Need Help?
Books
Books provide an in-depth look at a topic, but on a broader scale. You will use the library catalog to look up books about specific topics, or you may browse certain areas to find relevant titles. Use the table of contents and the index to look up a food or cuisine in a book.
Online students needing scans from a print book should email Diana Matthews (diana.matthews@sfcollege.edu) with the specific book titles(s) and the plant/food that is being researched.
Searching for Books
In the library catalog, try the following search strategies:
1. Search for the food or ingredient
Try a subject search or a general keyword search for the name of a food or ingredient.
2. Search for a country or region, combined with the word food
Type a country (e.g., Brazil) or region (e.g., Latin America), and combine with the word food. You may also consider using the word diet.
3. Expand to the Statewide Catalog
The default search in the library catalog is for books available at Santa Fe College. If you change the Library Catalog drop-down to Statewide Catalog, you can find books from the 40 Florida state institutions that you can then request. View the video tutorial on UBorrow for an explanation of the process.
Recommended Titles
The following book titles may be helpful in your research. To read eBooks, click the title and log in with your Office 365 account if prompted. Print books may be found in the Library. Books on the second floor are part of the Reference Collection and do not check out, but you may make copies or scans. Other print books will be located in the third floor Circulating Collection and check out for two weeks. Click the tabs to see books related to a specific regional cuisine.
-
1900 Ingredients: A Classic Reference Encyclopedia of World Foods
by
Call Number: TX349 .I54 2007 (3rd floor)Each entry in this guide to the cooking ingredients of the world includes a detailed description of the varieties, appearance, flavour and aroma of the ingredient and offers advice on its preparation and culinary uses. -
The Ark of Taste: Delicious and Distinctive Foods That Define the United States
by
Call Number: TX360.U6 L64 2023Explore and enjoy the heritage foods that give the United States its culinary identity, from heirloom tomatoes to Tupelo honey, in this visual volume for curious eaters, gardeners and home cooks. -
The Beginner's Guide to Growing Heirloom Vegetables: The 100 Easiest, Most Flavorful Vegetables for Your Garden
by
Call Number: SB321 .I36 2012 (3rd floor)The Beginner's Guide to Growing Heirloom Vegetables highlights the 100 heirloom vegetables that are the easiest to grow and the tastiest to eat. -
The Cambridge World History of Food
Call Number: REF TX353 .C255 2000 (2nd floor) & eBook (click title)Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. -
The Complete Language of Food
by
Call Number: GR498 .D54 2022 (3rd floor)The Complete Language of Food blends the realms of food and folklore in a beautifully illustrated encyclopedia of ingredients, including for each entry the food's unique properties and the facts and folklore behind its use. -
A Cook's Dictionary: International Food and Cooking Terms from A to Z
Call Number: TX349 .C66 2004 & eBook (click title)Gives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning. -
Cooking Through History: A Worldwide Encyclopedia of Food with Menus and Recipes
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)From the prehistoric era to the present, food culture has helped to define civilizations. This reference surveys food culture and cooking from antiquity to the modern era, providing background information along with menus and recipes. -
The Cultural History of Plants
Call Number: eBook (click title)This valuable reference will be useful for both scholars and general readers. It is both botanical and cultural, describing the role of plants in social life, regional customs, the arts, natural and covers all aspects of plant cultivation and migration and covers all aspects of plant cultivation and migration. -
The Diner's Dictionary: Word Origins of Food and Drink
by
Call Number: TX349 .A86 2012 (3rd floor)From absinthe to zabaglione, this lively guide presents the meaning and origin of over 2,300 food and drink terms. From basic ingredients to herbs, spices, and traditional dishes to more exotic products and delicacies, this book offers a feast of classic food and recipe terms. -
Eat Greens: Seasonal Recipes to Enjoy in Abundance
by
Call Number: TX801 .S385 2011 (3rd floor)Eat Greens includes more than 120 delicious recipes for a wide variety of dishes that use green vegetables from artichokes to zucchini to prepare healthy appetizers, soups, salads, main courses, and side dishes. -
Encyclopedia of Cultivated Plants
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Readers of this expansive, three-volume encyclopedia will gain scientific, sociological, and demographic insight into the complex relationship between plants and humans across history. -
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: REF GT2850 .E53 2003 (2nd floor)This Dartmouth Medal-winning 3-volume set presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. -
Ethnic American Food Today: A Cultural Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Ethnic American Food Today introduces readers to the myriad ethnic food cultures in the U.S. today. Entries are organized alphabetically by nation and present the background and history of each food culture along with explorations of the place of that food in mainstream American society today. -
Field Guide to Produce: How to Identify, Select, and Prepare Virtually Every Fruit and Vegetable at the Market
by
Call Number: SB360.6 .G73 2004 (3rd floor)When an unfamiliar edible appears on your grocer’s shelf, simply flip through the full-color insert until you’ve found its photograph. Turn to the corresponding page to discover its country of origin, common uses, and season of harvest. -
Food and World Culture: Issues, Impacts, and Ingredients
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)The main text is structured alphabetically around a set of 70 ingredients, from almonds to yeast. Each ingredient's story is accompanied by recipes, food profiles, and sidebars. -
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
Call Number: eBook (click title)This comprehensive reference work introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world—including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places. -
The Food Encyclopedia: Over 8000 Ingredients, Tools, Techniques and People
by
