Books for Adult Learners
-
Experiences Working with Adult Learners: A Repertoire of Motivating Reading Strategies
by
Call Number: LB2395.3 .M87 2024Like students, adults need to be motivated. The author shares engaging ways to work with adult learners to supplement their instruction -
How to Teach Adults: Plan Your Class, Teach Your Students, Change the World
by
Call Number: LC5225.T4S67 2014 & eBook (click title)Offers essential strategies for teaching adult learners, covering topics from course planning to classroom management. It includes tips on engaging students, facilitating discussions, designing lesson plans, and creating a positive teaching persona, making it an invaluable resource for new instructors and those teaching in community colleges, ESL programs, or graduate courses. -
Teaching Adults: A Practical Guide for New Teachers
by
Call Number: LC5215.B658 2015Offers quick, actionable strategies for teaching adults, focusing on creating a positive learning environment and overcoming common challenges like resistance and motivation. It provides a teaching framework, effective techniques for engaging adult learners, and tips on dealing with disruptive behavior, making it a helpful resource for both new and experienced instructors. -
Technology and Innovation in Adult Learning
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)A comprehensive exploration of technology's role in adult learning.
Books for First-Generation College Students
-
33 Simple Strategies for Faculty: A Week-by-Week Resource for Teaching First-Year and First-Generation Students
by
Call Number: LB2343.32 .N86 2019 & eBook (click title)Designed to offer university faculty simple and straightforward ways they can interact with students both during class time and during office hours that will help mediate some of first-year students' most stressful challenges. The suggested strategies require just 5-15 minutes a week. -
At the Intersection: Understanding and Supporting First-Generation Students
by
Call Number: LC4069.6 .A82 2021 & eBook (click title)This book challenges readers to explore the diverse experiences of first-generation college students, emphasizing the impact of intersecting identities. It includes research, theory, and personal stories, examining topics like identity, programs, and practices that support these students, while offering thought-provoking questions for engagement and reflection. -
Creating the Path to Success in the Classroom: Teaching to Close the Graduation Gap for Minority, First-Generation, and Academically Unprepared Students
by
Call Number: LC3731 .G325 2018 & eBook (click title)Offers evidence-based strategies to help faculty support the success and persistence of all students, especially those from underrepresented backgrounds. It provides practical guidance for creating inclusive classrooms, increasing student engagement, reinforcing growth mindset, and designing assignments that promote deep learning while maintaining high academic standards. -
How First-Generation Students Navigate Higher Education Through an Embrace of Their Multiple Identities
by
Call Number: LC4069.6 .F5778 2025This book explores how first-generation college students navigate the culture of higher education and argues that institutions should factor the experiences of first-generation students into the process of revitalizing their mission. -
Teaching STEM to First Generation College Students: A Guidebook for Faculty & Future Faculty
by
Call Number: LC4069.6 .H67 2019Offers simple, low-effort strategies instructors can use to support first-generation college students in STEM without overhauling their teaching methods. By applying small, intentional actions, educators can help improve retention and success for underrepresented and low-income students, contributing to greater diversity in STEM fields.
Books for International and ESOL Students
-
Classroom Instruction That Works with English Language Learners
by
Call Number: LC3731 .H554 2013Provides instructional strategies that can be applied to ELL students in every grade level. Includes specific steps and guidance for educators that will boost the achievement levels of ELL students and suggestions for helping students develop oral language that leads to improved writing. -
Immigrant-Origin Students in Community College: Navigating Risk and Reward in Higher Education
by
Call Number: LC3746 .I56 2019Explores the unique experiences of immigrant-origin students at community colleges, a growing yet understudied population. Drawing on extensive mixed-methods research, it highlights their challenges, resilience, and support needs, offering actionable insights for improving institutional policies and practices. -
International Student Engagement: Strategies for Creating Inclusive, Connected, and Purposeful Campus Environments
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Offers strategies to improve the academic and social integration of international students in U.S. colleges by leveraging institutional strengths and student input. It combines research, case studies, and student narratives to guide inclusive campus practices. -
International Students at US Community Colleges: Opportunities, Challenges, and Successes
by
Call Number: LB2376.4 .I59 2022Explores how U.S. community colleges support international students through case studies and research on access, integration, and institutional practices. It highlights both challenges and promising strategies to promote equity, success, and career development for this growing student population.
Books for Minority Students
-
Black Women College Students: A Guide to Student Success in Higher Education
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Examines the experiences of Black women college students, offering a framework for understanding their unique challenges and outlining institutional strategies to better support their success. It includes practical recommendations for educators and administrators committed to equity and student achievement. -
Creating the Path to Success in the Classroom: Teaching to Close the Graduation Gap for Minority, First-Generation, and Academically Unprepared Students
by
Call Number: LC3731 .G325 2018 & eBook (click title)Offers faculty evidence-based practices to promote student success and retention, particularly for underrepresented groups. It provides strategies for creating an inclusive course environment, fostering engagement, building connections with culturally relevant material, and improving teaching methods to support student persistence, academic success, and graduation.
