Need Help?
MLA Citations
The MLA Handbook (call number LB2369 .M52 2021) is the official guide to MLA style. The Library has multiple copies of this book, both available to check out and for in-library-use. You may also access the MLA Handbook Plus online, which contains the full text of the MLA Handbook, plus other resources.
The following links and tutorials will help you create MLA citations for the sources you need to cite.
More Resources
Example Citations
Book
Citation Components
- Author: Jeremy T. Miner
- Title: Proposal planning & writing
- Publisher: Greenwood Press
- Publication Date: 2013
MLA Works Cited
Miner, Jeremy, T. Proposal Writing & Planning. Greenwood Press, 2013.
In-Text Citation
(Miner 16)
Video Tutorial
eBook
Citation Components
- Author(s): Beverly A. Browning
- Title: Grant Writing for Dummies
- Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
- Publication Date: 2014
- eBook Database Name: Ebook Central
- Permalink: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1645266#
MLA Works Cited
Browning, Beverly A. Grant Writing for Dummies. John Wiley & Sons, 2014. Ebook Central, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/sfcollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1645266#.
In-Text Citation
(Browning)
Video Tutorial
DemographicsNow
Citation Components
- Report Name: Consumer Expenditure Comparison
- Geographic Subset: Alachua FL (County)
- Database: DemographicsNow
- Sponsor: Gale
- Access Date: Sep. 8 2016
MLA Works Cited
"Consumer Expenditure Comparison: Alachua FL (County)." DemographicsNow, Gale. Accessed 8 Sept. 2016.
In-Text Citation
("Consumer")
Journal Article
Citation Components
- Authors: Christopher Bruno and Benjamin Campbell
- Article Title: Students' Willingness to Pay for More Local, Organic, Non-GMO and General Food Options.
- Journal Title: Journal of Food Distribution Research
- Volume number: 47
- Issue number: 3
- Pages: 32-48
- Publication Date: 2016
- Database: Academic Search Complete
- DOI or Permalink: 10.1080/01972243.2013.856362
*DOIs can be found in the database record or on the front page of the article. If there is no DOI, use the permalink.
MLA Works Cited (with DOI)
Bruno, Christopher C., and Benjamin L. Campbell. "Students' Willingness to Pay for More Local, Organic, Non-GMO and General Food Options." Journal of Food Distribution Research, vol. 47, no. 3, Nov. 2016, pp. 32-48. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.1080/01972243.2013.856362.
MLA Works Cited (no DOI)
Bruno, Christopher C., and Benjamin L. Campbell. "Students' Willingness to Pay for More Local, Organic, Non-GMO and General Food Options." Journal of Food Distribution Research, vol. 47, no. 3, Nov. 2016, pp. 32-48. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=120096328&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
In-Text Citations
(Bruno and Campbell 23)
Video Tutorial
Webpage
Citation Components
- Author: Ashlea Halpern
- Webpage Title: Want to Open a Bakery? Keep These Expert Tips in Mind
- Website Title: Entrepreneur
- Publisher or Sponsoring Organization: Entrepreneur
- Publication Date: Sep. 8 2016
- URL of Webpage: https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/281005
Leave off any components you do not have, such as sponsors or dates.
MLA Works Cited
Halpern, Ashlea. "Want to Open a Bakery? Keep These Expert Tips in Mind." Entrepreneur, 8 Sep. 2016, www.entrepreneur.com/article/281005.
In-Text Citation
(Halpern)