Books on Assessment
-
Assessing and Improving Student Writing in College: A Guide for Institutions, General Education, Departments, and Classrooms
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Step-by-step guidance for shaping better writers while keeping faculty workloads manageable. -
Assessing Skills and Practice
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Outlines how to ensure fair, consistent and reliable assessment of practical activities, with a focus on formative feedback. -
Assessing Student Learning: A Common Sense Guide
by
Call Number: LB2336 .S87 2018Offers practical, straightforward guidance for assessing student learning, with an emphasis on making assessment useful and building a culture where it informs decisions. -
Assessment Clear and Simple: A Practical Guide for Institutions, Departments, and General Education
by
Call Number: LB2822.75 .W35 2010Offers a concise, step-by-step guide that helps make assessment simple, cost-efficient, and useful to an institution. It contains effective strategies for meeting the requirements of accreditation agencies, legislatures, review boards, and others, while emphasizing and showing how to move from data to actions that improve student learning. -
Assessment Essentials: Planning, Implementing, and Improving Assessment in Higher Education
by
Call Number: LB2366.2 .P35 2015 & eBook (click title)Provides a comprehensive guide to developing and implementing outcomes assessment programs in higher education. It covers direct and indirect assessment methods, rubrics, course-embedded assessment, and using data for decisions on funding, curriculum, and institutional effectiveness. -
Classroom Assessment Techniques: Formative Feedback Tools for College and University Teachers
by
Call Number: LB2822.75 .A54 2024A practical, research-based handbook for using assessment to improve learning. -
The College Classroom Assessment Compendium: A Practical Guide to the College Instructor's Daily Assessment Life
by
Call Number: LB2368 .P37 2018Provides new and seasoned instructors with comprehensive strategies, perspectives, and solutions for the daily challenges and issues involved in student assessment. -
The College Instructor's Guide to Writing Test Items: Assessing Student Learning
by
Call Number: LB2366 .R64 2017By focusing on multiple-choice response items, this book provides college instructors the tools to understand, develop, and use assessment activities in classrooms in a way that consistently supports learning. -
A Complete Guide to Rubrics: Assessment Made Easy for Teachers of K-College
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Citing developmental characteristics of each age, the author presents examples and adaptations of assessment rubrics on a variety of subjects for teachers from kindergarten through adult/college. -
Designing Effective Assessment: Principles and Profiles of Good Practice
by
Call Number: LB2366.2.B36 2009This important resource can help educators put in place an effective process for determining what works and which improvements will have the most impact in improving curriculum, methods of instruction, and student services on college and university campuses. -
Developing Outcomes-Based Assessment for Learner-Centered Education: A Faculty Introduction
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This book empowers faculty to take ownership of assessment by defining learning outcomes and evidence of learning for their courses and programs. It offers a realistic guide with examples, stories, and advice on articulating expectations, setting standards, and aligning course content with desired outcomes. -
Effective Grading: A Tool for Learning and Assessment in College
by
Call Number: LB2368.W35 2010This title is based on the premise that grades are not isolated artifacts but part of a process that, when integrated with course objectives, provides rich information about student learning, as well as being a tool for learning itself. -
Embedded Formative Assessment
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Emphasizing the instructional side of formative assessment, this book explores in depth the use of classroom questioning, learning intentions and success criteria, feedback, collaborative and cooperative learning, and self-regulated learning to engineer effective learning environments for students. -
Embracing Change: Alternatives to Traditional Research Writing Assignments
by
Call Number: Z675.U5 E4527 2022Explores alternative assignments to traditional research writing, examining their benefits, drawbacks, and impact on students. It offers practical guidance and case studies on assignments like creating infographics, writing children's books, and digital humanities projects, helping educators and librarians implement and support these alternatives. -
Giving Students Effective Written Feedback
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Examines the impact of student feedback on performance, offering insights from both tutors and students. It provides practical strategies for giving more effective feedback and ensuring students use it effectively, supported by case studies and examples for higher education staff. -
Grading for Equity: What It Is, Why It Matters, and How It Can Transform Schools and Classrooms
by
Call Number: LB3051 .F44 2024This resource addresses the challenges of inconsistent grading practices and their role in perpetuating achievement gaps. It offers research-based strategies for implementing equitable grading, improving learning, and fostering stronger teacher-student relationships. -
Grading Strategies for the College Classroom: A Collection of Articles for Faculty
by
Call Number: LB3060.37.G73 2013This book is intended for faculty seeking to understand how to use assessment to enhance as well as measure performance, and it delivers some of the most innovative ideas for meeting that challenge. -
Grading Strategies for the Online College Classroom: A Collection of Articles for Faculty
Call Number: LB1028.5.G73 2016Practical methods designed to create more effective tests, generate lively online discussions, establish rapport with students, furnish quality feedback in less time, and communicate effectively online. -
How to Create and Use Rubrics for Formative Assessment and Grading
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Whether you're already familiar with rubrics or not, this book is a complete resource for writing rubrics that assist with learning as well as assess it. -
How to Give Effective Feedback to Your Students
by
