Some professors place course materials, such as textbooks, on reserve at the Library. To check if your course materials are available, search the library catalog for the title of your book.
Course Reserves from Lawrence W. Tyree Library on Vimeo.
Hello! In this video tutorial, we will learn how to use the library catalog to find course textbooks and other course materials at the Lawrence W. Tyree Library.
The Library maintains a collection of textbooks and course materials called Course Reserves. These items are held behind the first floor Circulation Desk and are typically given to the Library by the course professor or department. The Reserve Collection does not contain every textbook used at the college.
To look for items in the Reserve Collection, click the Catalog button on the library website to access the library catalog.
It’s best to search for a specific title. Type the title into the search box and change the Keyword drop-down to Title.
Items with a purple Course icon indicate that it is part of the Reserve Collection. Click the title for more information about the item, as well as location information.
Scroll to the Details section to ensure that the publication information, date, and edition match what is being used for your class. Check your syllabus for this information.
Look in the Availability section to determine where the item is located. In this example, the Bedford Handbook is available in the Circulating Collection on the third floor, which you can take home, and the Reserve Collection on the first floor, which typically must be used within the Library building. The Locate button will help you determine the floor.
Items in the Reserve Collection typically do not leave the Library. You may copy or scan information for later use. Black and white copies are 10 cents a page, using the combined printer/copiers located on the first and second floors. Free scanners are available on the second floor.
You may also choose to search for items using your course number. This requires a Keyword search, with no spaces between the course prefix and number. This search is less precise. You may retrieve items being used by other professors teaching that course, so double check your syllabus.
Some course reserves are available online. These titles will have a collection of Course eReserves & Standalone Titles. Please note that these titles typically may only be viewed by one person at a time. You will need to Sign in with your Office 365 account in order to access these items.
Once you sign in and click the link, you will be able to read the book online. When you are finished, click the Return Early button so that others may access the title.
If the book is already in use, you will see the opportunity to Join the Waitlist.
You will receive an email at your SF email address when the book is available.
Simply click the Access Resource link in the email to begin viewing the book.
If you cannot find your item, please check with a librarian for help. You may also wish to ask your professor if they have a copy they can put on reserve.
This concludes the video tutorial on searching for reserve material. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian:
352-395-5409
reference@sfcollege.edu
Building Y, NW Campus
sfcollege.edu/library
Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity
Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.
SACSCOC Accreditation Statement
Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.