Faculty Reading

High-Impact Practices (HIPs) like service-learning and internships boost student engagement, learning, and retention, especially for underserved groups. However, their benefits are often underrealized due to inconsistent implementation, requiring attention to access, equity, and quality to fulfill their potential for all students. This book offers perspectives, data and critiques to interrogate and improve practice.

Helps higher education professionals enhance support for first-generation students, offering strategies for developing and assessing programs like peer mentoring, bridge programs, and intrusive advising. It emphasizes building allies and addressing challenges to improve persistence and graduation rates for first-generation students.

Provides case studies, examples, and discussion of how academic libraries can create successful partnerships to contribute to the integration of high-impact practices on their campuses, and ways to execute these practices well.

This publication defines a set of teaching and learning practices whose positive impact on students has been established by educational research.

This volume offers the first comprehensive guide to how high-impact practices (HIPs) are being implemented in online environments and how they can be adjusted to meet the needs of online learners.

Capstones have been a part of higher education curriculum for over two centuries, with the goal of integrating student learning to cap off their undergraduate experience. This edited collection draws on multi-year, multi-institutional, and mixed-methods studies to inform the development of best practices for cultivating capstones at a variety of higher education institutions.

Offers practical strategies for creating and managing capstone courses that integrate undergraduate learning. It covers design, teaching, and administration, offering insights for departments looking to implement or improve these courses, and includes data from surveys on what works across disciplines like STEM, social sciences, humanities, and professional programs.

The authors make a case for an alternative to the common understanding of student success as a matter of individual achievement. They advocate instead for a college education that anchors student success in collaborative learning: learning from, with, and for others.

This user-friendly manual walks instructors step by step through the process of creating, assigning, and executing successful group projects at the college level. Informed by a simple input-process-output model of group behavior, this guide provides structured advice, examples, and worksheets to design and facilitate effective team projects.

Explores the latest research on peer learning, focusing on peer feedback, assessment, and group activities to enhance learning outcomes. It provides models, frameworks, and empirical studies to help educators implement effective peer learning, with an emphasis on technology-enhanced tools and future research.

Provides strategies for making group work productive by aligning research-based principles with practical actions. It offers classroom examples for creating interdependence, fostering accountability, designing engaging tasks, and building essential interpersonal skills, while addressing common group work challenges.

This book provides faculty, staff, and administrators with a set of frameworks and models useful for guiding students in designing and creating ePortfolios.

This book shares the collective experience of integrating electronic portfolios as assessment tools and as instruments for life-long learning in courses across various disciplines in higher education.

The authors outline how to deploy the ePortfolio as a high-impact practice and describe widely-applicable models of effective ePortfolio pedagogy and implementation that demonstrably improve student learning across multiple settings.

This volume explores how combining first-year seminars with learning communities enhances student success by improving connections with faculty and peers. It offers practical insights into designing, teaching, and assessing these programs, with case studies from various campus settings.

Starting college can be overwhelming, and many first-year students need more than just a week of orientation to adjust. This report highlights how colleges are extending support to help students navigate academic, social, and wellness challenges.

Focuses on the history, theory, value, design, administration, and evaluation of professional internships as an educational experience for college students.

This volume explores how combining first-year seminars with learning communities enhances student success by improving connections with faculty and peers. It offers practical insights into designing, teaching, and assessing these programs, with case studies from various campus settings.

This volume covers the foundations, structures, and staffing of learning communities, focusing on enhancing student participation and success. It provides historical context, outlines program types, and includes an annotated bibliography of current literature.

Offering an interdisciplinary qualitative approach, this book examines and evaluates the role and benefits of a Learning Community (LC), a high-impact practice for student retention in higher education.

Explores the linked course model of learning communities, which fosters student engagement, retention, and integrative learning through interdisciplinary, collaborative teaching. It includes case studies, implementation strategies, and assessment tools to help educators design, support, and evaluate successful linked course programs.

This is a practical guide to designing, teaching, and coordinating service-learning courses, and for developing reciprocal community partnerships and community-based research.

This practical guide assists university faculty in developing and implementing service-learning courses and projects across multiple disciplines. The book describes ways in which service learning becomes a powerful teaching method using step-by-step explanations, real-world examples, and instructor checklists and handouts.

This book shows how to engage students in authentic research experiences, built into the design of courses in the first two years, thus making the experience available to a much greater number of students.

This research-based guide is designed to help first- and second-year students, particularly those from underrepresented groups, navigate college resources effectively. It teaches students how to work with professors, integrate research into coursework, and present their findings, while also offering guidance for faculty, staff, and parents to support student success.

This book provides strategies for teaching undergraduates how to conduct research and write papers, covering research assignments, question formulation, ethics, and using media to communicate findings. It integrates library instruction to enhance critical thinking and lifelong learning, with each chapter offering additional resources.

This book highlights the exciting work of two-year colleges to prepare students for their future careers through engagement in undergraduate research.

With the growing interest in undergraduate research as a high-impact practice, and the recognition that college education is increasingly moving online, this book provides a framework, guidance from pioneering practitioners, and a range of examples across disciplines on how to engage remote students in research.

Explores the role of generative artificial intelligence (GenAI) as a tool for academic, professional, civic, and personal writing. It addresses the ethical, social, and material implications of using GenAI and offers practical guidance on how to use the technology responsibly and effectively in writing tasks.

Shows how learning to write for various purposes in multiple disciplines leads college students to new levels of competence.

Helps instructors integrate writing into their courses to enhance learning. It offers a creative approach to teaching writing, emphasizing its role in content discovery and student engagement while also improving faculty writing skills.

This book provides a detailed roadmap for college educators to help students make substantial improvements in their writing, particularly in courses where writing is a component, but not the primary focus. This accessible guide offers conceptual tools and practical strategies, including lesson plans, stock comments instructors can use to explain frequently occurring writing problems, and writing prompts to help struggling students address writer's block.

This book explores what makes writing meaningful for students by drawing on extensive research and student voices. It offers practical strategies for instructors to help students connect their writing to their identities, experiences, and futures, fostering more engaging and inclusive learning.

Describes effective teaching practices to help all college writing instructors, regardless of their institutional contexts, make changes to teaching that support equitable and inclusive learning opportunities for students.

This book provides composition instructors with strategies to engage students in writing and critical thinking, particularly in the context of AI. It highlights how Universal Design for Learning can support writing instruction and offers hands-on activities that are both engaging and "AI proof," addressing concerns about AI while enhancing writing skills.

Explores leading approaches to foregrounding information literacy in first-year college writing courses.

An important challenge to what currently masquerades as conventional wisdom regarding the teaching of writing. Combining current knowledge of what works in teaching and learning with the most enduring philosophies of classical education, this book challenges readers to develop the skills, attitudes, knowledge, and habits of mind of strong writers.