Skip to main content

Surgical Technology

Books

Although your studies will primarily rely on journal articles, the Library offers many books and eBooks that supplement your textbooks. To search for books and eBooks, you will primarily use the library catalog. 

Library Catalog Video Tutorial

Library Catalog from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will introduce you to using the library catalog to locate items held by the Lawrence W. Tyree Library at Santa Fe College.

To access the Library Catalog, click the Catalog link under the photo of the Library. This will take you to the library catalog's basic search screen.

The catalog has many different ways to search. For information on a topic, choose Keyword. If you know the title or author of an item, choose Title or Author. If you know the Library of Congress subject heading for your topic, choose Subject Heading. Using subject headings will give you more precise search results than using keywords. Most searches will use one of these four search methods.

Let's search for a topic. Since we don't know the Library of Congress subject heading, we are going to do a keyword search. Our topic is wind energy, so type these keywords into the search box and click Search.

The number of matching results is displayed under the search bar.

Icons in each record will show if it is a book, an eBook, or another format such as a streaming video.

Let’s take a look at the result Wind Energy for the Rest of Us: A Comprehensive Guide to Wind Power and How to Use It. We can learn a lot about this item from the results screen by looking at the bottom of its record.

Santa Fe/Northwest Campus Circulating indicates that this book is in our library on the Northwest Campus and is part of the Circulating Collection, meaning that it can be checked out of the library.

Available indicates that this book is available for check out and should be on the shelves. If the book was already checked out, a due date would show here.

To find this book on the shelf, you need its call number. The call number for this book is TJ820 .G562 2016. The call number includes everything from the first letter to the date. To see where this call number is located in the library, click the Map It button.

The map will pop up in new window and shows that this book is located on the 3rd floor. The highlighted area indicates where to find this book on the 3rd floor. All of the books on the 3rd floor may be checked out.

To learn even more about this book, click the title to view the complete record.

The full record contains information about the author, title, and publication information. Some records contain a table of contents and a summary of the item.

Scroll down to the bottom of the record to view the Library of Congress subject headings. These are the more precise terms to search. In this case, the main subject headings are wind power and wind turbines. To get better search results, search one of these terms as a Subject Heading.

The library catalog offers many ways to refine your search. On the left side of the results page, use the options under Format to limit your search to a specific format such as online resources, media, or streaming video. If you choose "streaming video," for example, you will fine many online videos on the topic of wind energy. These and other online resources do require that you login with your Santa Fe account

This concludes the video tutorial on using the library catalog. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

Browsing Guide

QM 1-695
Human anatomy, general
QP 34-38
Human biology & Human physiology
R 123
Medicine -- Terminology
R 724-725
Medical ethics
R 727.3-727.4
Allied health personnel and patient
RD 32 - 32.7
Operative surgery
RD 32.3
Assisting at operations. Surgical technology
RD 32.5
Preliminary preparation of patient
RD 32.7
Positioning in surgery & anesthesia
RD 49 - 52
Surgical therapeutics. Preoperative, interoperative, and postoperative care
RD 57
Surgical pathology
RD 71 - 76
Surgical instruments and apparatus

Circulating Books

The following list includes a selection of resources related to surgical technology available from the L. W. Tyree Library. To find other books related to surgical technology, use the library catalog.

Subject Headings

Try the following subject headings in the library catalog and the library databases:

  • Medical ethics
  • Medicine -- Terminology
  • Operating room technicians
  • Perioperative care
  • Postoperative care
  • Surgery
  • Surgical instruments
  • Surgical procedures
  • Surgical technology

eBook Video Tutorial

eBooks from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.

This video tutorial will demonstrate how to find and read eBooks through the library catalog.

To search for eBooks, begin at the library's homepage. To conduct a quick search, select the eBooks tab.

Let's search for eBooks by Jane Austen. Select author from the drop-down menu and type Jane Austen in the search box. You can also change this drop-down menu for other search types including Keyword, Title, and Subject Heading.

You can also search for eBooks in the library catalog by selecting the eBooks tab.

The number of results for this search is shown under the search box. All of the results are eBooks, and have the eBook icon.

From the results page you can access the eBook by selecting Click here to access this eBook, or you can select the title to learn more information about this item. For this example, click the title Northanger Abbey.

The full record contains more details about this eBook. To access the eBook, select the Click here to view this eBook link at the top of the record.

To log in, your username is your SF ID number @sfcollege.edu. On the next screen, enter your college password.

For example, if your student ID number is 1234-5678, your Borrower ID would be 12345678 and your PIN would be 5678. If you are unable to log in, please contact the Library for assistance.

Once you log in, a new window will open with the eBook's details. You can read the eBook online by selecting Read Online on the left or by selecting a link in the Table of Contents in the center of the page.

To navigate through the eBook, you can use the arrows in the top right corner or simply scroll through the book. You can also enter a specific page number where the page is displayed, or click on a link in the Table of Contents to jump to a specific page or section.

To search within the eBook, enter your search terms into the search box above the Table of Contents.

You will find many other useful tools on the top toolbar, including the options to add notes and get citations. You can hover over each tool with your cursor to identify the tools available.

This concludes the video tutorial on finding and reading eBooks. If you still have questions, please contact a librarian.

352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library

R2 Digital Library

R2 Digital Library

The R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks. The eBooks work together to form a database enabling searching and browsing across publications. Link right to the section of the eBook relevant to your search topic. Create an individual login (top right corner of login page) to access eBooks 24/7 and create the ability save your bookmarks, citations, references, and images over time.