EAP - Reading & Writing

Library databases contain thousands of sources for you to search. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images. The following databases are recommended for you. Read the descriptions to locate the best database. Then, click the access link, log in, and search for your topic. When searching, be sure to use as few words as possible to encompass the main points (or keywords) from your topic.

Access Academic Search Complete  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.

Access Credo  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

An online library of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books that are easily searchable by topic. Use to research people, places, topics, and more.

Access Health & Wellness  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

Best medical database the library offers for students who are not in a health sciences program; health science students will also find it useful. Offers an easy-to-use interface with access to full text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Includes specialized searches for diseases/conditions, drugs & herbal remedies, and alternative health.

Access Opposing Viewpoints  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

Provides searchable topics giving pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, court cases, links to government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper, magazine, and journal articles and more about social issues.