Need Help?
What Are Databases?
Articles will provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.
Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.
Key Databases
These databases are recommended for researching topics within health services administration. Read the descriptions to locate the best database for your research. Then, click the access link, log in, and search for your topic.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles from many of the most important business publications. Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, journal articles, and more. This is an excellent database in which to begin any business research.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new windowDesigned to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. Topics include hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, public health administration, and more. Contents include around 800 key journals and over 4,500 doctoral dissertations and theses.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains articles from core scholarly medical journals, including all health science areas and veterinary medicine. This is the best database the Library offers for medical research.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new windowContains well-organized information on companies and industries. Includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowOffers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Best medical database provided by the Library for students who are not in a health sciences program; health science students will also find it useful. Offers an easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, and informational pamphlets. Includes specialized searches for diseases and conditions, drugs, mental health, therapies, and treatments and surgeries.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Contains current and archived full-text news articles from over 12,000 titles, including newspapers, newswires, interview transcripts, and blogs. Includes The Gainesville Sun.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
Individual Journal Titles
You may decide to browse specific journals to look for articles of interest. The following online journals titles are recommended for HSA research.
- American Journal of Public Health1975 - present
- CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing2002 - present
- Health Economics1996 - present
- Health Facilities Management2004 - present
- Health Services Research2002 - present
- HIM Briefings2013 - present
- Hospital Topics1998 - present
- HR Magazine1994 - present
- Journal of AHIMA2008 - present
- Journal of Healthcare Management1987 - present
- Medical Care Research and Review1999 - present
- MGMA Connexion2004 - present
- Modern Healthcare1999 - present
- The New England Journal of Medicine1980 - 3 months ago
- Nursing Management2001 - present
- Health Services Administration CommonsA collection of journal articles and publications from a variety of sources.