Call Number: TX349 .R644 2006 (3rd floor)The Food Encyclopedia has 8,000 entries, with cross-reference on foods, wines, beverages, cooking methods and techniques, and biographies of prominent people. It is the most comprehensive food reference in the marketplace today, featuring 500 stunning illustrations and photographs alongside its extensive coverage. -
Food in World History
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Providing a comparative and comprehensive study of culinary cultures and consumption throughout the world from ancient times to present day, this book examines the globalization of food and explores the political, social and environmental implications of our changing relationship with food. -
Foods That Changed History: How Foods Shaped Civilization from the Ancient World to the Present
by
Call Number: TX349 .C86 2015 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)Serving students and general readers alike, this encyclopedia addresses the myriad and profound ways foods have shaped the world we inhabit, from prehistory to the present. -
Fruit: An Illustrated History
by
Call Number: SB354.5 .B58 2003 Bottom shelf (3rd floor)A visual feast of stunning illustrations and authoritative text. -
Growing Vegetables, Herbs and Fruit
by
Call Number: SB321 .B556 2015 (3rd floor)Growing your own produce is highly rewarding, and this book gives you all the knowledge you require to plan and plant your own crops. -
Heirloom Plants: A Complete Compendium of Heritage Vegetables, Fruits, Herbs & Flowers
by
Call Number: SB453.5 .E88 2016 (3rd floor)Based on the extensive seed catalogs of Thomas Etty, the popular heirloom seedsman, Heirloom Plants includes information on almost 500 exciting cultivars to be grown and harvested, along with detailed profiles and cultivation tips for each plant. -
Heirloom Vegetable Gardening: A Master Gardener's Guide to Planting, Seed Saving, and Cultural History
by
Call Number: SB324.73 .W43 2018 (3rd floor)With nearly 300 plant profiles, and including both growing information and historical context, this is the masterwork on heirloom gardening. -
A History of Food
by
Call Number: TX353 .T6413 2009 (3rd floor)The story of cuisine and the social history of eating is a fascinating one, and Maguelonne Toussaint-Samat covers all its aspects in this classic history. -
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World
Call Number: eBook (click title)This four volume set provides comprehensive coverage of the foods and recipes from 75 representative countries and culture group worldwide. Entries provide 10-15 recipes for each group and include data on the agriculture and dietary habits of each group as well as an overview of each groups nutrition and health. -
A Movable Feast: Ten Millennia of Food Globalization
by
Call Number: TX353 .K55 2007 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)A Movable Feast chronicles the globalization of food over the past ten thousand years. This engaging history follows the path that food has taken throughout history and the ways in which humans have altered its course. -
Moveable Feasts: The History, Science, and Lore of Food
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)In this charming and frequently surprising compendium, Gregory McNamee gathers revelations from history, anthropology, chemistry, biology, and many other fields, and spins them into entertaining tales of discovery, complete with delicious recipes from many culinary traditions around the world. -
Nectar and Ambrosia: An Encyclopedia of Food in World Mythology
by
Call Number: REF GR498 .A53 2000 (2nd floor)The magic properties and uses of food by both mortals and immortals as mentioned in the world's myths and legends are brought together and explained in Nectar and Ambrosia. The book covers the major food groups, beverages, herbs, spices, mythological concoctions, and foods of myth. -
The New Oxford Book of Food Plants
by
Call Number: SB175 .V38 2009 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)The Oxford Book of Food Plants is a beautifully illustrated compendium of facts about the plants we grow in our gardens and use in our cooking. -
The Oxford Companion to Food
Call Number: eBook (click title)Thousands of entries provide coverage on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage. -
Remarkable Plants That Shape Our World
by
Call Number: SB450.97 .B96 2014 (3rd floor)Remarkable Plants celebrates the wonder and utility of the green kingdom, taking a detailed look at how plants have shaped our world. It focuses on eighty key species and richly explores their history, highlighting their importance and bringing to light surprising stories. -
AtoZ World Food and Recipes
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)A to Z World Food & Recipes is an encyclopedia showcasing the native cuisine of 175 countries worldwide. Classic recipes for appetizers, soups, salads, main dishes, side dishes, desserts and beverages are featured. -
The Vegetable Gardener's Bible
by
Call Number: SB324.3 .S62 2000 (3rd floor)Discover the last W.O.R.D. in vegetable gardening with Ed Smith's amazing gardening system. -
Vegetables
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)Each vegetable is identified with accompanying text and picture. The book is organized by scientific names. -
Vegetables from Amaranth to Zucchini: The Essential Reference
by
Call Number: TX801 .S353 2001 (3rd floor)With produce specialist Elizabeth Schneider as your guide, take a seed-to-table voyage with more than 350 vegetables, both exotic and common. -
Vegetables Illustrated: An Inspiring Guide with 700+ Kitchen-Tested Recipes
by
Call Number: TX801 .A64 2019The only vegetables book you'll ever need reveals hundreds of ways to cook nearly every vegetable under the sun.. Every chapter, from Artichokes to Zucchini, includes shopping, storage, seasonality, and prep pointers and techniques, including hundreds of step-by-step photographs and illustrations, gorgeous watercolor illustrations, and full-color recipe photography. -
Veg-Table: Recipes, Techniques + Plant Science for Big-Flavored, Vegetable-Focused Meals
by
Call Number: TX801 .S46 2023A fascinating exploration of the unique wonders of more than fifty vegetables through captivating research, stunning photography, and technique-focused recipes. -
World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture and Social Influence from Hunter Gatherers to the Age of Globalization
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This multicultural and interdisciplinary reference brings a fresh social and cultural perspective to the global history of food, foodstuffs, and cultural exchange from the age of discovery to contemporary times.
-
African Food MatrixDownload the African Food Matrix for a table of all assigned foods and the books where you may find information about them.
