Need Help?
MLA Citations
The MLA Handbook (call number LB2369 .M52 2021) is the official guide to MLA style. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library-use. You may also access the MLA Handbook Plus online, which contains the full text of the MLA Handbook, plus other resources.
The following links and tutorials will help you create MLA citations for the sources you need to cite.
More Resources
Citing a Book
Citation Components
- Author: Shabana Mir
- Title: Muslim American women on campus: undergraduate social life and identity
- Publisher: University of North Carolina Press
- Publication Date: 2014
MLA Works Cited Entry
Mir, Shabana. Muslim American Women on Campus: Undergraduate Social Life and Identity. U of North Carolina P, 2014.
View "MLA: Citing Books & eBooks" tutorialeBook
Citation Components
- Editors: Betty Kaklamanidou and Margaret Tally.
- Title: HBO's Girls : questions of gender, politics, and millennial angst
- Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing
- Publication Date: 2014
- Database: Ebook Central
- Permalink: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1661262
MLA Works Cited Entry
Kaklamanidou, Betty, and Margaret Tally, editors. HBO's Girls: Questions of Gender, Politics, and Millennial Angst. Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2014. Ebook Central, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1661262.
Article from a Database
Citation Components
- Author(s): Dwanna L. Robertson
- Article Title: Invisibility in the Color-Blind Era.
- Journal Title: American Indian Quarterly
- Publication Date: 2015
- Volume number: 39
- Issue number: 2
- Pages: 113-154
- Database Name: Academic Search Complete
- DOI or Permalink: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=101685548&site=ehost-live&scope=site
MLA Works Cited Entry
Robertson, Dwanna L. "Invisibility in the Color-Blind Era." American Indian Quarterly, vol. 39, no. 2, 2015, pp. 113-154. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=101685548&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Website
Citation Components
- Author: Gustavo López and Ana Gonzalez-Barrera
- Web Page Title: Afro-Latino: A deeply rooted identity among U.S. Hispanics
- Website Title: Fact Tank
- Publisher or Sponsoring Organization: Pew Research Center
- Publication Date: April 14, 2008
- URL of Web Page: http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2016/03/01/afro-latino-a-deeply-rooted-identity-among-u-s-hispanics/
MLA Works Cited Entry
López, Gustavo, and Ana Gonzalez-Barrera. "Afro-Latino: A Deeply Rooted Identity among U.S. Hispanics." Fact Tank, Pew Research Center, 1 Mar. 2016, www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2016/03/01/afro-latino-a-deeply-rooted-identity-among-u-s-hispanics/.