Skip to main content

Surgical Technology

Tutorials Introduction

This page includes all of the tutorials included in this guide.

Library Catalog Video Tutorial

Library Catalog from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will introduce you to using the library catalog to locate items held by the Lawrence W. Tyree Library at Santa Fe College.

To access the Library Catalog, click the Catalog link under the photo of the Library. This will take you to the library catalog's basic search screen.

The catalog has many different ways to search. For information on a topic, choose Keyword. If you know the title or author of an item, choose Title or Author. If you know the Library of Congress subject heading for your topic, choose Subject Heading. Using subject headings will give you more precise search results than using keywords. Most searches will use one of these four search methods.

Let's search for a topic. Since we don't know the Library of Congress subject heading, we are going to do a keyword search. Our topic is wind energy, so type these keywords into the search box and click Search.

The number of matching results is displayed under the search bar.

Icons in each record will show if it is a book, an eBook, or another format such as a streaming video.

Let’s take a look at the result Wind Energy for the Rest of Us: A Comprehensive Guide to Wind Power and How to Use It. We can learn a lot about this item from the results screen by looking at the bottom of its record.

Santa Fe/Northwest Campus Circulating indicates that this book is in our library on the Northwest Campus and is part of the Circulating Collection, meaning that it can be checked out of the library.

Available indicates that this book is available for check out and should be on the shelves. If the book was already checked out, a due date would show here.

To find this book on the shelf, you need its call number. The call number for this book is TJ820 .G562 2016. The call number includes everything from the first letter to the date. To see where this call number is located in the library, click the Map It button.

The map will pop up in new window and shows that this book is located on the 3rd floor. The highlighted area indicates where to find this book on the 3rd floor. All of the books on the 3rd floor may be checked out.

To learn even more about this book, click the title to view the complete record.

The full record contains information about the author, title, and publication information. Some records contain a table of contents and a summary of the item.

Scroll down to the bottom of the record to view the Library of Congress subject headings. These are the more precise terms to search. In this case, the main subject headings are wind power and wind turbines. To get better search results, search one of these terms as a Subject Heading.

The library catalog offers many ways to refine your search. On the left side of the results page, use the options under Format to limit your search to a specific format such as online resources, media, or streaming video. If you choose "streaming video," for example, you will fine many online videos on the topic of wind energy. These and other online resources do require that you login with your Santa Fe account

This concludes the video tutorial on using the library catalog. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Accessing Library Databases Video Tutorial

Accessing Library Databases from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access library databases to locate articles and other subscription content.

To access library databases and read articles, click the gray Databases button at on the library website.

You may also access this link through eSantaFe by clicking Study Tools and Library Databases, or through eStaff by clicking Additional Information and Library Databases.

The database listings can be navigated several different ways. First, the Library lists its Recommended Databases. These are databases that are used frequently and are good places to start research.

If you know the name of a database, you can find it alphabetically in the main list. Either scroll down, or use the linked letter shortcuts to navigate more efficiently.

You can also limit databases by subject by clicking the All Subjects drop-down and choosing a relevant subject category. This will show you subject-specific databases that are more likely to contain relevant articles for your topic.

In a subject category, pay attention to databases listed in the box labeledBest Bets. These are particularly useful databases within this category that are recommended by the librarians.

While most library databases contain mainly articles, some contain eBooks or digital content such as music or artwork.

Regardless of how you locate a database, click the title to access it. Many databases will also have a tutorial link, which will show you how to search and navigate the database.

To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.

This concludes the video tutorial on accessing library databases. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings

Using the CINAHL/MeSH Headings Feature in EBSCOhost

CINAHL and MeSH Subject Headings are assigned based on article content and help you retrieve more relevant results. In this tutorial, we will look at how to search using the CINAHL Headings feature. The functionality demonstrated is identical to that when searching MeSH headings in the MEDLINE databases.

