Need Help?
What Are Library Databases?
Library databases are the subscription-based resources that provide access to vetted information. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.
Here are a few databases that might be useful for investigating information. Read the descriptions to learn about each database. Then, click the access link, log in with your Office 365 account (if prompted), and search for your topic.
News Sources
NewsBank
Access NewsBank | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
A collection of newspapers from the United States. Great for finding the latest news about certain issues, as well as looking back to see news articles from the last two decades. Includes the Gainesville Sun. See also NewsBank's Special Reports for a collection of newspaper articles on topics of current interest.
The Wall Street Journal
Access Wall Street Journal | Tutorial | How to Cite
The Wall Street Journal is a popular newspaper focusing on many aspects of business and finance, along with national and international news. The Tyree Library has subscribed to The Wall Street Journal for all Santa Fe College students, faculty, and staff. This subscription gives you access to most of the content on the WSJ website, with the exception of Pro articles.
Note: on your first login, you will need to create a personal account. Choose the correct account type (student, professor, or staff) and create a password. Once you submit this information, you will not see this prompt again. You can use your email and the password you created to log on directly to the Wall Street Journal website.
Academic Sources
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Access Academic Search Complete | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
Health & Wellness
Access Health & Wellness | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
Best medical database the library offers for students who are not in a health sciences program; health science students will also find it useful. Offers an easy-to-use interface with access to full text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Includes specialized searches for diseases/conditions, drugs & herbal remedies, and alternative health.
JSTOR
Access JSTOR | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals.