Art History Module: Lesson 6: Chicago Citations

For this class, you will be using the notes and bibliography format of the Chicago citation style. The official guide to Chicago style is the Chicago Manual of Style, which can be found in the Ready Reference section of the Library (behind the Reference Desk). You can also view the Chicago Manual of Style Online .

Please keep in mind that there is another style of Chicago called author-date. If the date is listed second in the citation, that is the author-date version.

Citations can be done in two ways for notes and bibliography. You may have a full bibliography listed at the end, similar to other styles. You may also include the citations as notes within your paper, either endnotes or footnotes. Examples of both are shown below. Notes take the place of in-text citations.

For every source you use in your paper (including direct quotes, summaries, and paraphrasing), you will need to cite the source in two ways.

First, you will include a full reference in a bibliography listed at the end of your paper. Your bibliography will be double spaced, formatted with a hanging indent, and with the title Bibliography. Alphabetize all your sources by the first word.

Then, when you refer to a work in your text, create a footnote or endnote and include the note format of the citation there. Direct quotes should be enclosed in quotation marks. This snippet shows two footnotes, denoted by the superscript 1 and 2 at the end of each sentence.

The second footnote above shows a shortened note as well as a direct page number for the quote (page 62). Once you include a full note, you may shorten a subsequent note to the same source, typically by including the author, a shortened title, and then the page number being referenced.

The following examples show how to cite books, eBooks, journal articles, internet resources, and artwork in your bibliography and as notes. You may also use the Library's Chicago Citation Guide to see more specific examples and see other resources.

At the end of any note, you may add a comma and list the page number to show the page a quote or paraphrase came from.

Book

Bibliography Template

Author. Title of Book. Edition. Publisher, Date.

Example of Bibliography Entry

Clottes, Jean. Cave Art. Phaidon Press, 2008.

Wilkins, David G., Bernard Schultz, and Katheryn M Linduff. Art Past Art Present. 6th ed. Pearson/Prentice Hall, 2009.

Generic Note Template

Author, Title of Book, Edition (Publisher, Date), page(s) being referenced.

Example of Note

1. Jean Clottes, Cave Art (Phaidon Press, 2008).

If a source has three or more authors, only list the first one in the note, followed by the abbreviation et al.

2. David G. Wilkins et al., Art Past Art Present, 6th ed. (Pearson/Prentice Hall, 2009), 27.

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Books & eBooks" tutorial

Chapter of a Book/Reference Entry

Bibliography Template

Chapter/Entry Author. "Title of Chapter/Entry." In Book Title, Edition, edited by Editor Names. Publisher, Date.

Bibliography

Butyagin, Alexander M. "Barbarian Art in the Cities of the Northern Pontic Region." In Greeks on the Black Sea: Ancient Art from the Hermitage, edited by Anna A. Trofimova. J. Paul Getty Museum, 2007.

Note Template

Chapter/Entry Author, "Title of Chapter/Entry," in Book Title, Edition, edited by Editor Names (Publisher, Date), page(s) being referenced.

Note

3. Alexander M.Butyagin, "Barbarian Art in the Cities of the Northern Pontic Region," in Greeks on the Black Sea: Ancient Art from the Hermitage, edited by Anna A. Trofimova (J. Paul Getty Museum, 2007), 67.

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Books & eBooks" tutorial

eBook

Bibliography Template

Author. Title of eBook. Edition. Publisher, Date. eBook database.

Most library eBooks are offered through the Ebook Central or EBSCO eBook Collection databases.

Bibliography

Kupfer, Marcia. The Art of Healing: Painting for the Sick and the Sinner in a Medieval Town. Pennsylvania State University Press, 2003. EBSCO eBook Collection.

Notes Template

Author, Title of eBook, Edition (Publisher, Date), pages being directly cited, eBook database.

Note

4. Marcia Kupfer, The Art of Healing: Painting for the Sick and the Sinner in a Medieval Town (Pennsylvania State University Press, 2003), 122, EBSCO eBook Collection.

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Books & eBooks" tutorial

Journal Article

Bibliography Template

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. X (Date): page range. DOI (preferred) or database.

Bibliography (article with DOI)

Goodwin, A. J. H. "Prehistoric Paintings: Preservation and Perpetration." The South African Archaeological Bulletin 11, no. 43 (1956): 73–76. https://doi.org/10.2307/388739.

Bibliography (article without DOI)

Balter, Michael, and Virginia Morrell. "New Light on the Oldest Art." Science 283, no. 5404 (1999): 920–922. JSTOR.

Note Template

Author, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume, no. X (Date), pages being directly cited, DOI (preferred) or database.

Note (article with DOI)

5. A. J. H. Goodwin, "Prehistoric Paintings: Preservation and Perpetration," The South African Archaeological Bulletin 11, no. 43 (1956), 74, https://doi.org/10.2307/388739.

Note (article without DOI)

6. Michael Balter and Virginia Morrell, "New Light on the Oldest Art," Science 283, no. 5404 (1999), 921. JSTOR.

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Journal Articles" tutorial

Webpage

Bibliography Template

Author. "Webpage Title." Website Title. Date. URL.

Bibliography (with date)

Boehm, Barbara Drake. "The Age of Saint Louis (1226–1270)." The Metropolitan Museum of Art. October 2001. https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/loui/hd_loui.htm.

Bibliography (no date)

Bayeux Museum. "The Characters in the Bayeux Tapestry." Accessed October 23, 2024. https://www.bayeuxmuseum.com/en/the-bayeux-tapestry/discover-the-bayeux-tapestry/the-characters/.

Note Template

Author, "Webpage Title," Website Title, Date, URL.

Note (with date)

7. Barbara Drake Boehm, "The Age of Saint Louis (1226–1270)," The Metropolitan Museum of Art, October 2001, https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/loui/hd_loui.htm.

Note (no date)

8. Bayeux Museum, "The Characters in the Bayeux Tapestry," accessed October 23, 2024, https://www.bayeuxmuseum.com/en/the-bayeux-tapestry/discover-the-bayeux-tapestry/the-characters/.

View the "Chicago Notes & Bibliography: Citing Web Resources" tutorial

Artwork

Bibliography Template

Artist. Artwork Title. Composition Date. Medium. Museum, Location. URL.

If there is no artist, begin with the artwork title.

Bibliography (artwork viewed in person)

O'Keeffe, Georgia. Austrian Copper Rose IV. 1958. Oil on canvas. Harn Museum of Art, Gainesville, FL.

Bibliography (artwork viewed online; no artist)

Venus de Milo. Circa 2nd century B.C.E. Marble sculpture. Louvre, Paris. https://collections.louvre.fr/ark:/53355/cl010277627.

Note Template

Artist, Artwork Title, Composition Date, Medium, Museum, Location, URL.

Note (artwork viewed in person)

Georgia O'Keeffe, Austrian Copper Rose IV, 1958, oil on canvas, Harn Museum of Art, Gainesville, FL.

Note (artwork viewed online; no artist)

Venus de Milo, circa 2nd century B.C.E., marble sculpture, Louvre, Paris, https://collections.louvre.fr/ark:/53355/cl010277627.