Need Help?
Finding Articles
Articles provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a broader topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.
Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.
This page provides suggestions for the databases and other resources you can use to find articles on your topic. You will log in with your Office 365 account if prompted.
If you need assistance logging in, please call the Reference Desk at 352-395-5409. The databases can also be accessed via eSantaFe.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text, academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including African-American studies, anthropology, education, mathematics, history, and more. Also includes an image search This link opens in a new window.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides lists of searchable social issue topics, with pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, court cases, links to government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper, magazine and journal articles, and more.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains full-text articles on current issues in psychology. Covers general, specialized, basic, and applied psychology and clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Contains current and archived full-text news articles from over 12,000 titles, including newspapers, newswires, interview transcripts, and blogs. Includes The Gainesville Sun.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar
Google Scholar indexes scholarly information on the Web. Although much of the content you retrieve using Google Scholar is not available as free full text, you can use Google Scholar to search across most of Santa Fe’s library databases. To set up Scholar to show SF Holdings, use the following steps:
- On the left-hand side of the screen, click the three horizontal bars on the top left corner of the screen.
- Depending on your screen, you may see a gear icon, the word Settings, or both:
Click this link. - On the left side of the next screen, choose Library Links.
- In the search box type Santa Fe College and click Find Library.
- Choose Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe and click Save.
In the results list, look for items that are marked as Find it @ Santa Fe. Clicking on the Find it @ Santa Fe link will allow you to log in to access the article through a Santa Fe database. Log in with your Office 365 account..