Need Help?
Accessing Databases
Articles will provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.
Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.
These databases are recommended for researching Journalism. Read the descriptions to locate the best database for your research. Then, click the access link, log in, and search for your topic.
Academic Search Complete
Access Academic Search Complete | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
NewsBank
Access NewsBank | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
A collection of newspapers from the United States. Great for finding the latest news about certain issues, as well as looking back to see news articles from the last two decades. Includes the Gainesville Sun. See also NewsBank's Special Reports for a collection of newspaper articles on topics of current interest.
Opposing Viewpoints
Access Opposing Viewpoints | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
Provides searchable topics giving pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, court cases, links to government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper, magazine, and journal articles and more about social issues.
New York Times Historical
Access New York Times Historical | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
Provides full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times back to 1851, most recent five years not included.
Ground News
A news aggregation platform that analyzes media bias, offering features like side-by-side comparisons of news sources, bias ratings, and a "Blindspot" tool to highlight stories underreported by different political perspectives. To receive newsletters in your email, sign up under My Account.