-
The Africa Cookbook: Tastes of a Continent
by
Call Number: TX725.A1 H284 1998 (3rd floor)In The Africa Cookbook, culinary historian and cookbook author Jessica B. Harris takes you on a tour of the Motherland, exploring the extraordinary diversity of the cuisines of the continent. -
An African American Cookbook: Traditional and Other Favorite Recipes
by
Call Number: TX715 .B1613 2015 (3rd floor)An African American Cookbook: Traditional and Other Favorite Recipes is a bountiful collection of favorite foods and the memories that go with them. The traditional foods reflect the ingenious, resourceful, and imaginative Africans who made them. -
Aloes in Southern Africa
by
Call Number: QK495.A835 S64 2008 (3rd floor)Aloes in Southern Africa explores the character and biology of African aloes, describing their habits, characteristic features and distribution in nature. It also details 58 aloe and related species across several vegetation zones. -
Authentic Egyptian Cooking: From the Table of Abou El Sid
by
Call Number: TX725.E35 L46 2020 (3rd floor)Classic Egyptian favorites from one of Cairo's leading restaurants. Abou El Sid, one of Cairo's most famous restaurants, here presents more than fifty of its most classic recipes in a cookbook for the enjoyment of home cooks all over the world. -
The Black Family Reunion Cookbook: Recipes & Food Memories
by
Call Number: TX715 .B55 2019 (3rd floor)The Black Family Reunion Celebrations, organized by The National Council of Negro Women and held in seven cities across America every summer, celebrate and preserve the values, traditions, and strengths of the African-American family. Inspired by these festivals, The Black Family Reunion Cookbook contains more than 250 recipes from home kitchens across America, seasoned with warm memories and "homemade love." -
Black Food: Stories, Art & Recipes from Across the African Diaspora
by
Call Number: GT2853.U5 B59 2021 (3rd floor)In this stunning and deeply heartfelt tribute to Black culinary ingenuity, Bryant Terry captures the broad and divergent voices of the African Diaspora through the prism of food. -
Cajun Foodways
by
Call Number: GR111.F73 G85 1992 (3rd floor)Cajun food has become a popular "ethnic" food throughout America during the last decade. This fascinating book explores the significance of Cajun cookery on its home turf in south Louisiana, a region marked by startling juxtapositions of the new and the old, the nationally standard and the locally unique. -
A Domestic Cook Book: Containing a Careful Selection of Useful Receipts for the Kitchen
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)The oldest known published cookbook written by an African American woman. -
The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices provides comprehensive coverage of the taxonomy, botany, chemistry, functional properties, medicinal uses, culinary uses and safety issues relating to over 250 species of herbs and spices. -
Farming While Black: Soul Fire Farm's Practical Guide to Liberation on the Land
by
Call Number: HD1476.U6 P46 2018 (3rd floor)Farming While Black is the first comprehensive "how to" guide for aspiring African-heritage growers to reclaim their dignity as agriculturists and for all farmers to understand the distinct, technical contributions of African-heritage people to sustainable agriculture. -
Food Culture in Sub-Saharan Africa
by
Call Number: TX725.A4 O7 2005 (3rd floor)East African, notably, Ethiopian, cuisine is perhaps the most well-known in the States. This volume illuminates West, southern, and Central African cuisine as well to give students and other readers a solid understanding of how the diverse African peoples grow, cook, and eat food and how they celebrate special occasions and ceremonies with special foods. -
High on the Hog: A Culinary Journey from Africa to America
by
Call Number: TX715 .H29972 2011 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)Harris takes the reader on a harrowing journey from Africa across the Atlantic to America, tracking the trials that the people and the food have undergone along the way. From chitlins and ham hocks to fried chicken and vegan soul, Harris celebrates the delicious and restorative foods of the African American experience and details how each came to form such an important part of African American culture, history, and identity. -
The Historical Cookbook of the American Negro
by
Call Number: TX715 .H72323 2000 (3rd floor)Organizes by calender year traditional recipes of African Americans before the civil rights movement, and includes historical notes, tributes to significant figures, and anecdotes. -
Hog and Hominy: Soul Food from Africa to America
by
Call Number: TX715 .O6 2010 (3rd floor)Frederick Douglass Opie deconstructs and compares the foodways of people of African descent throughout the Americas, interprets the health legacies of black culinary traditions, and explains the concept of soul itself, revealing soul food to be an amalgamation of West and Central African social and cultural influences as well as the adaptations blacks made to the conditions of slavery and freedom in the Americas. -
Jubilee: Recipes from Two Centuries of African American Cooking
by
Call Number: TX715 .T598 2019 (3rd floor)Adapted from historical texts and rare African-American cookbooks, the 125 recipes of Jubilee paint a rich, varied picture of the true history of African-American cooking–a cuisine far beyond soul food. -
Lost Crops of Africa: Vol. II Vegetables
Call Number: onlineThis volume describes the characteristics of 18 little-known indigenous African vegetables (including tubers and legumes) that have potential as food- and cash-crops but are typically overlooked by scientists and policymakers and in the world at large. -
Lost Crops of Africa: Vol. III Fruits
Call Number: onlineThe volume describes 24 little-known indigenous African cultivated and wild fruits that have potential as food- and cash-crops but are typically overlooked by scientists, policymakers, and the world at large. -
Mother Africa's Table: A Collection of West African & African American Recipes and Cultural Traditions
by
Call Number: TX725.A3 W43 1998 (3rd floor)A compendium of foods, feasts, and festivities, Mother Africa's Table brings to life the history of a people, the survival and evolution of their culture, and the spirit that has sustained them for centuries. -
Places for the Spirit: Traditional African American Gardens
by
Call Number: SB457.527 .S55 2010 (3rd floor)Places for the Spirit is a stunning collection of over 80 documentary photographs of African American folk gardens—and their creators—in the Deep South (Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, South Carolina, and North Carolina). -
Recipes for Respect: African American Meals and Meaning
by
Call Number: E185.89.F66 Z34 2019 (3rd floor)Recipes for Respect illuminates the role of foodways in African American culture. Rafia Zafar highlights not only the long tradition of educated African Americans within our national gastronomic history but also the literary and entrepreneurial strategies for civil rights and respectability woven into the written records of dining, cooking, and serving. -
Soul Food: The Surprising Story of an American Cuisine, One Plate at a Time
by
Call Number: TX715 .M6379 2013 (3rd floor)In this insightful and eclectic history, Adrian Miller delves into the influences, ingredients, and innovations that make up the soul food tradition. Focusing each chapter on the culinary and social history of one dish--such as fried chicken, chitlins, yams, greens, and "red drinks"--Miller uncovers how it got on the soul food plate and what it means for African American culture and identity. -
Stirring the Pot: A History of African Cuisine
by
Call Number: GT2853.A35 M37 2009 (3rd floor)Stirring the Pot offers a chronology of African cuisine beginning in the sixteenth century and continuing from Africa's original edible endowments to its globalization. McCann traces cooks' use of new crops, spices, and tastes, including New World imports like maize, hot peppers, cassava, potatoes, tomatoes, and peanuts, as well as plantain, sugarcane, spices, Asian rice, and other ingredients from the Indian Ocean world. -
The Whole Okra: A Seed to Stem Celebration
by
Call Number: TX803.O37 S65 2019 (3rd floor)A lighthearted but information-rich collection of okra history, lore, recipes, craft projects, growing advice, and more. -
Zora Neale Hurston on Florida Food: Recipes, Remedies and Simple Pleasures
by
Call Number: TX715 .O549 2015 (3rd floor)Florida native Zora Neale Hurston's early twentieth-century ethnographic research and writing emphasizes the essentials of food in Florida through simple dishes and recipes.
