to any SF Center to provide library instruction for courses, including SLS1101 and evening classes. You may request a session using the instruction form.

Item Delivery

Physical materials, including books and videos, can be sent to any SF Center. Locate an item in the library catalog and Sign In with your Office 365 account. Next, click the Place a Hold link and select your Center under Pickup Location. View the Item Delivery to the Centers video tutorial for more information. Items should be available within 2-3 business days at your requested Center's reception desk. When you are finished, return the items to to the same location.

Item Delivery to the Centers from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

Hello! This video tutorial will demonstrate how to have items from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library sent to you at your Center for pickup and return.

The Tyree Library on the Northwest Campus has many physical resources, including books and videos. However, you do not need to physically travel to Gainesville to use these items. Instead, you may request items be delivered to your Center.

Use the library catalog to find items about your topic. To access the library catalog, click the Catalog link under the photo of the Library. You can also use the quick search box on the front page of the library website.

Type your topic in the search box. Use as few words as possible in order to receive the best search results. For more instructions on searching the library catalog, view our Library Catalog tutorial.

The library collection includes a variety of formats, including physical books, eBooks, videos, and streaming videos. Each result includes a header that indicates its format.

Items with an Available Online link can be read or watched online from any location. Click the link for access information.

Books and videos with a collection and call number are physically present at the Northwest Campus Tyree Library. You may request items in most collections, including the Circulating, Youth, New Books, Media, Audiobooks, and CD collections. Click the title to learn more about the item and to begin the process of requesting it.

You may want to double check that the item is available on the shelf before requesting it. If an item is already checked out, you will have a longer wait before it is delivered.

Click the Sign in link to request the item.

On the next screen, choose the Office 365 option.

Sign in, if prompted, using your Office 365 account. You might not see this screen if you are logged in elsewhere to Canvas or your Office 365 email.

Once you are signed in, you will now see the option to Place a hold.

Choose your Center under Pickup Location and then Send Request. You do not need to include the pickup date or add a comment; these are optional.

Your item should be available at your Center within three business days. You can pick it up at your Center’s reception desk. When you are finished with the item, return it to your Center’s reception desk.

If you need the item for longer, you can renew it for another two weeks online. Before the due date, in the library catalog, click your name and then My Loans.

On this screen, you can see what items you have checked out and when they are due. You will also be able to renew the items here.

Items in the Reference, Ready Reference, and Reserves collections do not leave the Tyree Library and do not have an option to place a hold. If you need information from an item in one of those collections, please call the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409.

This concludes the video tutorial on item delivery to the Centers. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library