-
Teaching Men of Color in the Community College: A Guidebook
by
Call Number: LC2781 .W66 2015Presents promising teaching and learning strategies that classroom faculty can use to support the success of men of color in the community college. Recommendations are derived from faculty leaders with a proven record of success in teaching men of color.
Books for Students with Disabilities
-
Creating Our Own Lives: College Students with Intellectual Disability
by
Call Number: LC4818.38 .C74 2023 & eBook (click title)How do students with intellectual disability experience higher education? Creating Our Own Lives addresses this question through the eyes of participants themselves. In relating their experiences and aspirations, these student perspectives mount a powerful challenge to assumptions that intellectual disability is best met with protection or segregation. -
Supporting College and University Students with Invisible Disabilities: A Guide for Faculty and Staff Working with Students with Autism, AD/HD, Language Processing Disorders, Anxiety, and Mental Illness
by
Call Number: LC4813.O75 2013 & eBook (click title)This useful handbook provides university faculty and staff with an overview of invisible disabilities, such as autism, AD/HD, dyslexia, OCD and affective disorders, and facilitates an understanding of the unique needs of these students. Practical chapters provide ideas for adapting teaching methods and offering accommodations. -
Teaching University Students with Autism Spectrum Disorder: A Guide to Developing Academic Capacity and Proficiency
by
Call Number: LC4717.5 .M46 2016Based on a five-year study, this book offers evidence-based strategies for supporting college students with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), focusing on common academic challenges and ways to promote success. Through case studies and practical tools, it helps educators and staff create more inclusive, supportive learning environments.
Books for Veteran and Military Students
-
An Instructor's Guide to Teaching Military Students: Simple Steps to Integrate the Military Learner into Your Classroom
by
Call Number: U716 .B74 2017Equips instructors with practical strategies for effectively teaching military-connected students, including veterans, active-duty personnel, and their families. It emphasizes culturally responsive feedback, classroom inclusion, and helping students connect military experience to academic participation across a variety of disciplines. -
Preparing Your Campus for Veterans' Success: An Integrated Approach to Facilitating the Transition and Persistence of Our Military Students
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Offers guidance for those in higher education who work with student veterans, providing strategies for fostering success through tailored programs and services. It highlights the challenges these students face, including military transitions and disabilities, and stresses the importance of a holistic, collaborative approach across campus departments to support their academic journey and improve retention. -
What's Next for Student Veterans? Moving from Transition to Academic Success
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Examines the second wave of research on student veterans, focusing on data-driven factors influencing their academic success, including persistence, retention, degree completion, and post-college employment. It offers valuable insights for educators supporting military-connected students, helping to navigate their transition to higher education and promote long-term success.
Books for Working with Other Groups
-
Teachin' It! Breakout Moves That Break Down Barriers for Community College Students
by
Call Number: LB2328 .D27 2019From a former homeless, first gen college student, now a Stanford alum and community college instructor, comes a sensitive and powerful set of understandings and strategies to support the success and dignity of community college students while helping them to overcome the challenges that they often bring along with their distinctive assets. -
Teaching First-Year College Students
by
Call Number: LB2331.E76 2006Offers strategies to help faculty support first-year students in adjusting to both academic and non-academic challenges. It incorporates the latest research and demographic trends to guide instructors in understanding students' preparedness for higher education. -
Teaching Unprepared Students: Strategies for Promoting Success and Retention in Higher Education
by
Call Number: LB2331.2.G33 2008Provides strategies for professors to help at-risk students improve academically and succeed in their studies. It covers building rapport, inclusive teaching, time management, study skills, and applying universal design principles to foster an engaging and supportive learning environment. -
Teaching Nonmajors: Advice for Liberal Arts Professors
by
Call Number: LC1011.A68 2008Offers practical strategies for teaching nonmajors, focusing on engaging students and improving classroom dynamics. It provides actionable techniques for effective lectures, stimulating discussions, handling assignments, and managing student behavior, making it especially useful for professors at all stages of their careers. -
The Thoughtful Teacher: Making Connections with a Diverse Student Population
by
Call Number: LB1025.3 .R57 2021Emphasizes the role of thoughtful teaching in creating an inspiring classroom environment that fosters a love for learning. It highlights the importance of connecting theory to practice and focuses on understanding oneself, being culturally relevant, and engaging a diverse student population to transform education. -
Thriving in Transitions: A Research-Based Approach to College Student Success
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Shifts the focus of student success from remediating deficiencies to fostering characteristics that promote thriving. It explores research on factors influencing academic, interpersonal, and intrapersonal performance and offers strategies to help diverse student groups, including first-year and transfer students, achieve success in college and beyond.