-
Asian Food MatrixDownload the Asian Food Matrix for a table of all assigned foods and the books where you may find information about them.
-
All Under Heaven: Recipes from the 35 Cuisines of China
by
Call Number: TX724.5.C5 P486 2016 (3rd floor)A comprehensive, contemporary portrait of China's culinary landscape and the geography and history that has shaped it, with more than 300 recipes. -
The Asian Grocery Store Demystified
by
Call Number: TX349 .B53 1999 (3rd floor)Peppered with over 400 illustrations, plus stories about the ingredients used in every major Asian cuisine, this guidebook identifies and tells you how to use the vast array of meats, fruits, vegetables, noodles, tofu, rice, and delicacies. -
Asian Vegetables: A Cook's Bible
by
Call Number: TX724.5.A1 H888 2024With attractive watercolor illustrations and photos, Asian Vegetables: A Cook's Bible helps you to identify 139 different Asian vegetables and plant products and presents 145 authentic recipes that you can prepare at home using these delicious ingredients. -
Asian Vegetables: A Guide to Growing Fruit, Vegetables and Spices from the Indian Subcontinent
by
Call Number: SB323.S64 C86 2009 (3rd floor)Asian Vegetables brings together a wealth of information on over 40 varieties of fruit, vegetables and spices that are grown on the Indian subcontinent and form a distinctive part of the unique cuisine in that part of the world. -
Beyond Bok Choy: A Cook's Guide to Asian Vegetables
by
Call Number: TX801 .R7954 1996 (3rd floor)Beyond Bok Choy is the first book to help consumers identify, choose, and--most importantly--cook the enormous variety of increasingly available Asian vegetables. -
The Chinese Kitchen Garden: Growing Techniques and Family Recipes from a Classic Cuisine
by
Call Number: SB351.C54 K53 2017 (3rd floor)The Chinese Kitchen Garden artfully blends the story of Wendy Kiang Spray's cultural heritage with growing information for 38 Chinese vegetables and 25 traditional recipes. -
The Complete Herb Book
by
Call Number: SB351.H5 M354 2008 (3rd floor)The Complete Herb Book is a comprehensive A-Z guide to the fascinating world of herbs, providing practical information on each herb's organic growing requirements, use, mythical properties and historical background. -
The Cook's Guide to Asian Ingredients: A Fully Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Far Eastern Kitchen
by
Call Number: TX724.5.A1 M67 2000 (3rd floor)The Cook's Guide to Asian Ingredients is a highly illustrated reference guide to the ingredients and cooking of this region. -
The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices provides comprehensive coverage of the taxonomy, botany, chemistry, functional properties, medicinal uses, culinary uses and safety issues relating to over 250 species of herbs and spices.
-
Food Cultures of Japan: Recipes, Customs, and Issues
by
Call Number: GT2853.J3 J33 2022 (3rd floor)This volume offers comprehensive coverage on the cuisine of Japan. Readers will learn about the history of food in the country, influential ingredients that play an important role in daily cooking and consumption, meals and dishes for every occasion, and what food is like when dining out or stopping for snacks from street vendors. -
Handy Pocket Guide to Asian Vegetables: Clear Identification Photos and Explanatory Text for the 50 most Common Asian Vegetables found in the Tropics
by
Call Number: SB320.8.I55 H88 2017 (3rd floor)This handy vegetable guide introduces over 50 tropical vegetables commonly found in Indonesia. Each item is described in detail, and local names as well as botanical names are given. Culinary option, tips on buying, storing and preparation of vegetables, and five mouth-watering recipes are included. -
The Herb Society of America's Essential Guide to Growing and Cooking with Herbs
Call Number: TX819.H4 H4545 2007 (3rd floor)This indispensable guide from The Herb Society of America takes the guesswork out of using herbs in the garden and in the kitchen by providing detailed information for cultivating a wide variety of herbs, along with easy-to-follow recipes that will surely impress even the most discerning palate. -
Oriental Vegetables: The Complete Guide for the Gardening Cook
by
Call Number: SB351.C54 L37 2008 (3rd floor)Joy Larcom presents abundant information about crops that are full of flavor, highly nutritious and easy to grow. She describes over seventy exotic vegetables that can be cultivated regardless of climate, soil type or garden size. Here are hardy leafy mustards, komatsuna, Chinese yams and cabbage, lablab beans, pak choi, the climbing spinach basella, gourds, luffas and many more.
-
Sacred Foods MatrixDownload the Sacred Foods Matrix for a table of all assigned foods and the books where you may find information about them.
-
The Complete Herb Book
by
Call Number: SB351.H5 M354 2008 (3rd floor)The Complete Herb Book is a comprehensive A-Z guide to the fascinating world of herbs, providing practical information on each herb's organic growing requirements, use, mythical properties and historical background.
-
A Dictionary of Bible Plants
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This book describes and illustrates each plant mentioned in both the Old and New Testaments and the Apocrypha. -
The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices provides comprehensive coverage of the taxonomy, botany, chemistry, functional properties, medicinal uses, culinary uses and safety issues relating to over 250 species of herbs and spices.