We'll begin by searching for Subject Headings. Check the Suggest Terms box, then enter your term, such as catheter infections, in the search box, and click Search. You can also click on the CINAHL Subject Headings or MeSH link along the top toolbar which will also bring you to the Headings screen. A list of appropriate CINAHL headings, or subject terms, appears, defaulted to Relevancy Ranked. Your search term also appears at the bottom of the list with the option to search it as a keyword. To the right of the subject terms list is a Major Concept option which, when selected, will restrict results to those articles in which your chosen subject is a major focus. For details about this option, click on the Help icon beside it.

Click on a scope note icon in the Scope column to view the scope note for a subject term. The Tree Views, or hierarchical arrangement of subject headings, are displayed when you click the subject heading. Click the Back to Term List link to return to your list of subject terms. Check the box of a subject term to view the Subheadings, which may be selected to further refine the subject. If a subheading is not selected, all of the subheadings are searched.

When you check a subject term, it is added to the Search Term Builder box. In this example, we have selected the subject heading Catheter-Related Infections with the subheadings of Complications or Drug Therapy or Education. As you select subject headings and subheadings, your search strategy is added to the Search Term Builder box. Remove unwanted terms by clicking the red X next to the term. To browse for additional terms to add to your search, click the Browse Additional Terms link, or after making your selections, click on the Search Database button.

In this example, we will add more terms to our search. You are returned to the browse terms screen. A note lets you know that your previously selected terms have been retained enabling you to continue building your search. Next we will browse for Urinary Infections to add to our search. The list of subject headings relevant to urinary infections is displayed. Click on the term to view the Tree Views or check the box to view all Subheadings. The option to Explode is present for this term, as there is a narrower term 'under' Urinary Tract Infections - Bacteriuria. The Explode option, when selected, will search not only Urinary Tract Infections but also the more specific term of Bacteriuria. If a comprehensive subject search of all types of Urinary Tract infections is wanted, we select the Explode option. If desired, Major Concept and specific subheadings could be selected.

In this example, we will select Explode, select to combine the searches with AND, and click the Search Database button. On the result list, the search is displayed in the search box. Click the Search History link below the search box to open the Search History/Alerts window. From the Search History/Alerts window you can edit the search by clicking Edit. You can also save and edit Search Alerts. Click the Help link to view the complete online Help system.

EBSCOHealth

For more information, visit EBSCO Connect .

PubMed Video Tutorial

PubMed from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access articles from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library using PubMed.

PubMed is a public medical database provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. To see library holdings in PubMed, you must use a special PubMed link found in the Library’s A-Z Databases list. To access this list, click the grey Databases button on the library website.

PubMed is listed alphabetically on the A-Z Databases page, or under the Health & Medicine and Nursing & Allied Health subject categories. To access this database, click its title.

To perform a basic search, enter your keywords into the search box. If you are not sure which keywords to use, consider using the MeSH Database to search for the best terminology. For this example, the keyword phrase is peanut hypersensitivity.

In the results, some articles will be noted as Free Article or Free PMC Article. These articles are freely available on the Web. Other articles may be available through the Library’s subscriptions. To see full text options, click the title of an article.

Look for the Full text links section on the right side of the screen. Click the Full Text @ SF link to determine if an article is available in full text from the Library.

After clicking the Full Text @ SF link, you will be prompted to log in. Your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number without the hyphen. Your PIN is the last 4 digits of your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number.

If full text is available, you will be taken directly to the article.

If full text is not available, you will be taken to a page that provides you with the option to request the article through interlibrary loan. If you would like to try to get this article from another library, click Submit an ILL request for this item.

This takes you to an interlibrary loan request form with the article information already pre-populated. Fill in the section at the top of the form, and then click Submit. Library staff will contact you when the article is available. Please allow up to one week processing time.

This concludes the video tutorial on accessing articles through PubMed. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

PubMed Advanced Search

PubMed Advanced Search Builder

This video demonstrates how to use the PubMed Advanced Search Builder, a good way to refine your PubMed searches.

I'll start by clicking Advanced on the PubMed homepage and selecting MeSH Terms from the All Fields menu. When I start to type my first term, hyperglycemia, the autocomplete feature offers possible MeSH Terms based on my entry. I'll select hyperglycemia. Notice that terms entered in the builder are automatically added to the box above.

