Skip to main content

Surgical Technology

PubMed

PubMed is a free online database provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information that indexes health literature. Although much of the content is not available in full text, there are many journal articles available through PubMed Central

You can also use the Tyree Library's PubMed link to see if full text is available through our library subscriptions. Use the Full Text @ SF button to see if an article you find in PubMed is available in full text from the Tyree Library. The PubMed tutorial below provides additional information on how to do this.

PubMed Video Tutorial

PubMed from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to access articles from the Lawrence W. Tyree Library using PubMed.

PubMed is a public medical database provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. To see library holdings in PubMed, you must use a special PubMed link found in the Library’s A-Z Databases list. To access this list, click the grey Databases button on the library website.

PubMed is listed alphabetically on the A-Z Databases page, or under the Health & Medicine and Nursing & Allied Health subject categories. To access this database, click its title.

To perform a basic search, enter your keywords into the search box. If you are not sure which keywords to use, consider using the MeSH Database to search for the best terminology. For this example, the keyword phrase is peanut hypersensitivity.

In the results, some articles will be noted as Free Article or Free PMC Article. These articles are freely available on the Web. Other articles may be available through the Library’s subscriptions. To see full text options, click the title of an article.

Look for the Full text links section on the right side of the screen. Click the Full Text @ SF link to determine if an article is available in full text from the Library.

After clicking the Full Text @ SF link, you will be prompted to log in. Your Borrower ID is your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number without the hyphen. Your PIN is the last 4 digits of your 8-digit Santa Fe ID number.

If full text is available, you will be taken directly to the article.

If full text is not available, you will be taken to a page that provides you with the option to request the article through interlibrary loan. If you would like to try to get this article from another library, click Submit an ILL request for this item.

This takes you to an interlibrary loan request form with the article information already pre-populated. Fill in the section at the top of the form, and then click Submit. Library staff will contact you when the article is available. Please allow up to one week processing time.

This concludes the video tutorial on accessing articles through PubMed. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

PubMed Advanced Search

PubMed Advanced Search Builder

This video demonstrates how to use the PubMed Advanced Search Builder, a good way to refine your PubMed searches.

I'll start by clicking Advanced on the PubMed homepage and selecting MeSH Terms from the All Fields menu. When I start to type my first term, hyperglycemia, the autocomplete feature offers possible MeSH Terms based on my entry. I'll select hyperglycemia. Notice that terms entered in the builder are automatically added to the box above.

I'll add another term to my search by typing newborn on the second line. The default Boolean operator is AND; if desired, choose OR or NOT from the pull-down menu.

Click ‚Add to history’ to display the result count for the search thus far; this is like using the Preview button on other advanced search pages. ‚Add to history’ also allows me to temporarily store this search for use in subsequent searches. To permanently store the search, click on the search number in History. You can then choose, Save in MyNCBI. If I click ‘Add’, my search is added to the search builder.

I'll continue to add terms by choosing MeSH Subheading in the next builder box. To see an alphabetical list of all terms in this search field, I'll click ‘Show index list.’ Scroll until you find the correct term and then highlight it to add it to the search box. I'll select drug therapy.

To clean up the page a bit, I'll click ‘Hide index list.’ If you are ready to retrieve your records, click ‘Search.’ If not, there are a few ways you can edit the search.

You can continue to add terms, you can use the ‘-’ icon to remove a specific term, or use the Clear link to completely start over. If you want to manually change the Search Builder field, use Edit. Note that once you click edit, the Builder section disappears, because it can no longer control the search. However, your previous work is not lost. You can click Cancel to add the Builder back to the page, and History is still available.

Give the Advanced Search Builder a try with your searches, and if you have comments or questions, use the link "Write to the Help Desk."

Visit us at: www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

PubMed Filters Sidebar

PubMed: The Filters Sidebar

Limits where you need them

This short video demonstrates how to use the PubMed filter sidebar. These filters replace the Limits page, bringing the same functionality as Limits directly to your search results page.

My example search uses the query, cancer. In the sidebar you see a default set of filter categories. To change this list, click "Show additional filters," select the desired categories, and then click Show. Note that ‘Article types’ and ‘Publication dates’ cannot be removed.

To narrow my search results, I'll filter for articles of type, Clinical Trial, and for those published in the last 5 years. A "Filters activated" message appears. Just as with limits, once a filter is active, it remains in effect for subsequent searches until it is cleared. You can clear active filters in several ways. Use the "Clear all" links, the "clear" link for all filters within a category, or click an active filter.

Within a category, applying additional filters actually expands your search rather than narrows it. This is because the additional filter is included as an OR term. For example, adding Review expands my results today from more than 27,000 to more than 104,000. If you wanted to narrow your search with Review, use Search Details to change the OR to an AND. I'll leave Review as it is for now.

Notice that only valid filter options for your particular result set are available. For example, I'll add Legal Cases under Article types. Now when I uncheck Review, the Legal Cases filter disappears, because none of the citations in this smaller set are tagged with type, Legal Cases.

Your feedback and questions are welcome. Please use the "Write to the Help Desk" link near the bottom of the page.

Visit us at: www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Google Search Tip

Although you should primarily use library databases for your research, there are times when it may be more appropriate to use a document from the web. Because most information on the web has not gone through the extensive review process that books and journal articles do, it is important that you verify that the information you find has come from a reliable source. 

One way to do this is to only retrieve articles from U.S. government websites. You can do this by adding site:gov to the end of your Google search. 

Screenshot of Google search immunizations statistics site:gov

Evaluating Websites

Use the following evaluation questions to determine if websites are appropriate for college-level research.

Who?

  • Who is the author of this page?
  • Are the author's qualifications clearly stated?
  • Is the author separate from the "webmaster"?
  • Can the author be contacted for clarification?

What?

  • What is the purpose of this site?
  • What topics are covered?
  • What goals/objectives does this resource meet?
  • What opinions are expressed?
  • What is the context in which the information is provided?

When?

  • When was this site created?
  • When was it last updated?

Where?

  • Where did the writers obtain their information? Are citations included?
  • What institution published this? Are they reputable?
  • Where can I verify this information?

Why?

  • Why is this information useful?
  • Why is this page better than other pages on this topic?