Skip to main content

Surgical Technology

Accessing Databases

The best way to find journal articles on a topic is to use the Library's databases. The library databases are only available to Santa Fe College students and employees. To access the databases, click the databases link on the Library's homepage or at the top of this guide. When you do this, you'll be prompted to log in.

If you need assistance logging in, please call the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409. The databases can also be accessed via eSantaFe

The next section presents a tutorial on the process of locating and accessing the library databases.

Accessing Library Databases Video Tutorial

Accessing Library Databases from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access library databases to locate articles and other subscription content.

To access library databases and read articles, click the gray Databases button at on the library website.

‚ÄčYou may also access this link through eSantaFe by clicking Study Tools and Library Databases, or through eStaff by clicking Additional Information and Library Databases.

The database listings can be navigated several different ways. First, the Library lists its Recommended Databases. These are databases that are used frequently and are good places to start research.

If you know the name of a database, you can find it alphabetically in the main list. Either scroll down, or use the linked letter shortcuts to navigate more efficiently.

You can also limit databases by subject by clicking the All Subjects drop-down and choosing a relevant subject category. This will show you subject-specific databases that are more likely to contain relevant articles for your topic.

In a subject category, pay attention to databases listed in the box labeledBest Bets. These are particularly useful databases within this category that are recommended by the librarians.

While most library databases contain mainly articles, some contain eBooks or digital content such as music or artwork.

Regardless of how you locate a database, click the title to access it. Many databases will also have a tutorial link, which will show you how to search and navigate the database.

To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.

This concludes the video tutorial on accessing library databases. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window

A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.


CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window

CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. For research in the areas of nursing or the allied health disciplines, this is the best database the Library offers.


Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window

Best medical database the Library offers for students who are not in a health sciences program; health science students will also find it useful. Offers an easy-to-use interface with access to full text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Includes specialized searches for diseases/conditions, drugs & herbal remedies, and alternative health.


MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.


ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window

Provides access to the Health and Life Sciences - College Edition collection from Elsevier, including over 1,000 academic journals.


Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This is an excellent choice to locate systematic reviews in health care.


Health and Medicine (Gale)This link opens in a new window

Provides access to full text nursing and allied health journals. Offers a powerful subject guide search that utilizes subject headings and sub-headings to pinpoint relevant full text results.


Medicine eJournal Collection (Springer) This link opens in a new window

This sub-collection from SpringerLink provides full text access to medical journal articles. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.


Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Provides full text from over 1,300 Wiley e-journals, spanning many subject areas. Includes many health sciences titles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes scholarly information on the Web. Although much of the content you retrieve using Google Scholar is not available as free full text, you can use Google Scholar to search across most of the Tyree Library's databases. To set up Scholar to show SF Holdings, use the following steps:

  1. Click the three horizontal bars on the top left corner of the screen:
  2. Depending on your screen, you may see a gear icon, the word Settings, or both: Screenshot of Google's gear icon
    Click this link.
  3. On the left side of the next screen, choose Library Links.
  4. In the search box type Santa Fe College and click Find Library.
  5. Choose Santa Fe College - Full Text @ Santa Fe and click Save.

In the results list, look for items that are marked as Full Text @ Santa Fe. Clicking on the Full Text @ Santa Fe link will allow you to log in to access the article through a library database.