Need Help?
Databases
Articles provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a broader topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.
Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.
This page provides suggestions for the databases and other resources you can use to find articles on your topic. You will log in with your Office 365 account if prompted.
Recommended Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles from many of the most important business publications. Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, journal articles, and more. This is an excellent database in which to begin any business research. Try combining your topic with one of the following keywords: business, entrepreneur*, fundrais*, grant*
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new windowContains well-organized information on companies and industries. Includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new windowContains current information from periodicals and reference works that every entrepreneur needs to know to stay competitive. Includes sample business plans, financial advice, and information on how to start and manage a business.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowA collection with more than 2,000 full-text education journals that covers all levels of education (from early childhood to higher education) and all educational specialties, including multilingual education, health education, and testing. Use this database if you are working on a grant proposal.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window - Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
Tutorial This link opens in a new window | How to Cite This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar
If you are looking for scholarly information on the Web, Google Scholar is a valuable search tool. Access Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com.
You can display SF's holdings in Google Scholar using the following steps:
- Click on the hamburger icon on the top left of the screen:
- Click Settings
- Click Library Links on the left side of the screen.
- In the search box, type Santa Fe College; choose Santa Fe College - Find it @ Santa Fe
- Click Save.
For a narrated overview of this process, view the Google Scholar video tutorial.