-
Food at the Time of the Bible: From Adam's Apple to the Last Supper
by
Call Number: BS680.F6 V36 2004 (3rd floor)In-depth survey looks at what people of the Bible ate, hunted, caught, and more. -
Food, Feasts, and Faith: An Encyclopedia of Food Culture in World Religions
by
Call Number: REF BL65.F65 F54 2017 (2nd floor)An indispensable resource for exploring food and faith, this two-volume set offers information on food-related religious beliefs, customs, and practices from around the world. -
The Food and Feasts of the Apostle Paul: Inside the Early Church-With Menus and Recipes
by
Call Number: BS1199.F35 N43 2025 (3rd floor)Takes readers inside the world of the early Christian church through a new lens--what people ate (and didn't eat). Each chapter introduces readers to a different community or church Paul visited or started, explores one or two key foods, and offers recipes that reflect each community. -
The Food and Feasts of Jesus: The Original Mediterranean Diet, with Menus and Recipes
by
Call Number: BS680.F6 N44 2014 (3rd floor)The Food and Feasts of Jesus offers a new perspective on life in biblical times by taking readers inside meals, from elaborate holiday feasts to a simple farmer's lunch. This book explores the significance of various meals, discusses key ingredients, places food within the socioeconomic conditions of the time, and offers accessible recipes for readers to make their own tastes of the first century. -
God's Cook Book: Tracing the Culinary Traditions of the Levant
by
Call Number: TX725.M628 A58 2010 (3rd floor)A fascinating mixture of history, religion and recipes, God's Cookbook explores the spiritual traditions of the ancient Levant and how they influenced culinary development. -
The Herb Society of America's Essential Guide to Growing and Cooking with Herbs
Call Number: TX819.H4 H4545 2007 (3rd floor)This indispensable guide from The Herb Society of America takes the guesswork out of using herbs in the garden and in the kitchen by providing detailed information for cultivating a wide variety of herbs, along with easy-to-follow recipes that will surely impress even the most discerning palate.
-
Nectar and Ambrosia: An Encyclopedia of Food in World Mythology
by
Call Number: REF GR498 .A53 2000 (2nd floor)The magic properties and uses of food by both mortals and immortals as mentioned in the world's myths and legends are brought together and explained in Nectar and Ambrosia. The book covers the major food groups, beverages, herbs, spices, mythological concoctions, and foods of myth.
-
Plants of the Bible: A Complete Handbook to All the Plants with 200 Full-Color Plates Taken in the Natural Habitat
by
Call Number: BS665 .Z64 1982 (3rd floor)This unique book is divided into two parts: the first, an ecologically inclusive picture of the interdependency of biblical man and his natural environment, stressing the role of plants in religion, the arts, agriculture, trade and daily life. The second groups the plants into natural agricultural and morphological units depicting the life history of each plant in terms of botany, geography and use. -
The World Religions Cookbook
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)This cookbook illuminates the food practices of followers of the world's major religions: Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism, Buddhism, and Shintoism.
-
French Herbs MatrixDownload the French Herbs Matrix for a table of all assigned foods and the books where you may find information about them.
-
The Beginner's Guide to Edible Herbs
by
Call Number: SB351.H5 S64 2010 (3rd floor)Simple instructions, tempting dishes, and beautiful full-color photographs will inspire you to grow, harvest, preserve, and cook with 26 of the most popular kitchen herbs. -
The Complete Herb Book
by
Call Number: SB351.H5 M354 2008 (3rd floor)The Complete Herb Book is a comprehensive A-Z guide to the fascinating world of herbs, providing practical information on each herb's organic growing requirements, use, mythical properties and historical background.
-
Culinary Herbs and Spices of the World
by
Call Number: SB351.H5 V36 2013 (3rd floor)In Culinary Herbs and Spices of the World, Ben-Erik van Wyk offers the first fully illustrated, scientific guide to nearly all commercial herbs and spices in existence. Van Wyk covers more than 150 species, detailing the propagation, cultivation, and culinary uses of each. -
The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices
by
Call Number: eBook (click title)The Encyclopedia of Herbs and Spices provides comprehensive coverage of the taxonomy, botany, chemistry, functional properties, medicinal uses, culinary uses and safety issues relating to over 250 species of herbs and spices.
-
Essential Herbal Wisdom: A Complete Exploration of 50 Remarkable Herbs
by
Call Number: SB351.H5 A7713 2009 (3rd floor)As entertaining as it is practical, this comprehensive illustrated herb guide covers everything from herb gathering prayers and charms to signatures for fifty powerful herbs. Each herb is described in detail, with tips on growing, gathering, drying, and storing these marvelous plants, as well as their culinary virtues, cosmetic properties, medicinal merits, veterinary values, and household applications. -
The Herbalist in the Kitchen
by
Call Number: TX819.H4 A57 2007 (3rd floor)Created as the ideal reference for anyone with a serious interest in cooking with herbs, spices, or related plant materials, The Herbalist in the Kitchen is truly encyclopedic in scope. It provides complete information about the uses, botany, toxicity, and flavor chemistry of herbs, as well as a listing for nearly every name that an ingredient is known by around the world. -
The Herb Society of America's Essential Guide to Growing and Cooking with Herbs
Call Number: TX819.H4 H4545 2007 (3rd floor)This indispensable guide from The Herb Society of America takes the guesswork out of using herbs in the garden and in the kitchen by providing detailed information for cultivating a wide variety of herbs, along with easy-to-follow recipes that will surely impress even the most discerning palate.
-
Larousse Gastronomique: The World's Greatest Culinary Encyclopedia
Call Number: TX349 .L365 2009 (3rd floor)Long revered for its encyclopedic entries on everything from cooking techniques, ingredients, and recipes to equipment, food histories, and culinary biographies, this is the one book every professional chef and avid home cook must have on his or her kitchen shelf. -
Lavender: How to Grow and Use the Fragrant Herb
by
Call Number: SB317.L37 P58 1999 (3rd floor)Learn all about lavender, the beautiful and fragrant herb in this informative full-colour guidebook.
-
Latin American Food MatrixDownload the Latin American Food Matrix for a table of all assigned foods and the books where you may find information about them.
