Self-Guided Library and Learning Commons Tour: Tour Spot 5

The first section of these shelves is the Vinyl & Media Collection, which has several sub-collections.

First is the CD Collection, divided by genre and then organized by artist/band.

Then is the Vinyl Collection, divided by genre and then organized by artist/band.

Next is the general Media Collection, which are nonfiction videos, organized by subject (using the Library of Congress Classification).

Finally, there is the Movies & TV Collection, which contains TV series and feature films, organized by title.

These items may all be borrowed. Take items to the first floor Circulation Desk to borrow with your SF ID card. While there, ask to borrow a portable CD, DVD, or record player too!

Past the Media Collection is the Youth Collection, books to support children from preschool to 12th grade. These books are separated into several levels:

• First is the Young Adult Collection, supporting high school students and young adult readers.
• Next is the Chapter Books Collection, supporting upper elementary and middle school students.
• The Board Book Collection is within the Family Study Space (more on that next) and are for the youngest readers.
• The Picture Book Collection is next, supporting preschool and lower elementary students.
• Finally, the Juvenile Nonfiction collection includes books for all age levels that are nonfiction.

These books may all be borrowed. Take them to the first floor Circulation Desk to borrow them with your SF ID card.

Nestled in the middle of the Youth Collection is the Family Study Space. This space is intended to support student parents and others who may need to bring children with them to study. There is a computer workstation with an attached crib, child-sized furniture, and age-appropriate toys and activities.

Past the Youth Collection, in the last few shelves, is the Reference Collection. This is a small collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other books that are useful for quickly learning about a topic. Unlike other book collections, these books do not leave the building and cannot be borrowed. There are copiers and free scanners if you need to save information from these sources for later. Books in this area are organized by Library of Congress call numbers and those same numbers can lead you to more library materials on the 3rd floor (more on that with Tour Spot 7).

Past the Reference Collection and all the shelves is large study room Y-224. This is one of the two largest study rooms for student use, for a minimum of four users and up to 16. This room may be reserved ahead of time for up to three hours. When arriving for a reservation, students should check in at the second floor Reference Desk.

This study room has a large table, chairs, whiteboards, and a TV with attached computer and webcam.

Now head to Spot 6: Continue walking around the shelves. Stop in in the main area past the restrooms, on your right.