Skip to Main Content

MLA Citation Guide

Films (VHS/DVD/Blu-Ray)

Templates

Title of Film. Directed by Director Name, Production Companies, Date.

Main Contributor*, Role. Title of Video. Directed by Director Name, Production Companies, Date.

*Choose the main contributor based on what your research is focused on.

Works Cited List Entries

Boyhood. Directed by Richard Linklater, IFC Productions / Detour Filmproduction, 2015.

Arquette, Patricia, performer. Boyhood. Directed by Richard Linklater, IFC Productions / Detour Filmproduction, 2015.

In-Text Citations

(Boyhood 00:12:03)

(Arquette 00:12:03)

See pages 147, 250, and 328 in the MLA Handbook.

Online Videos (e.g., YouTube, TED, etc.)

Template

Creator*. "Title of Video." Website, uploaded by User, Date, URL.

*Give a user name if you are unable to determine the actual creator of the video.

Works Cited List Entries

"Holi: India's Epic Color Festival - Vrindivan, India." YouTube, uploaded by Evan Meets World, 21 Mar. 2014, www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEw2YFCJmdg.

Yellin, Dustin. "A Journey through the Mind of an Artist." TED, Oct. 2014, www.ted.com/talks/dustin_yellin_a_journey_through_the_mind_of_an_artist.

In-Text Citations

("Holi" 00:01:12)

(Yellin 00:09:22)

See pages 250 and 329 in the MLA Handbook and How do I cite YouTube videos? [MLA Style Center]

Streaming Videos (e.g., Netflix, Films on Demand)

Template

Title of Film/Video. Directed by Director, Production Companies, Date. Website OR Database, URL.

Works Cited List Entries

An Introduction to Philosophy. BBC, 1976. Films on Demand, fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=99198&xtid=7303.

Enola Holmes. Directed by Harry Bradbeer, Netflix / Legendary Legendary Pictures / PCMA, 2020. Netflix, www.netflix.com/title/81277950.

In-Text Citations

(An Introduction 00:03:14)

(Enola Holmes 01:02:16)

See pages 250 and 328-329 in the MLA Handbook.

Digital Theatre+

The library database Digital Theatre+ contains several types of videos, including filmed plays and supplemental videos. Click the Information link under a play to find more information.

Filmed Play Template

Author. Title of Play. Directed by Director, Theater Company, Theatre, Location, Date. Digital Theatre+, URL.

Supplemental Video Template

"Title of Video," Date. Digital Theatre+, URL.

Works Cited List Entries

Ibsen, Henrik. A Doll's House. Directed by Carrie Cracknell, Young Vic Theatre, London, 1 July 2012. Digital Theatre+, edu-digitaltheatreplus-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/content/productions/a-dolls-house-digital-theatre.

"On Acting: Dominic Rowan," 1 Jan. 2013. Digital Theatre+, edu-digitaltheatreplus-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/content/interviews/on-acting-dominic-rowan.

In-Text Citations

(Ibsen)

("On Acting")

See page 334 in the MLA Handbook and How do I cite a recorded performance of a play? [MLA Style Center]

Television Episodes

Template

"Title of Episode." Title of Series, created by Creators, season X, episode X, Production Companies, Date.

Works Cited List Entry

"Person to Person." Mad Men, created by Matthew Weiner, performance by Jon Hamm, season 7, episode 14, Weiner Bros., 2015.

"End Game." The Queen's Gambit, created by Scott Frank and Allan Scott, episode 7, Flitcraft / Wonderful Films / Netflix, 23 Oct. 2020. Netflix, www.netflix.com/title/80234304.

In-Text Citations

("Person")

("End Game" 00:22:13)

See pages 250 and 329-330 in the MLA Handbook.

Interviews

Template for Video Interview

Interviewee. "Title of Interview." Interview by Interviewer. Website, uploaded by User, Date, URL.

Template for In-Person Interview

Interviewee. Interview. By Interviewer. Date.

Works Cited List Entry

Yousafzai, Malala. "Diane Sawyer Sits Down With the Inspirational Malala Yousafzai." Interview by Diane Sawyer. YouTube, uploaded by ABC News, 13 Oct. 2013, youtu.be/ev-jPT5M9cU.

In-Text Citation

(Yousafzai 00:05:12)

See pages 250 and 336 in the MLA Handbook.

Music Recordings

Template

Artist. "Title of Song." Album Title, Label, Date, URL.

Works Cited List Entry

U2. "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For." The Joshua Tree, UMGRI Interscope, 1987, www.u2.com/music/Albums/4007/The+Joshua+Tree.

In-Text Citation

(U2)

See page 330 in the MLA Handbook.

Musical Scores

Print Score Template

Artist. "Title of Music." Title of Book, edited by Editors, Edition, Volume, Publisher, Date, pp. X-X.

Online Score Template

Artist. "Title of Music." Website, Publisher, Date, URL.

Works Cited List Entries

Chopin, Frédéric. "Barcarolle, Op. 60." MusOpen, circa 1845-46, musopen.org/sheetmusic/84/frederic-chopin/barcarolle-op-60/.

Dun, Tan. "Red Wilderness." Eight Memories in Watercolor, G. Schirmer, 2004, pp. 8-9.

In-Text Citations

(Chopin)

(Dun)

See page 334 in the MLA Handbook.

Podcasts

Template

Speaker/Interviewee. "Episode Title." Title of Podcast, hosted by Host, episode X, Publisher, Date, URL.

Works Cited List Entry

"Tunnel Vision." Hidden Brain, hosted by Shankar Vedantam, episode 65, NPR, 20 Mar. 2017, www.npr.org/templates/transcript/transcript.php?storyId=520136937.

In-Text Citation

("Tunnel" 00:12:23)

See pages 250 and 331 in the MLA Handbook.

Video Games

Template

Title of Game. Directed by Director, Production Company, Date. Website, URL*. Type of game.

*for online games

Works Cited List Entry

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. Directed by Hidemaro Fujibayashi, Nintendo, 2017. Nintendo Switch game.

Wordle. Developed by Josh Wardle, 2021. The New York Times, www.nytimes.com/games/wordle/index.html. Internet browser game.

In-Text Citation

(The Legend of Zelda)

(Wordle)

See Appendix 2 in the MLA Handbook Plus.

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.