I'll add another term to my search by typing newborn on the second line. The default Boolean operator is AND; if desired, choose OR or NOT from the pull-down menu.

Click ‚Add to history’ to display the result count for the search thus far; this is like using the Preview button on other advanced search pages. ‚Add to history’ also allows me to temporarily store this search for use in subsequent searches. To permanently store the search, click on the search number in History. You can then choose, Save in MyNCBI. If I click ‘Add’, my search is added to the search builder.

I'll continue to add terms by choosing MeSH Subheading in the next builder box. To see an alphabetical list of all terms in this search field, I'll click ‘Show index list.’ Scroll until you find the correct term and then highlight it to add it to the search box. I'll select drug therapy.

To clean up the page a bit, I'll click ‘Hide index list.’ If you are ready to retrieve your records, click ‘Search.’ If not, there are a few ways you can edit the search.

You can continue to add terms, you can use the ‘-’ icon to remove a specific term, or use the Clear link to completely start over. If you want to manually change the Search Builder field, use Edit. Note that once you click edit, the Builder section disappears, because it can no longer control the search. However, your previous work is not lost. You can click Cancel to add the Builder back to the page, and History is still available.

Give the Advanced Search Builder a try with your searches, and if you have comments or questions, use the link "Write to the Help Desk."

Visit us at: www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

PubMed Filters Sidebar

PubMed: The Filters Sidebar

Limits where you need them

This short video demonstrates how to use the PubMed filter sidebar. These filters replace the Limits page, bringing the same functionality as Limits directly to your search results page.

My example search uses the query, cancer. In the sidebar you see a default set of filter categories. To change this list, click "Show additional filters," select the desired categories, and then click Show. Note that ‘Article types’ and ‘Publication dates’ cannot be removed.

To narrow my search results, I'll filter for articles of type, Clinical Trial, and for those published in the last 5 years. A "Filters activated" message appears. Just as with limits, once a filter is active, it remains in effect for subsequent searches until it is cleared. You can clear active filters in several ways. Use the "Clear all" links, the "clear" link for all filters within a category, or click an active filter.

Within a category, applying additional filters actually expands your search rather than narrows it. This is because the additional filter is included as an OR term. For example, adding Review expands my results today from more than 27,000 to more than 104,000. If you wanted to narrow your search with Review, use Search Details to change the OR to an AND. I'll leave Review as it is for now.

Notice that only valid filter options for your particular result set are available. For example, I'll add Legal Cases under Article types. Now when I uncheck Review, the Legal Cases filter disappears, because none of the citations in this smaller set are tagged with type, Legal Cases.

Your feedback and questions are welcome. Please use the "Write to the Help Desk" link near the bottom of the page.

Visit us at: www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Google Scholar Video Tutorial

Google Scholar from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access database holdings from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library using Google Scholar.

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that allows you to search for scholarly information, including articles, scholarly books, and other types of publications. Not everything indexed in Google Scholar has the full text available. However, you can increase your full-text results by adding Santa Fe College as your library.

To access Google Scholar, direct your Web browser to scholar.google.com.

At the top left of the page, click the three line horizontal icon, and choose Settings. On the next screen, click Library links.

On the Library links page, type Santa Fe College in the search box, and press the Enter key. In the resulting list, select Santa Fe College – Full Text @ Santa Fe, and then click Save.

Saving your settings takes you back to the Scholar search screen. Enter your search statement in the box provided and press the Enter key. For this example, the search statement is “mindfulness meditation” AND anxiety.

The next screen is the results list. If you see a Full Text @ Santa Fe link to the right of an article, the Tyree Library has access to that article. Click the Full Text @ Santa Fe link.

To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.

You will be taken to the full text of the article. In some databases, you may have to click Full Text links to view the article.

Articles with other links in the far right column are freely available online. As with any link to a file found on the Web, be cautious. If you do not recognize the source of the link, you probably should not click it. Instead, contact a librarian for assistance.

If an article does not have a link in the right column, the full text is not currently available. To request a full-text copy of the article, please contact a librarian.

This concludes the video tutorial on accessing the Tyree Library's database holdings through Google Scholar. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library