Call Number: LB1033 .B658 2017Properly crafted and individually tailored feedback on student work boosts student achievement across subjects and grades. In this comprehensive guide for teachers at all levels, you will find information on every aspect of feedback. -
How to Improve Your Assignment Results
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This guide helps students understand and act on feedback on assignments and improve their grades. While aimed at students, it is also valuable for instructors seeking to enhance their feedback and support student improvement. -
The I-Search Paper
by
Call Number: PE1478 .M26 1988This book introduces the I-Search paper, a research assignment that encourages students to explore a personally meaningful question, fostering curiosity and self-directed learning. It offers practical guidance for teachers to implement this authentic approach, enhancing student engagement and research skills. -
Introduction to Rubrics: An Assessment Tool to Save Grading Time, Convey Effective Feedback, and Promote Student Learning
by
Call Number: LB3063.S74 2013This book provides an introduction to the principles and practical applications of rubrics, offering guidance on constructing, using, and aligning them with course content and learning outcomes. It also covers expanded topics like grading online, various rubric types, and using rubrics in program assessment and teaching improvement. -
Learning Assessment Techniques: A Handbook for College Faculty
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Provides 50 easy-to-implement active learning techniques that gauge student learning across academic disciplines and learning environments. -
Meaningful Grading: A Guide for Faculty in the Arts
by
Call Number: LB2368 .H38 2018Helps faculty in the arts create and implement effective, research-based grading and assessment strategies for both traditional and online classrooms. It offers solutions to grading challenges, turning them into opportunities for deeper student learning and increased engagement. -
Measurement and Assessment in Education
by
Call Number: LB3051.R45 2009This text provides a comprehensive yet accessible introduction to educational measurement, covering basic mathematics, performance assessments, portfolio assessments, and accommodations for students with disabilities. It also offers practical insights into professional best practices in educational measurement. -
Student-Focused Learning and Assessment: Involving Students in the Learning Process in Higher Education
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This contributed volume explores institutional and programmatic policies and practices which actively engage students as partners in improving student learning. -
Student-Led Peer Review: A Practical Guide to Implementation Across Disciplines and Modalities
by
Call Number: LB1031.5 .L69 2022Offers a practical guide to implementing student-led peer review, a process that enhances critical thinking, evaluative judgment, and collaboration skills. By following a tested three-part protocol and addressing common challenges, it provides strategies for faculty to effectively integrate peer review across disciplines, improving learning and easing assessment workload -
Using Rubrics for Performance-Based Assessment: A Practical Guide to Evaluating Student Work
by
Call Number: LC1031 .S76 2021This book will show teachers not only how to create their own objective rubrics, which can be used to evaluate performance assessments, but also how to empower their own students to create rubrics that are tailored to their work. -
What We Know About Grading: What Works, What Doesn't, and What's Next
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)A review of 100-plus years of grading research that presents the broadest and most comprehensive summary of research on grading and reporting available to date, with clear takeaways for learning and teaching. -
Write Better Multiple-Choice Questions to Assess Learning: Measure What Matters: Evidence-Informed Tactics for Multiple-Choice Questions
by
Call Number: LB3060.32.M85 S53 2021This book describes what's needed to write well-written learning objectives that explain what we should assess, and create multiple-choice questions that assess important knowledge and skills in the learning objectives.
Books on Ungrading / Alternative Grading
-
Grading for Growth: A Guide to Alternative Grading Practices That Promote Authentic Learning and Student Engagement in Higher Education
by
Call Number: LB3051 .C58 2023This book offers a comprehensive introduction to alternative grading, beginning with a framework and rationale for implementation and evidence of its effectiveness. -
Off the Mark: How Grades, Ratings, & Rankings Undermine Learning (But Don't Have To)
by
Call Number: LB3051 .S3244 2023Today's regimes of testing and grading satisfy only the politicians who forced them on America's schools. Yet discarding assessment also serves students poorly. Off the Mark proposes an alternative, replacing motivation-killing tests and grading systems with well-designed assessment that accurately captures learning and fosters students' potential. -
The Promise and Practice of Next Generation Assessment
by
Call Number: LB3051 .C6338 2018David T. Conley presents the case for a new, comprehensive system of assessment using different measurements for different purposes. -
Specifications Grading: Restoring Rigor, Motivating Students, and Saving Faculty Time
by
Call Number: LB2368.N55 2015 & eBook (click title)Presents a streamlined grading system called specifications grading, which simplifies assessments, reduces grading time, and ties grades more directly to learning outcomes. By eliminating partial credit and using clear expectations, it enhances student motivation, reduces stress, and fosters meaningful feedback, making grading more transparent and effective across various class sizes and disciplines. -
Ungrading Five Years On: A Movement, a Backlash, a Rebranding, a Story
by
Call Number: onlineA reflection of ungrading and what has happened in the five years since Susan D. Blum published Ungrading: Why Rating Students Undermines Learning (and What To Do Instead). -
Ungrading: Why Rating Students Undermines Learning (And What To Do Instead)
by
Call Number: LB3060.37 .U55 2020Fifteen educators write about their diverse experiences going gradeless. Based on rigorous and replicated research, this is the first book to show why and how faculty who wish to focus on learning, rather than sorting or judging, might proceed.