-
Eating Puerto Rico: A History of Food, Culture, and Identity
by
Call Number: GT2853.P83 O7713 2013 (3rd floor)Cruz Miguel Ortiz Cuadra's magisterial history of the foods and eating habits of Puerto Rico unfolds into an examination of Puerto Rican society from the Spanish conquest to the present. Each chapter is centered on an iconic Puerto Rican foodstuff, from rice and cornmeal to beans, roots, herbs, fish, and meat. -
The Food and Cooking of the Caribbean, Central and South America
by
Call Number: TX716.A1 F53 2004 (3rd floor)This volume offers a complete overview of Caribbean, Central and South American cuisine. Authentic recipes are brought to life and a thorough listing of regional ingredients makes the reference section a useful guide in the kitchen. -
Food Culture in South America
by
Call Number: TX716.A1 L68 2005 (3rd floor)This volume tells the story of the South Americans and their history through a survey of their food culture. -
Food Cultures of Mexico
by
Call Number: GT2853.M6 H49 2021 (3rd floor)This exciting volume brings to life the food culture of Mexico, detailing the development of the cuisine and providing practical information about ingredients and cooking techniques so that readers can replicate some of Mexico's most important traditional dishes. -
Gran Cocina Latina: The Food of Latin America
by
Call Number: TX716.A1 P746 2012 (3rd floor)Gran Cocina Latina unifies the vast culinary landscape of the Latin world, from Mexico to Argentina and all the Spanish-speaking countries of the Caribbean. -
The Latin American Cookbook
by
Call Number: TX716.A1 M245 2021 (3rd floor)Rarely has the incredible range of cuisines from Mexico's tropical coasts to the icy islands at the foot of South America been documented as comprehensively as in this collection. Global star chef and Peruvian sensation Virgilio Martínez curates, with a personal deep dive into each region's food culture, culinary delicacies, and local ingredients. -
The Latin American Kitchen: A Book of Essential Ingredients with Over 200 Authentic Recipes
by
Call Number: TX716.A1 L83 2003 (3rd floor)A collection of authentic Latin American recipes that span Mexico in the north to the southern tip of Argentina. Based on 84 key ingredients, the book includes old favorites and little-known regional specialties. -
The Native Mexican Kitchen: A Journey into Cuisine, Culture, and Mezcal
by
Call Number: TX716.M4 G59 2020 (3rd floor)The Native Mexican Kitchen is an homage to the indigenous peoples and their culinary and cultural traditions that create Mexican cuisine, elevating it beyond Americanized tacos and tequila. -
The South American Table: The Flavor and Soul of Authentic Home Cooking from Patagonia to Rio de Janeiro, With 450 Recipes
by
Call Number: TX716.A1 K55 2003 (3rd floor)Award-winning collection of 450 authentic recipes from South America.
-
Botanical Art Techniques
by
Call Number: ND1400 .B68 2020 (3rd floor)This definitive guide is the most thorough how-to available on every major technique of botanical artistry. The experts at the American Society of Botanical Artists offer step-by-step projects that move from introductory to advanced--so any level of artist can build on acquired skills. -
Botanical Drawing in Color: A Basic Guide to Mastering Realistic Form and Naturalistic Color
by
Call Number: NC815 .H647 2010 (3rd floor)Botanical Drawing In Color offers a thorough immersion into the world of scientifically accurate, three-dimensional, and artistically rendered natural illustration. The step-by-step instructions in this invaluable guide, written by one of the nation's leading experts in the field, Wendy Hollender, will grow your artistic ability, whether you're just broaching this unique skill or are already an expert. -
Botanical Illustration: Painting with Watercolours
by
Call Number: ND2300 .S44 2004 (3rd floor)Siriol Sherlock’s techniques for capturing flowers and plants are beautifully simple—yet they yield remarkable results that earned her the 2005 Artists Choice Award. More than 150 stunning fine-art illustrations of both finished works and key stages of the painting appear throughout this exquisite guide, illuminating the instructions -
Botany for the Artist
by
Call Number: NC805 .S56 2020 (3rd floor)This beautifully illustrated guide to botany in art explores the extraordinary world of plants and inspires you to try drawing them yourself. -
Food in Art: From Prehistory to the Renaissance
by
Call Number: N8217.F64 R55 2015 (3rd floor) & eBook (click title)From Giuseppe Arcimboldo's painting of the Holy Roman Emperor Rudolf II as a heap of fruits and vegetables to artists depicting lavish banquets for wealthy patrons, food and art are remarkably intertwined. In this richly illustrated book, Gillian Riley provides fresh insight into how the relationship between humans and food has been portrayed in art from ancient times to the Renaissance. -
How to Draw Plants: The Techniques of Botanical Illustration
by
Call Number: NC815 .W47 1983 (3rd floor)This comprehensive and authoritative handbook by an experienced botanical artist is intended for the people who ask those questions: who want to portray plants and flowers with botanical accuracy: artists seeking to extend their range, students of illustration wholly or partly devoted to botanical subjects, or amateurs with an interest in botany and natural history who want to record flowers that have given them pleasure. -
Nature Drawing: A Tool for Learning
by
Call Number: NC780 .L42 (3rd floor)Drawing instructions for those interested in capturing the beauty and form of trees, flowers, and animals utilizes simple and technical examples in explaining methods, materials, and techniques. -
Two Centuries of American Still-Life Painting: The Frank and Michelle Hevrdejs Collection
by
Call Number: ND1392 .G485 2016 (3rd floor)Showcasing a treasured private collection amassed over several decades, this publication represents the beauty and complexity of still-life painting in the United States.
