Need Help?
Articles
Articles will provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.
Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.
These databases are recommended for researching foods. Read the descriptions to locate the best database for your research. Then, click the access link, log in if prompted, and search for your topic.
Recommended Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Access Academic Search Complete | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
AtoZ the World (World Trade Press)
Access AtoZ the World | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
This database allows you to explore the cultures, customs, and information about each of the world's countries. After choosing a country, click the Food and Recipes category:
JSTOR
Access JSTOR | Video Tutorial | How to Cite
The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals.