Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA Citation Guide

Webpages / Web Documents

Template

Author. "Title of Webpage." Title of Website, Publisher, Date, URL.

If the author is a company that is the same as the website and publisher, leave off the author component and begin with the title. If you are missing any pieces of information, such as an author or date, simply omit them and continue to the next element.

Works Cited List Entries

Hecht, Johanna. "Colonial Kero Cups." Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Oct. 2003, www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/kero/hd_kero.htm.

"Dance Your Way to Better Brain Health." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4 June 2018, www.cdc.gov/features/alzheimers-and-exercise/index.html.

In-Text Citations

(Hecht)

("Dance")

See pages 185 and 324 in the MLA Handbook.

Online Encyclopedias

Template

Author of Entry. "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, Publisher/Sponsor, Date, URL.

Works Cited List Entries

Speaks, Jeff. "Theories of Meaning." Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Stanford University, 23 Apr. 2014, plato.stanford.edu/entries/meaning/.

"Allusions, Biblical." All Things Chaucer: An Encyclopedia of Chaucer's World, edited by Shannon L. Rogers, ABC-CLIO, 2007. Credo Reference, search.credoreference.com/content/entry/abcchaucer/allusions_biblical/0.

In-Text Citations

(Speaks)

("Allusions")

See pages 327-328 of the MLA Handbook.

Blog Posts

Template

Author. "Title of Blog Post." Title of Blog, Publisher, Date, URL.

Works Cited List Entry

Wade, Lisa. "Race-Based Activism is Changing College Campuses." Sociological Images, The Society Pages, 19 Apr. 2016, thesocietypages.org/socimages/2016/04/19/college-presidents-say-that-race-based-activism-is-changing-their-campuses/.

In-Text Citation

(Wade)

See page 326 in the MLA Handbook.

Reports

Template

Author of Report. Title of Report. Publisher, Date, URL. Series if available.

*If the author and publisher are the same entity, omit the author component.

Works Cited List Entries

Cahill, Kevin E., et al. How Does Occupational Status Impact Bridge Job Prevalence? U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, July 2011, www.bls.gov/osmr/pdf/ec110050.pdf. BLS Working Paper 447.

An Update to the Budget and Economic Outlook: 2021 to 2031. Congressional Budget Office, July 2021, www.cbo.gov/publication/57339.

In-Text Citations

(Cahill et al.)

(An Update)

See pages 338 and 343 in the MLA Handbook.

Images

Template

Author of Image. Photograph of Photo Name. Original Date. "Title of Webpage," by Author, Date. Website, Publisher, URL.

Works Cited List Entry

NASA. Photograph of Pillars of Creation. 1995. "Pillars of Creation," by Time. 100 Photographs: The Most Influential Images of All Time, 100photos.time.com/photos/nasa-pillars-of-creation.

In-Text Citation

(NASA)

See page 332 in the MLA Handbook.

Reviews

Template

Author of Review. Review of Title of Item, by Authors/Creators. Magazine/Newspaper Name OR Website, Date, URL.

Works Cited List Entry

Barker, Andrew. Review of Wonder Woman, directed by Patty Jenkins. Variety, 29 May 2017, variety.com/2017/film/reviews/film-review-wonder-woman-1202446320/.

In-Text Citation

(Barker)

Adapted from page 323 in the MLA Handbook.

Email

Template

Recipient. E-mail to [the author/recipient]. Date.

Works Cited List Entry

Smith, John. E-mail to the author. 14 May 2016.

In-Text Citation

(Smith)

See page 337 in the MLA Handbook.

Tweet

Template

Display Name [@handle]. "Text of tweet, including hashtags and mentions." Twitter, Date, URL.

Works Cited List Entry

Pope Francis [@Pontifex]. "Everyone's existence is tied to that of others: life is not time merely passing by, life is about interactions." Twitter, 15 June 2017, twitter.com/Pontifex/status/875314447497252866.

In-Text Citation

(Pope Francis)

See page 326 in the MLA Handbook and Citing Material Posted on Social Media Platforms.