-
All-Time-Favorite Recipes from Florida Cooks
Call Number: TX715.2.S68 A48 2019Florida Cooks share the recipe that are dear to their hearts. All-Time Favorite Recipes from Florida Cooks has tried & true recipes for every meal of the day, plus yummy party treat and delicious desserts. -
The American Beach Cookbook
by
Call Number: TX715.2.S68 P5 2008 (3rd floor)For The American Beach Cookbook, Marsha Dean Phelts has collected nearly 300 recipes passed down through generations. Over the years, many influences have found their way into the dishes and are represented here by everything from pig's feet to sweet potato pone and from smothered shrimp to bourbon slushes. Mouths will water at such treats as fried cheese grits, she-crab soup, seafood casserole, crab coated shrimp chops, cornbread dumplings, chicken curry, corn relish, pickled peaches, Big Mama's fruitcake, and much more. In addition to the recipes, readers will enjoy compelling vignettes that illustrate the heritage of people and potables, vintage photographs, and area maps that together tell one of the great stories of a unique community. -
The Columbia Restaurant: Celebrating a Century of History, Culture, and Cuisine
by
Call Number: TX945.5.C66 H87 2009 (3rd floor)The Columbia is Florida's oldest and most honored restaurant. Founded in 1905 as a café catering to immigrant cigar workers in Ybor City, it has grown into one of the culinary touchstones of the state. In The Columbia Restaurant, Andrew Huse provides an in-depth look at the people who made the restaurant great. Keeping in mind why people fall in love with a restaurant, the book includes favorite recipes from across the years, along with hundreds of color and black and white photographs that trace the Columbia's evolution across the century. -
The Columbia Restaurant Spanish Cookbook
by
Call Number: TX723.5.S7 G65 1995 (3rd floor)Out of secrets and dreams and romance, Adela Hernandez Gonzmart and Ferdie Pacheco memorialize their passion for the Columbia in this narrated cookbook inspired by the nation's largest Spanish restaurant and Florida's oldest restaurant. -
Cross Creek Cookery
by
Call Number: TX715 .R26 1996 (3rd floor)First published in 1942, Cross Creek Cookery was compiled by Pulitzer Prize-winning author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings at the request of readers who wanted to recreate the luscious meals described in Cross Creek—her famous memoir of life in a Florida hamlet. -
Cross Creek Kitchens: Seasonal Recipes and Reflections
by
Call Number: TX715 .M86055 2011 (3rd floor)For many years, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings's home in Cross Creek--the place where she wrote many of her most beloved works--has been open to the public under the aegis of the Florida State Park system. Nearly thirty years ago, Sally Morrison and her Cross Creek neighbor Kate Barnes created Cross Creek Kitchens to highlight the southern fare and local favorites enjoyed by Rawlings and her guests over the years. -
The Cuban Sandwich: A History in Layers
by
Call Number: TX818 .H87 2022How did the Cuban sandwich become a symbol for a displaced people, win the hearts and bellies of America, and claim a spot on menus around the world? In The Cuban Sandwich, three devoted fans sort through improbable vintage recipes, sift gossip from Florida old-timers, and wade into the fearsome Tampa vs. Miami sandwich debate (is adding salami necessary or heresy?) to reveal the social history behind how this delicacy became a lunch-counter staple in the US and beyond. -
A Culinary History of Florida: Prickly Pears, Datil Peppers & Key Limes
by
Call Number: GT2853.U5 H37 2014 (3rd floor)Florida cuisine: twelve thousand years in the making. Discover the the state's unusual and distinctive food influences and dishes. From the very first prickly pears harvested by Paleo-Indians more than twelve thousand years ago to the Seminole tribe's staple dish of sofkee, Florida's culinary history is as diverse as its geography. Influences as diverse as French, Creole, Spanish, Cuban, Greek, Mexican, Caribbean, and more season Florida's eclectic flavors. Through syllabubs, perloos, frog legs and Tupelo honey, author Joy Sheffield Harris serves up a delectable helping of five hundred years of Florida cuisine--all with a side of key lime pie, of course. -
Field to Feast: Recipes Celebrating Florida Farmers, Chefs, and Artisans
by
Call Number: TX715 .B824 2012 (3rd floor)To research Field to Feast, authors Pam Brandon, Katie Farmand, and Heather McPherson travelled thousands of miles, tasting some of the freshest ingredients along the way. They found world-famous chefs who eagerly shared their best recipes to highlight those flavours. The result is a cookbook like no other; a delicious celebration of Florida food and cooking that'll lead you from the kitchen to the farmers' market and home again. -
Florida's Historic Restaurants and Their Recipes
by
Call Number: TX715 .O2827 1994 (3rd floor)From Fernandino Beach to Key West, from the Panhandle to the glitzy Gold Coast of Palm Beach, Fort Lauderdale and Miami, Florida's historic restaurants mirror the wide range of tastes offered in the Sunshine State. -
Florida Bounty: A Celebration of Florida Cuisine and Culture
by
Call Number: TX715 .J2165 2006 (3rd floor)Delicious recipes filled with the tastes of Florida. Native fruits and vegetables, succulent seafood, and tropical drinks are among the many delights in this cookbook. -
Florida Cooks! A Restaurant Guide and Cook Book
by
Call Number: TX715 .B38 2020 (3rd floor)Florida Cooks! offers a unique perspective on dining in the Sunshine State. This Florida tome is a combination cookbook, travel guide and history book. Each restaurant is located in an historic building and features the history of that edifice, as well as depicting the four regions of the state. -
The Florida Cracker Cookbook: Recipes and Stories from Cabin to Condo
by
Call Number: TX714 .H3655 2019 (3rd floor)From a one-story cabin in the piney woods of the Panhandle to a high-rise condo along the glistening waterways, Cracker cooking in Florida has evolved with our tastes and times. What's on the plate has changed, but our heritage infuses who we are. As we follow the path laid out by gastronomic pioneers, this culinary quest, guided by sixth-generation Cracker Joy Sheffield Harris, will whet your appetite with recipes and sumptuous reflections. Pull up a chair and dig in. -
The Florida Keys Cookbook: Foodways of Paradise
by
Call Number: TX715.2.S68 S495 2006 (3rd floor)A fascinating combination of food history, local lore, and mouth-watering recipes showcasing the Florida Keys' bounty from Keys restaurant chefs and home cooks. Archival photographs and informative sidebars round out this must-have book. -
Good Catch: Recipes & Stories Celebrating the Best of Florida's Waters
by
