Skip to Main Content

Composition

This research guide is intended to serve as an introduction to the resources the L.W. Tyree Library has on Composition. This guide is useful for the ENC1101 and ENC1102 courses.

Library Databases

Articles will provide very targeted information, usually focusing on one small segment of a topic. Articles also tend to be more recent. Newspaper and magazine articles can be updated within days or weeks of an event, while academic journal articles may take a few months or longer.

Library databases are the best place to locate articles. These databases contain thousands of sources for you to search for free full-text. Databases have different types of sources, mostly journal or magazine articles, but some databases provide multimedia such as videos or images.

These databases are recommended for researching English Composition Topics. Read the descriptions to locate the best database for your research. Then, click the access link, log in, and search for your topic.

Academic Search Complete

Access Academic Search Complete  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A full text database covering many different disciplines and subject areas. A great place to start research on any topic.

JSTOR

Access JSTOR  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

The best place to start for arts and humanities research. JSTOR includes back issues of thousands of scholarly journals, with an excellent collection of art and humanities journals.

Search Tips:

  • Narrow by discipline by checking the box next to your subject area:

    Education journal limit checked
  • Make sure to check the box to narrow by Item Type: Article

    Articles limit
  • E-mail articles to yourself by viewing the PDF, saving it, and then writing an e-mail with the article as an attachment.

Opposing Viewpoints

Access Opposing Viewpoints  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

Provides searchable topics giving pro and con articles, topic overviews, statistics, court cases, links to government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper, magazine, and journal articles and more about social issues.

CQ Researcher

Access CQ Researcher  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Very in-depth information and a great resource for learning about controversial subjects.

NewsBank

Access NewsBank  |  Video Tutorial  |  How to Cite

A collection of newspapers from the United States. Great for finding the latest news about certain issues, as well as looking back to see news articles from the last two decades. Includes the Gainesville Sun. See also NewsBank's Special Reports for a collection of newspaper articles on topics of current interest.

Facebook Instagram Pinterest Vimeo

Commitment to Equal Access and Equal Opportunity

Santa Fe College is committed to an environment that embraces diversity, respects the rights of all individuals, is open and accessible, and is free of harassment and discrimination. For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/eaeo or contact equity.officer@sfcollege.edu.

SACSCOC Accreditation Statement

Santa Fe College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). For more information, visit sfcollege.edu/sacscoc.