Call Number: TX747 .B615 2014 (3rd floor)Surrounded by water on three sides with an inland maze of lakes, rivers, streams, and springs, Florida has a fishing culture unlike any other state and with it comes an abundance of delectable recipes. Following their award-winning Field to Feast, Pam Brandon, Katie Farmand, and Heather McPherson traversed the state to savor the largess of the state's countless waterways and bring these distinctly Floridian recipes from the sea to your table. -
The Habana Cafe Cookbook
by
Call Number: TX716.C8 G66 2004 (3rd floor)Culinary wizard and café owner Josefa Gonzalez-Hastings offers this extravagance of Cuban cooking as a celebration of her heritage, Many of the recipes were passed down to her from her mother and aunts; others are "nuevo Latino cuisine" - a fusion of traditional Cuban foods with modern dishes. Cuban food and preparation always has been varied, she says, flavored by the ancestry of the island, with contributions from Spanish conquistadors, African slaves, Asian laborers, and Indian natives. -
Jane Nickerson's Florida Cookbook
by
Call Number: TX715 .N62 1984The food columnist of the New York Times' Florida newspapers presents a feast of tested recipes typical of a state famed for its fine foods. -
Keys Eats: Signature Recipes and Noteworthy Restaurants from the Florida Keys & Key West
by
Call Number: TX715 .C45 2020 (3rd floor)Find out what's cooking in the Florida Keys & Key West, in this fun and lively tribute to the island chain's top local chefs. From signature starters and lite bites to tropical mainstays and decadent desserts, it's a tasty adventure that will keep you hungry for more. -
Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream
by
Call Number: TX724.5.V5 N6 2021 (3rd floor)A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami. -
Miami Cooks: Recipes from the City's Favorite Restaurants
by
Call Number: TX715 .L57 2020 (3rd floor)When it comes to food cities, Miami is one to take seriously. It is a colorful culinary tapestry of local and international food traditions with emerging new talents and James Beard-recognized chefs setting the bar for adventurous, experimental, and exciting cuisine. Miami Cooks by Sara Liss celebrates this wonderfully unique food culture with eighty recipes by forty of the city's leading chefs and mixologists. -
Miami Spice: The New Florida Cuisine
by
Call Number: TX715 .R124 1993 (3rd floor)Recipes from a tropical melting pot of cultures, tastes, and ingredients with emphasis on fish and shellfish, fresh fruits and vegetables, grilling, salsas, spice rubs, and marinades. -
Norman Van Aken's Florida Kitchen
by
Call Number: TX715 .V1835 2017 (3rd floor)Award-winning chef and restaurateur Norman Van Aken invites you to discover the richness of Florida's culinary landscape. This long-awaited cookbook embraces the history, the character, and the flavors of the state that has inspired Van Aken's famous fusion style for over forty years. -
Old Florida Style Cookery: Recipes from Our Restaurants, Friends and Family
by
Call Number: TX715 .M356 2019 (3rd floor)This cookbook is a collection of recipes used in restaurants that John and Rhonda have operated during their culinary career, located along Florida’s east coast from St. Augustine to Islamorada in the Florida Keys. -
Panhandle to Pan: Recipes and Stories from Florida's New Redneck Riviera
by
Call Number: TX715 .M64735 2015 (3rd floor)The Florida Panhandle is the last great regional culinary secret of the state of Florida. The foods and agriculture of Florida's Northwest Gulf of Mexico touch the cultural heart and soul of all who visit the region. Chef Irv Miller, in his first cookbook Panhandle to Pan takes readers on a journey through this agriculturally abundant region, sharing personal stories, expertise, and unique recipes from throughout the Florida Panhandle. -
Pickled, Fried, and Fresh: Bert Gill's Southern Flavors
by
Call Number: TX715.2.S68 G543 2015 (3rd floor)A pioneer in the local food movement shares his southern kitchen and bold recipes in Pickled, Fried, and Fresh. Gainesville chef Bert Gill will inspire readers to connect deeply with their region and communities by relying on seasonal food from local farmers--and to try some of his inventive dishes at home. -
The Ravenous Pig: Seasons of Florida
by
Call Number: TX945.5 .R38 P48 2012 (3rd floor)A cookbook with Florida seasonal recipes from the chefs/owners of The Ravenous Pig restaurant -
Recipes and Tall Tales from the Legendary Restaurants of the Florida Keys
by
Call Number: TX715 .S865 2012 (3rd floor)Over 150 Recipes and Tall Tales from some of the most famous restaurants in the Florida Keys. -
Seminole Indian Recipes
by
Call Number: TX715 .P7625 2017 (3rd floor)Enjoy a taste of Florida’s history with this collection of hearty recipes inspired by Seminole cooking. Each dish evokes a time now past, when foods like venison, coontie, pumpkin, hearts of palm, and guavas were important parts of delicious feasts across the state. -
The Special Taste of Florida
by
Call Number: TX715 .F74 1998 (3rd floor)An authorized collection of 400 delicious recipes from the kitchens of Florida's premier restaurants, resorts and luxury hotels. -
The Sublime Restaurant Cookbook: Florida's Ultimate Destination for Vegan Cuisine
by
Call Number: TX837 .A3765 2009 (3rd floor)The flavors and beauty of south Florida's award winning Sublime Restaurant are compiled here with some of Sublime's most famed culinary creations. From Asian, Latin, or Mediterranean influences to more typical American fare, each recipe is delightfully conceived, beautifully presented, and yet surprisingly quick to prepare. -
The Versailles Restaurant Cookbook
by
Call Number: TX716.C8 Q46 2014 (3rd floor)This cookbook offers favorite recipes from the famous Versailles Restaurant in Miami, framed by family history and Cuban culture. -
Zora Neale Hurston on Florida Food: Recipes, Remedies and Simple Pleasures
by
Call Number: TX715 .O549 2015 (3rd floor)Florida native Zora Neale Hurston's early twentieth-century ethnographic research and writing emphasizes the essentials of food in Florida through simple dishes and recipes. Her collected food stories, folklore and remedies, and the related recipes food professor Fred Opie pairs with them, are essential reading for those who love to cook and eat.
-
Organic Methods for Vegetable Gardening in Florida
by
Call Number: SB453.5 .S85 2023Updated in this second edition, this essential guide provides simple and accessible advice for successful vegetable gardening in Florida. -
The Heirloom Gardener: Traditional Plants & Skills for the Modern World
by
Call Number: SB455.3 .F65 2021Forti celebrates gardening as a craft, and shares the plants, lore, and traditional practices that link us with our environment and each other. Arranged alphabetically from angelica to zucchini, the brief chapters are a trove of garden history to different elements of the craftsmanship behind building an heirloom garden—and a happy homestead.
